canon rumors FORUM

Gear Talk => EOS Bodies - For Stills => Topic started by: hhelmbold on January 07, 2013, 03:53:42 PM

Title: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: hhelmbold on January 07, 2013, 03:53:42 PM
I have taken a series of HDR shots today using my 1D X and 24-105L lens. I have also used a tripod and the camera is set to auto bracketing (5 exposures). In just about every series of shots the very first picture has camera shake and the other 4 exposures are sharp. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem before and if it is possibly the Image Stabalizing motor causing the shake? What is strange is that it is for instance a 3 sec exposure that is shaky but the longer exposures are perfect... This is very confusing!
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: nightbreath on January 07, 2013, 05:37:06 PM
Do you press shutter release button for the first picture to be taken?
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: brett b on January 07, 2013, 05:47:17 PM
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: sanj on January 08, 2013, 05:50:54 AM
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.

Do explain because that is how I take my pictures and want to learn a better way. Thx.
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: hhelmbold on January 08, 2013, 06:20:21 AM
Do you press shutter release button for the first picture to be taken?

Uhhh.... Isn't the shutter release button supposed to be pressed?  ;D Sorry I know what you mean and I am not using a cable release, but I press the button exactly the same way with all 5 exposures and it is always only the first exposure that shows camera shake. I will experiment a bit more but I do recall I had some issues with sharpness before using the camera on a tripod with IS switched on.
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: paolotaverna on January 08, 2013, 06:35:28 AM


So indeed,

1- Do not use the IS when on tripod
2- Use shutter release with a delay (2 seconds or 10 seconds )

let us know how it goes
have a good one.
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: eddiemrg on January 08, 2013, 07:49:52 AM
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.

Do explain because that is how I take my pictures and want to learn a better way. Thx.

these are basics! .......1DX user..............................................
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: hhelmbold on January 08, 2013, 10:50:20 AM
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.

Do explain because that is how I take my pictures and want to learn a better way. Thx.

these are basics! .......1DX user..............................................

Thank you for your EXTREMELY valuable input! I thought basics mean that you read a question PROPERLY before answering it
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: hhelmbold on January 08, 2013, 10:54:01 AM


So indeed,

1- Do not use the IS when on tripod
2- Use shutter release with a delay (2 seconds or 10 seconds )

let us know how it goes
have a good one.

It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

It also looks like it is happening more in the f18-f22 range and when the camera is slightly tilted upwards. Looks like the Image Stabalizer kicks in for a second to see if it should stabalise and the vibrations causes the camera shake.

Thanks for the input
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: Raddy on January 08, 2013, 11:09:28 AM
It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

Ehm, no offense... But again some basics....  ;)
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: hhelmbold on January 08, 2013, 11:22:47 AM
It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

Ehm, no offense... But again some basics....  ;)

It's the basics that gets overlooked the most ;)
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: sandymandy on January 08, 2013, 01:04:58 PM
by people with too much money perhaps.
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: sanj on January 08, 2013, 01:11:18 PM
It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

Ehm, no offense... But again some basics....  ;)

I am not so sure if it is THAT basic!
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: Cptn Rigo on January 08, 2013, 02:25:06 PM
Pfffff... a lot of useless posts, Nobody knows everything, ok??  ::)

Some tips for hdr or tripod shooting:

- Almost all the lenses induces movement when used on tripod, as a rule of thumb, when you use the tripod, switch the IS Off

- Use a remote shutter, cable or wireless

- If you don't have a remote shutter, use a 2 sec delay shutter

- Its useful to use mirror lockup to eliminate the mirror shaking when taking the picture

Good luck
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: verysimplejason on January 14, 2013, 02:57:10 AM
For my humble TI1, I use mirror lockup + tripod + remote shutter or 2s timer shutter release to make everything as stable as possible when doing long shutter photography.  I also use my heavier tripod for this.  I don't know if I can teach you much because I'm just a rebel user.
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: RMC33 on January 16, 2013, 11:55:26 AM
Mirror lockup + cheap cable release works wonders.
Title: Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
Post by: East Wind Photography on January 16, 2013, 12:48:11 PM
Silent mode at least on the 5D3 also helps with the camera shake on a tripod.

Pfffff... a lot of useless posts, Nobody knows everything, ok??  ::)

Some tips for hdr or tripod shooting:

- Almost all the lenses induces movement when used on tripod, as a rule of thumb, when you use the tripod, switch the IS Off

- Use a remote shutter, cable or wireless

- If you don't have a remote shutter, use a 2 sec delay shutter

- Its useful to use mirror lockup to eliminate the mirror shaking when taking the picture

Good luck