canon rumors FORUM

Canon Rumors General => Site Information => Topic started by: gkreis on August 02, 2010, 03:10:06 PM

Title: CanonRumors locks up browser
Post by: gkreis on August 02, 2010, 03:10:06 PM
Is anyone else seeing their browser lock up when viewing the Canon Rumors site?  I can't do it with Firefox.  It is 50/50 it will lock up and if I look at it long enough, it will for sure.  Consequently, I read this site in Chrome and even there, about 5-10% of the time it crashes Chrome.

It appears to be related to scripts that are running on the site, particularly related to ads.
Title: Re: CanonRumors locks up browser
Post by: Jaszek on August 02, 2010, 03:32:32 PM
Seemed fine to me on Firefox 3.6 and is fine with 4 beta. Maybe you have some greasemonkey scripts installed that lock the site up?
Title: Re: CanonRumors locks up browser
Post by: Stuart on August 02, 2010, 05:24:02 PM
I've seen this elsewhere where badly built of maicious ads damage the browser. Keeping your machine patched and using AV is one of the few ways to protect yourself.
Title: Re: CanonRumors locks up browser
Post by: Canon Rumors on August 02, 2010, 10:58:41 PM
Is anyone else seeing their browser lock up when viewing the Canon Rumors site?  I can't do it with Firefox.  It is 50/50 it will lock up and if I look at it long enough, it will for sure.  Consequently, I read this site in Chrome and even there, about 5-10% of the time it crashes Chrome.

It appears to be related to scripts that are running on the site, particularly related to ads.

99% of Firefox issues are plugin/extension related. Usually javascript.

The code on this site is fine.
Title: Re: CanonRumors locks up browser
Post by: Mark Shemas on December 04, 2010, 03:18:27 AM
Reinstall the addin, go to tools, add-ons and remove foxmarks. Then restart firefox, open add ons again and click get extensions, find foxmarks again and reinstall it.