November 24, 2014, 11:50:40 AM

Author Topic: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx  (Read 13679 times)

pete vella

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2013, 05:39:42 PM »
i would love a 1dc with the 4k and all; however, I would have to buy into a whole different system workflow wise.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2013, 05:39:42 PM »

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4538
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2013, 10:56:05 PM »
interestingly my EOS-M box had a video crop mode symbol that was covered over with a white sticker
APS-H Fanboy

LetTheRightLensIn

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4010
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2013, 11:54:30 PM »
the t3i lower end canon has a video crop mode. the crop mode worked great for macro video becuase it did not change the dof. Now i know this is just a firmware upgrade.  canon why not do it. its a freebee .add it to the marketing.

 model      Cropmode

T3i               3x-10x 1080hd
60d              7x  640X480 only boo
7d                nada
5dmkiii         nope
60da            now come on brand new model $600 for a new lowpass filter no new firmware thumbs down
1dx              none

d800             1.5x
d4                 2.7x

Gimmie Chuck Westfalls number so he can explain why canon left out this feature.
Maybey the same reason canon is the only lens company that does not include lens hoods with their standard lens.

Anyone have an aswer for this?           

Yeah it's very annoying. I bet the 5D3 could even do 1920x1080 at 1.6x crop too if they read 2x2 blocks, no aliasing or line skipping and probably sharper than the FF. And why no deeper crop?

With 5D3+1.2.1 you can record the 5x zoom mode over HDMI on something like a Ninja2, I guess it is sort of DVD resolution though, but if you get a Ninja 2 and go through that bother you can get some sort of a crop mode from it. Why nothing like T3i and why not internally for the 5x??

All they do is cripple stuff on purpose or don't bother to take advantage of their own hardware fully.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2013, 11:57:14 PM by LetTheRightLensIn »

pwp

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1615
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2013, 11:57:11 PM »
Hi Pete,

if you really need it so bad there is only one solution to get it. Buy a 1D C .
I got mine last week and don´t regret it and it gives you 1,3 crop for 4k and 1,5 crop for Super35 mode.
with the 1,3 crop on 4k you can feel free to crop it down to 1080P in CS6. this should be enough cropping factor.
And this with a good video quality and C-Log features. If you are after Video this will be the way to go and I don´t think Canon will bring anything close in the next year for less money because of the lack of competition.

That´s the thing with Canon, they know what they got and they know what the can charge the customers for it.
The same with the lenses in the past 2 years, they get more expensive but if I have a look at my 600 II compared to Nikon I can see why.

And if you really need this cheaper than the 1D C go and buy a Nikon with a few lenses like a lot of people do.
They got 2 Systems at home. For me it was cheaper to pay more for the body and get additional the EF 8-15 to keep my wide angle with the crops.

OP, here's the answer to your perfectly valid question. Canon wants you to buy a 1DC...

-PW

LetTheRightLensIn

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4010
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2013, 11:58:15 PM »
Hi Pete,

if you really need it so bad there is only one solution to get it. Buy a 1D C .
I got mine last week and don´t regret it and it gives you 1,3 crop for 4k and 1,5 crop for Super35 mode.
with the 1,3 crop on 4k you can feel free to crop it down to 1080P in CS6. this should be enough cropping factor.
And this with a good video quality and C-Log features. If you are after Video this will be the way to go and I don´t think Canon will bring anything close in the next year for less money because of the lack of competition.

That´s the thing with Canon, they know what they got and they know what the can charge the customers for it.
The same with the lenses in the past 2 years, they get more expensive but if I have a look at my 600 II compared to Nikon I can see why.

And if you really need this cheaper than the 1D C go and buy a Nikon with a few lenses like a lot of people do.
They got 2 Systems at home. For me it was cheaper to pay more for the body and get additional the EF 8-15 to keep my wide angle with the crops.

OP, here's the answer to your perfectly valid question. Canon wants you to buy a 1DC...

-PW

And how many xxD and 5 series users will get a 1DC? A handful? And look out for Black Magic....

Don Haines

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3464
  • Posting cat pictures on the internet since 1986
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2013, 01:18:40 PM »
Is it possible that there is only so much space in the firmware and they have to pick and choose what to leave in and what to leave out? I don't know.... just asking the question..
The best camera is the one in your hands

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 5067
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #21 on: May 06, 2013, 03:30:47 PM »
no magic lantern can only reprogram the arm  processor. the crop mode is a function of the digic. I believe it can be added as canon firmware upgrade.

Afaik many functions on the digic are hardwired, there's no "reprogramming" possible by neither ml or Canon - if the digic is designed only to put out raw files that cover the whole sensor (or reduce them to m or s raw), then that's what it is.

But the ml devs are still discovering what the digic processors can do and canon didn't use in their fw, so there's still the potential for big surprises like the raw histogram recently discovered (show the *actual* white clipping, and not just what would be clipped in jpeg mode!).

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #21 on: May 06, 2013, 03:30:47 PM »

jeffdo

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #22 on: May 06, 2013, 05:57:32 PM »
Is it only the T3I that supports video crop mode? What about the T4I and T5I. I have been thinking about getting a 2nd body, and this is kind of a cool feature I also wish my 5D3 had.

pete vella

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #23 on: May 07, 2013, 01:38:07 PM »

jrista

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4627
  • EOL
    • View Profile
    • Nature Photography
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #24 on: May 09, 2013, 09:03:47 PM »
...
Gimmie Chuck Westfalls number so he can explain why canon left out this feature.
...

http://fakechuckwestfall.wordpress.com/

Enjoy. :)


RGF

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1295
  • How you relate to the issue, is the issue.
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #25 on: May 26, 2013, 04:34:04 PM »
I know that you ate talking about video, beta top stil mode with enhanced FPS would also be nice

LetTheRightLensIn

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4010
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #26 on: May 26, 2013, 05:59:25 PM »
http://www.eoshd.com/content/10294/3-5k-canon-5d-mark-iii-raw-video-with-magic-lantern-and-latest-updates
 
seems to me it is possible ml crop mode. on 5d iii

Yes, with the new ML releases you can get crop mode on 5D3 now in video.


LetTheRightLensIn

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4010
    • View Profile
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #27 on: May 26, 2013, 06:18:03 PM »
...
Gimmie Chuck Westfalls number so he can explain why canon left out this feature.
...

http://fakechuckwestfall.wordpress.com/

Enjoy. :)

Oh dear though he seems to have gone all moon landings/9/11 conspiracy theorist though....

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #27 on: May 26, 2013, 06:18:03 PM »

jrista

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4627
  • EOL
    • View Profile
    • Nature Photography
Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #28 on: May 27, 2013, 08:55:22 AM »
...
Gimmie Chuck Westfalls number so he can explain why canon left out this feature.
...

http://fakechuckwestfall.wordpress.com/

Enjoy. :)

Oh dear though he seems to have gone all moon landings/9/11 conspiracy theorist though....

Of course! It's highly controversial...and that guy LOVES controversy! :P

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why no crop mode on 5d mkiii 1dx
« Reply #28 on: May 27, 2013, 08:55:22 AM »