Back to blog

FIXED: Bug in Adobe Creative Cloud Deletes Mac User Data Without Warning

By Canon Rumors | February 13, 2016

FIXED: Bug in Adobe Creative Cloud Deletes Mac User Data Without Warning

*UPDATE*
We’re told Adobe has posted an update for Creative Cloud that addresses the issue mentioned below.

Adobe has had a rash of high profile bugs over the last few months, and it appears another major bug has been found in the latest version of Adobe Creative Cloud, an update Adobe has ceased from pushing out to users.

From Ars Technica:

The deletions happen whenever Mac users log in to the Adobe service after the update has been installed, according to officials from Backblaze, a data backup service whose users are being disproportionately inconvenienced by the bug. Upon sign in, a script activated by Creative Cloud deletes the contents in the alphabetically first folder in a Mac’s root directory. Backblaze users are being especially hit by the bug because the backup service relies on data stored in a hidden root folder called .bzvol. Because the folder is the alphabetically top-most hidden folder at the root of so many users’ drives, they are affected more than users of many other software packages. Read the full article

Backblaze users reported the issue in large numbers, but the bug can affect everyone.

Adobe has confirmed the bug

An Adobe spokeswoman issued a statement that read: “We are aware that some customers have experienced this issue and we are investigating in order to resolve the matter as quickly as possible. We are stopping the distribution of the update until the issue has been resolved.” The version that appears to be causing the deletions is 3.5.0.206, Pusin said.

If you’re running the affected version, it’s advised you don’t login to Creative Cloud until an update/fix is available.

Thanks Jeffrey

Back to blog