canon rumors FORUM

Gear Talk => EOS Bodies - For Stills => Topic started by: mbworldz on July 30, 2013, 05:27:48 PM

Title: ISO Setting
Post by: mbworldz on July 30, 2013, 05:27:48 PM
Does anyone use the "A" auto ISO on your 5D Mark III and 1DX ?   Just trying to see what other pro is using. 
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: RLPhoto on July 30, 2013, 06:16:59 PM
Rarely.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: neuroanatomist on July 30, 2013, 06:34:34 PM
Often.  With limits.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Ryan708 on July 30, 2013, 07:37:26 PM
I use auto a decent amount, and set the limit on a regular basis, but never with flash work, as it "auto" sets to 400. But I also only run a 60D
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Harry Muff on July 30, 2013, 08:08:17 PM
All the time. Tv set to the minimum and the aperture can do what it wants indoors.


Outdoors in good light, Av with Auto ISO.




I'd rather have a some noise to clean up than miss the shot altogether.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: AudioGlenn on July 30, 2013, 08:22:40 PM
All the time. Tv set to the minimum and the aperture can do what it wants indoors.


Outdoors in good light, Av with Auto ISO.




I'd rather have a some noise to clean up than miss the shot altogether.

+1
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: rpt on July 30, 2013, 09:06:02 PM
The camera is a pro body that is set to auto ISO but I am not a pro photog :)
That is when I am shooting in M mode and the light is going to vary quickly due to changing angle of the shot and I would not have time to fix the ISO...
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: privatebydesign on July 30, 2013, 09:08:55 PM
Never.

Bit I can understand why others use it.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Click on July 30, 2013, 09:10:09 PM
Often.  With limits.

Same here.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: CTJohn on July 30, 2013, 09:11:29 PM
Often.  With limits.

Same here.
Here too.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Mt Spokane Photography on July 31, 2013, 12:02:43 AM
Occasionally, when lighting conditions are rapidly changing and I don't want to fool with it. 
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: JPAZ on July 31, 2013, 01:32:27 AM
The 5diii has spoiled me.  I use auto ios most of the time and don't get too concerned because the noise is so low.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Grumbaki on July 31, 2013, 01:48:00 AM
Never.

Bit I can understand why others use it.

That
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Rienzphotoz on July 31, 2013, 02:18:51 AM
I use it rarely ... when it is used, it is when the lighting conditions are unpredictable ... to give you an example: while I'm doing bird photography where there are lots of trees/thickets I use Auto ISO, bcoz if the bird I'm shooting, in well lit with direct sunlight, suddenly goes to perch on a thicket or a branch where it isn't getting enough light to capture the image, I may not have the time to change ISO manually.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Vossie on July 31, 2013, 02:54:31 AM
I use it rarely. Changing iso manually can be done very quickly without even taking your eye from the viewfinder.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: tpatana on July 31, 2013, 03:02:17 AM
Often.  With limits.

Same here.
Here too.

Yup, me too. Not all the time, but often.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: adhocphotographer on July 31, 2013, 03:03:15 AM
I generally use it unless i specifically want low noise or am shooting portraits with flash etc...

Personal preference... 
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: axeri on July 31, 2013, 04:40:15 AM
Now that I use a 5DMIII it is the first time I use autoISO almost all the time, outdoors my usual setting is Av with autoISO and often 1/3 or 2/3 of positive exposure compensation. In manual mode there is no way to adjust exposure, so I avoid it if I can.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Eldar on July 31, 2013, 05:42:29 AM
I find the auto ISO performance of the 1DX to be amongst its most usable features. When I do wildlife, birds and macro shots, I want to have full control over both shutter speed and aperture and therefore primarily use manual mode. Avaliable lighting can shift dramatically and by using any of the program modes (P, Av, Tv), you only control either shutter speed or aperture and not both. With fast moving objects and long lenses, you first need to find whatever you are shooting in the viewer, than try to frame it, then get the focusing right and on top of this adjust ISO settings by controlling shutter and aperture. Puuhhh :-X

On earlier bodies (1DsIII, 5DII etc.) I actually never used it, to secure the lowest possible ISO settings. But many shots were ruined by slow shutter speed (Av mode) or too deep or too shallow DOF (Tv mode). With the high ISO performance on the 1DX, that is much less of a worry and I rather accept occational grainyness, with proper DOF and shutter speed, than the alternative.

/Eldar
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Skirball on July 31, 2013, 10:44:37 AM
I'll readily use it if I'm shooting Av/Tv and in variable light conditions.  I would use it all the time if they added an exposure compensation function so I could shoot in manual.

For those that use it, is your ISO set to 1/3 or full stops?
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: neuroanatomist on July 31, 2013, 10:47:41 AM
For those that use it, is your ISO set to 1/3 or full stops?

It doesn't matter, Auto ISO will use 1/3-stop settings.  The full stop option applies only to manually selecting an ISO.  I do have that set to full stops, to make changing ISO faster.
Title: Re: ISO Setting
Post by: Skirball on July 31, 2013, 10:49:55 AM
For those that use it, is your ISO set to 1/3 or full stops?

It doesn't matter, Auto ISO will use 1/3-stop settings.  The full stop option applies only to manually selecting an ISO.  I do have that set to full stops, to make changing ISO faster.

Interesting, didn't know that.  Thanks.