If you move the card between cameras, then you should delete it first, or info about image numbers, etc will be transferred to images with the second cameras. The camera will recreate it, and start numbering images from 0001.Me included! (I saw 500+)
We often see posts from users who bought a new camera, and popped in the card from their old camera. They see image 7033 or some high number appear, and think they bought a used camera. Some users do not move cards between cameras in order to prevent the issue.
But, many shots later I installed ML and saw the shutter count being around 100.
So it was new. No harm done