canon rumors FORUM

Gear Talk => Technical Support => Topic started by: Bearcat1 on December 22, 2012, 02:45:31 PM

Title: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 22, 2012, 02:45:31 PM
Tried setting up 6D on the EOS Utility.  I get a SSL Certificate Error code...any ideas?
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Mt Spokane Photography on December 22, 2012, 07:16:50 PM
Its going to be some sort of computer settings, but without even a hint of computer type(Mac?) and OS, there is not much to start on.
 
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 22, 2012, 09:28:08 PM
Mountain Lion....I'm downloading a firmware update for the 6d, we'll see if that works.... Brand new camera , really annoying..
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 22, 2012, 10:24:04 PM
Didn't work, still getting Error:

To use this function, the latest SSL certificate must be set up on the camera. Download the latest SSL certificate and set up on the camera."

Anybody??? Help !!!
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on December 22, 2012, 10:29:18 PM
You mean going to this link http://usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_6d#DriversAndSoftware (http://usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_6d#DriversAndSoftware) and downloading does not work? You can download and then apply...
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 22, 2012, 10:36:09 PM
Yes, I updated the firmware on the camera and updated the EOS Utility....
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on December 22, 2012, 10:41:13 PM
Yes, I updated the firmware on the camera and updated the EOS Utility....
So you are all set? Happy shooting. Btw, when I tried to download from that link onto the iPad, I got an error stating I could not download using Safari! Wow!
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 22, 2012, 10:51:21 PM
No not all set, it didn't fix it unfortunately.  I can't even find anything regarding it on google.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on December 22, 2012, 11:21:29 PM
No not all set, it didn't fix it unfortunately.  I can't even find anything regarding it on google.
OK, so as I understand it, you have done the following:

And you are unable to get the EOS utility to connect to the 6D - right?

Take a look at this link
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/post/50455667 (http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/post/50455667)

If my understanding is incorrect please describe in detail as I am trying to read between the lines of your narration.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: bvukich on December 23, 2012, 12:23:42 AM
I happen to be a network engineer. If anything below doesn't make any sense, just ignore it, it probably doesn't apply...

Are you connecting to a WPA/WPA2-EAP network?
Does the radius/IAS server have a self-signed or enterprise CA cert without a trusted root?
Or is the cert from a "real" CA?
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on December 23, 2012, 12:37:57 AM
I happen to be a network engineer. If anything below doesn't make any sense, just ignore it, it probably doesn't apply...

Are you connecting to a WPA/WPA2-EAP network?
Does the radius/IAS server have a self-signed or enterprise CA cert without a trusted root?
Or is the cert from a "real" CA?
My 2c is that the message may be coming from the "catch-all" portion of the try-catch error trap. Why would the 6D communicate over SSL in a LAN as the default method of connecting?
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: bvukich on December 23, 2012, 02:10:55 AM
I happen to be a network engineer. If anything below doesn't make any sense, just ignore it, it probably doesn't apply...

Are you connecting to a WPA/WPA2-EAP network?
Does the radius/IAS server have a self-signed or enterprise CA cert without a trusted root?
Or is the cert from a "real" CA?
My 2c is that the message may be coming from the "catch-all" portion of the try-catch error trap. Why would the 6D communicate over SSL in a LAN as the default method of connecting?

It wouldn't be the default in most situations, but with either EAP-TLS or PEAP with EAP-TLS, SSL is mandatory.  If he's trying to connect to a corporate wireless network that would be a likely configuration.  If he's connecting to home wireless it's highly unlikely; or in the event his home wireless is configured to use WPA Enterprise, chances are anyone that would have the knowledge to set it up probably would have realized the problem and subsequent solution before asking questions here.

That all being said... there was so little information given, it's unclear if this error is occurring during wireless authentication, or if that is succeeding and it's getting the error when the EOS utility is trying to connect to the camera (or vice versa).
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on December 23, 2012, 02:19:46 AM
I happen to be a network engineer. If anything below doesn't make any sense, just ignore it, it probably doesn't apply...

Are you connecting to a WPA/WPA2-EAP network?
Does the radius/IAS server have a self-signed or enterprise CA cert without a trusted root?
Or is the cert from a "real" CA?
My 2c is that the message may be coming from the "catch-all" portion of the try-catch error trap. Why would the 6D communicate over SSL in a LAN as the default method of connecting?

It wouldn't be the default in most situations, but with either EAP-TLS or PEAP with EAP-TLS, SSL is mandatory.  If he's trying to connect to a corporate wireless network that would be a likely configuration.  If he's connecting to home wireless it's highly unlikely; or in the event his home wireless is configured to use WPA Enterprise, chances are anyone that would have the knowledge to set it up probably would have realized the problem and subsequent solution before asking questions here.

That all being said... there was so little information given, it's unclear if this error is occurring during wireless authentication, or if that is succeeding and it's getting the error when the EOS utility is trying to connect to the camera (or vice versa).
Yup. That is why I posted the link which states that one needs to turn off the wifi on the 6D if one is trying to download images with the USB...

Bearcat1 I guess you are asleep :) do chime in giving details...
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 23, 2012, 10:40:46 AM
Hey guys, thank you for helping me with this... you are clearly more qualified than i am to address it. 

It gives me the error code on the EOS Utility when i access the Web Service Settings Icon.  The Error Code states:

"To use this function, the latest SSL certificate must be set up on the camera. Download the latest SSL certificate and set up on the camera."

I've updated the firmware on the 6D and downloaded the latest updates for the EOS Utility....

That's where I am at so far...any suggestions?

Thank you again!
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 23, 2012, 11:53:11 AM
Hey guys, thank you for helping me with this... you are clearly more qualified than i am to address it. 

It gives me the error code on the EOS Utility when i access the Web Service Settings Icon.  The Error Code states:

"To use this function, the latest SSL certificate must be set up on the camera. Download the latest SSL certificate and set up on the camera."

I've updated the firmware on the 6D and downloaded the latest updates for the EOS Utility....

That's where I am at so far...any suggestions?

And yes WIFI is turned off...Thank you for the post!

Thank you again!
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Bearcat1 on December 26, 2012, 08:34:47 PM
It turn-out all i had to do was run the EOS Utility disc again and setup.  It missed the SSL Cert update somewhere along the setup phase.  I knew it was something simple!  :D  I hope this helps anyone else with the same problem.  Happy Shooting!
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on December 26, 2012, 09:35:28 PM
Good to hear that.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: Dwebbley1966@msn.com on January 15, 2013, 11:27:38 AM
Hi I just got a Canon power shot ELPH 320 HS. I also had the same error ( To use this function the latest SSL certificate must be set up on the camera. Download the latest SSL certificate and set up on the camera )

I am running windows 7
  This is how I fixed it. First I went to the canon site and downloaded all utilities from there instead of the cd. I was having a error code from Image Browser EX and this fixed it.
  Then I downloaded Microsoft silver light. good luck
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: mouginol on January 27, 2013, 07:03:53 AM
Hi,

can you help me how you fix this pb, I never saw the SSL Option in the installation process of Canon Utility.

I have the same problem on my EOS 6D.

Thanks a lot

Olivier
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on January 27, 2013, 07:17:00 PM
Read http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=11840.msg212122#msg212122 (http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=11840.msg212122#msg212122).
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: mouginol on January 30, 2013, 04:02:26 AM
Thanks for your answer but it did not solve my problem.

I think I have the solution from this forum in german : http://www.dslr-forum.de/showthread.php?t=1199030&page=4 (http://www.dslr-forum.de/showthread.php?t=1199030&page=4)

It seems that its a bug from version 2.12.3 that I downloaded from internet.

Problem, I don't have version 2.12.2.1 of the original CD. This is why I cannot apply your proposal.

Is there a way to get this version not available from Canon site ? I did not find.

Thanks

Olivier
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on January 30, 2013, 07:59:39 AM
Thanks for your answer but it did not solve my problem.

I think I have the solution from this forum in german : http://www.dslr-forum.de/showthread.php?t=1199030&page=4 (http://www.dslr-forum.de/showthread.php?t=1199030&page=4)

It seems that its a bug from version 2.12.3 that I downloaded from internet.

Problem, I don't have version 2.12.2.1 of the original CD. This is why I cannot apply your proposal.

Is there a way to get this version not available from Canon site ? I did not find.

Thanks

Olivier
Surely the 6D  came with a CD. Does that not work? Why don't you contact Canon support? I have not had any such problem, but then I have a 5D3 and no WiFi...
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: mouginol on January 30, 2013, 08:50:26 AM

Surely the 6D  came with a CD. Does that not work? Why don't you contact Canon support? I have not had any such problem, but then I have a 5D3 and no WiFi...

thanks for the answer

I don't have the CD for a simple Reason, my EOS 6D comes from Asia and the CD does not work for Europe and US :-(

I'm also waiting for a response of the support of Canon. For now on, they asked me many questions but they did not start yet to look for a solution. Hope they will do it soon …
Promess, if they give me THE answer, I will share it her with everyone.

Sure the pb is only with wifi devices. But my main expectation with WIFI is to be able to upload my pictures without PC.

Maybe that if I find a CD for EOS 5D mark III, it will work …
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: rpt on January 30, 2013, 11:09:04 AM

Surely the 6D  came with a CD. Does that not work? Why don't you contact Canon support? I have not had any such problem, but then I have a 5D3 and no WiFi...

thanks for the answer

I don't have the CD for a simple Reason, my EOS 6D comes from Asia and the CD does not work for Europe and US :-(

I'm also waiting for a response of the support of Canon. For now on, they asked me many questions but they did not start yet to look for a solution. Hope they will do it soon …
Promess, if they give me THE answer, I will share it her with everyone.

Sure the pb is only with wifi devices. But my main expectation with WIFI is to be able to upload my pictures without PC.

Maybe that if I find a CD for EOS 5D mark III, it will work …
Well, best of luck.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: sandymandy on January 30, 2013, 03:32:24 PM
I think you always have to install from Disc the first time, cuz the online downloads from Canon are just updates.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: mouginol on January 31, 2013, 01:46:59 AM
I think you always have to install from Disc the first time, cuz the online downloads from Canon are just updates.

Yes, with what I've read, I have to install from the original EOS 6D (EOS Utility version 2.12.2.1) and DO NOT UPGRADE  to 2.12.3

Problem, my CD is not compatible with Europe and USA and I cannot find EOS Utility version 2.12.2.1

If anyone can help me to find the good CD ...

The ESO 5F MarkIII CD may also work properly.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: harryvermeulen on February 15, 2013, 06:36:44 AM
Hello,

I have the same problem, and none of the above suggestions / solutions have solved it so far.

When I installed the EOS Utility software from the bundled CD (version 2.12.2.1), connect the camera to the pc and open the Web Service settings, it tells me it needs to download an SSL certificate. It downloads the certificate, and then installs it on the camera (or so it says).

I then shut down EOS Utility, I remove the cable, enable wifi on the camera and go into the wifi settings menu. When I try to upload something, it asks to connect to a wifi access point, after which I get the message: "Invalid SSL certificate. Connect to a computer and correct the settings with the provided software." On the top of the screen it says: "Error" and "Err 124".

On my mac, I can find the certificate on the harddrive, under a folder called "/Applications/Canon Utilities/EOS Utility/RootCertification/000001". If I remove the "AddTrustExternalCARoot.cer" certificate file from that folder, connect the camera again, start up the EOS Utility and click on "Web Service settings" it can download and install the SSL certificate again, but I keep having the same problem with the camera giving me Error #124, saying the certificate is invalid.

My camera firmware is 1.1.2.
I've tried both the 2.12.2.1 and the 2.12.3 version of the EOS Utility, both on Mac OS X 10.8.2 and on Windows 7 64bit SP1. Both perform the same and do not solve the problem.

Am I the only one still having this problem? I'll try and call Canon's support line again next week. I live in Japan, so it's a bit hard to talk to them in Japanese. There's so little information about this error on the web, it seems like it's not a common problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Kind regards,
Harry
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: oscaroo on February 25, 2013, 02:14:04 AM
Gday.

When I installed the EOS Utility software from the bundled CD (version 2.12.2.1), connect the camera to the pc and open the Web Service settings, it tells me it needs to download an SSL certificate. It downloads the certificate, and then installs it on the camera (or so it says).

I then shut down EOS Utility, I remove the cable, enable wifi on the camera and go into the wifi settings menu. When I try to upload something, it asks to connect to a wifi access point, after which I get the message: "Invalid SSL certificate. Connect to a computer and correct the settings with the provided software." On the top of the screen it says: "Error" and "Err 124".

Hey Harry.

I just did the process with the software that came from the CD and it worked.
Once the eos utility loads (the version from cd) go to web service settings, it updates some ceritifacte stuff, then you have to press the button on the bottom right. I forget what it's called, basically, you have to log into canon image gateway and then click the thingo to add new sharing thingos. Once you set up, say facebook and email, they'll appear on the right column of things. There should be an empty left column. Now you press each individual one on the right and then the move to the left button. The left column are the settings stored on the camera.

Then you can use it directly from wifi on the camera.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: mouginol on February 25, 2013, 03:08:34 AM
Gday.

Hey Harry.

I just did the process with the software that came from the CD and it worked.
Once the eos utility loads (the version from cd) go to web service settings, it updates some ceritifacte stuff, then you have to press the button on the bottom right. I forget what it's called, basically, you have to log into canon image gateway and then click the thingo to add new sharing thingos. Once you set up, say facebook and email, they'll appear on the right column of things. There should be an empty left column. Now you press each individual one on the right and then the move to the left button. The left column are the settings stored on the camera.

Then you can use it directly from wifi on the camera.

Hi, and could you help me to find a way to get this version ?
I don't have this CD and can't connect my 6D to internet :-(

It would be a real help for me ...

Olivier
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: oscaroo on February 25, 2013, 05:44:47 AM
Gday.

I notice in my install now, there's a RootCertification\000001\AddTrustExternalCARoot.cer file in program files (x86)/canon/eos utility/

Before, when laze me did the no-cd hack to install the version from the web (the .13 one), this directory did not exist.

Having reinstalled from the CD the above directory is made and placed.
I suspect, that if I were to update to .13 one then the above directory would remain present and all would work.

Well played Canon! Well played. This means that even if you use the no-cd hack you'll never get the above certificate unless you've the CD.

For Oliver, however, someone will probably have to break some license agreement clause to send him the install ripped from the CD. That person, will not be me today.

If you have a 6d, then surely you must have a CD. Perhaps beg someone to borrow theirs.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: mouginol on February 28, 2013, 06:43:59 AM
I have a CD, but this CD comes from Asia and CIG is not available there. So I'm blocked with no use of the Wifi function of my great 6D
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: oscaroo on February 28, 2013, 07:19:23 AM
Ah.
So you can't use the "Upload to web services" feature that goes through CIG.
However, you still can use the other wifi features, like transfer/shoot through your smart phone or tether/view/transfer to your computer.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: ajdrooler on March 17, 2013, 07:55:44 PM
I had the same problem with my Canon 6D: the Solution Disk found in the box was for the Asia / Oceania area and the web services couldn't be activated because the SSL certificate was missing. After a difficult search on the web I managed to get ahold of the Western Europe / USA setup CD (version V27.1) and finally I succedeed in configuring the web services and installing the required SSL certificates on the camera.
I'm not going to publicly post any link, but if you're still looking for a solution, feel free to contact me via PM.

Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: vannus on July 22, 2017, 08:54:41 PM
I know this has been dead for a while however i have just bought a 760d and cannot for the life of me fix this problem.
I am using a mac and have found the root file on device and it is dated 29/03/2011 is this correct. EOS utility states ssl cert is out of date and new cert will be downloaded to camera. I can add and remove items via canon gateway no problem i just cant connect to web services wirelessly I keep getting the same ssl error.
I have also tried a windows laptop its exactly the same camera requires ssl cert updating says its updating and still it doesnt work please someone help this i driving me nuts.
Title: Re: SSL Certificate Error
Post by: vannus on July 22, 2017, 09:17:26 PM
Got it to work had to use the wps button on my router and all is now ok,