October 02, 2014, 12:50:04 AM

Author Topic: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?  (Read 1775 times)

mdhill

  • Guest
How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« on: October 20, 2012, 02:00:30 AM »
I have a Canon Rebel T3, I want to create stop-motion films, but I won't be able to keep running back to take the picture. Is there any way I can program my canon to take start taking photos when I click it, and it keep going until I click it to stop (or it runs out of space, obviously)? Any software I can download or an addon or something?

canon rumors FORUM

How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« on: October 20, 2012, 02:00:30 AM »

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2192
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 02:09:46 AM »
I have a Canon Rebel T3, I want to create stop-motion films, but I won't be able to keep running back to take the picture. Is there any way I can program my canon to take start taking photos when I click it, and it keep going until I click it to stop (or it runs out of space, obviously)? Any software I can download or an addon or something?
Magic Lantern... Take a look at:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/download
It is not for the faint hearted as it could brick your camera too...
Just so you know, I tried out the alpha release on my 5D3. The features listed there worked for me. I am waiting for the rest of the features for my camera. Yours has the full release I believe. Have fun.

PeterJ

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2012, 03:22:15 AM »
As above Magic Lantern is cool, I used it on a 5D2 but haven't tried the alpha for my 5D3 yet. I won't suggest a particular one because what I have won't suit a T3i but if you prefer a hardware solution "intervalometer" is the term to search for.

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8755
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2012, 12:38:08 PM »
There are lots of cheap Chinese intravalometers that can be used with any Canon Rebel like the T3.  Don't get one for the XXD bodies that use a N3 connector, get one that works with a Rebel.
Hardware is easier to use, and flexible.
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_14?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=intravalometer&sprefix=intravalometer%2Caps%2C0

miah

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2012, 01:29:10 PM »
I use a Satechi TM Series Timer Remote Control with my T3i. It was about $50 on Amazon and works GREAT. Their website is <www.satechi.net>
T3i • 10-22 • 15-85 • 70-300DO *** 5D3 • 35 f/2 • 50 f/1.8 • 24-105L • 100L • 70-300L • 35-350L • 400L f/5.6

gunnar997

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Film is cheaper than opportunity
    • View Profile
    • 500px
Re: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2012, 01:29:40 AM »
Neewer makes a good little IV for 15 bucks! I use the 3 pin version for the 7D but a friend of mine has this version for 60D. nothing fancy but they get the job done and work great!

http://www.amazon.com/Neewer-Timer-Remote-Control-RS-60E3/dp/B004FKYBJM/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1350797148&sr=8-4&keywords=intervalometer+for+canon+t3i
7D+grip, 70-200 f/2.8L IS I, 17-55 f/2.8, 50 f/1.4, and some studio lights

bycostello

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
    • London Weddings
Re: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2012, 08:21:40 PM »
check ebay you can get a plug in timer for not very much....

canon rumors FORUM

Re: How to take more than 10 photos automatically?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2012, 08:21:40 PM »