canon rumors FORUM

Rumors => EOS Bodies => Topic started by: Viggo on February 05, 2012, 12:03:51 PM

Title: Custom WB
Post by: Viggo on February 05, 2012, 12:03:51 PM
Hi guys!

I have mentioned this before, but today I discovered a videocamera I just got (old model of cheap Sanyo)at work (leftovers) can do exactly what I suggested for the SLR's.

I can use ONE button, aim at a neutral gray area and push ONCE and it has sampled WB, and I can press REC straight away and start to film with the sampled (and correct) WB.

Why isn't this available in an SLR? I am asking because the 1d X has a dedicated WB-button on top now, and the 1d X uses AE sensor to give info to the AF system, and it can track a color.

Here's the question (finally!):

Do you guys think that the 1d X WB-button can actually be used for "One-button" sampling of WB?

And if not not, why the heck not?  ;)
Title: Re: Custom WB
Post by: DJL329 on February 05, 2012, 01:54:39 PM
The non-1D Canon dSLRs have had a WB button for quite some time, for choosing the WB, so it's only a new feature for the 1D line.   Sampling a WB still required using a menu item.  However, I do like your suggestion -- perhaps if the button is programmable...   ???
Title: Re: Custom WB
Post by: Viggo on February 05, 2012, 02:36:43 PM
The non-1D Canon dSLRs have had a WB button for quite some time, for choosing the WB, so it's only a new feature for the 1D line.   Sampling a WB still required using a menu item.  However, I do like your suggestion -- perhaps if the button is programmable...   ???

I know, the wb-choosing was default to Func-button. But not for choosing, for sampling, whole other story.