August 28, 2014, 07:25:45 PM

Author Topic: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal  (Read 4855 times)

dstppy

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 894
    • View Profile
60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« on: November 06, 2012, 02:29:26 PM »
Well, that has an attention-getting title, doesn't it?

Reikan is looking into the possibility that the 60D's lacking of MFA is only in the UI software.

I wanted to start this thread in case they DO get any traction and need test data or something else (I've been bugging them for a while). 

I'm not sure if they're held up on reverse-engineering the software or if they actually need bodies for testing. They're in the UK; Greg told me they're located in the south, near Poole/Bournemouth.

I'll post back if I hear anything else, OR if they are looking for any bodies etc. (and people are willing to loan them one).
Canon Rumors is presently creating photographer shortages in Middle Earth (all the trolls emigrated here)

canon rumors FORUM

60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« on: November 06, 2012, 02:29:26 PM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8457
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 05:58:24 PM »
They do play with the Canon SDK quite a bit, there are a huge number of undocumented features.  Thats how they are able to display the number of shutter actuations.  It wouldn't suprise me if they could do it.

Act444

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 316
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2012, 06:33:19 PM »
Wow, that would be awesome....I'm not much of a "hacker", but given that I have a couple lenses that could use adjustment, if they do manage to figure it out, it might be worth it...

bklein61

  • Guest
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2012, 07:17:05 PM »
Mt Spokane,  where can you get the shutter count on FoCal.

dstppy

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 894
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2012, 07:30:24 PM »
I've only done 2 lenses so far, my 85mm 1.8 (which comes up with a different number, near zero, each time) and my 50mm 1.4 that won't calibrate at all.

Lighting I think is an issue, but the mac beta says sorta weird things about iso, so who knows . . . not a lot of time on my hands :)
Canon Rumors is presently creating photographer shortages in Middle Earth (all the trolls emigrated here)

jdramirez

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2262
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2012, 08:46:24 PM »
I'd be overjoyed to have that feature... because I've had a few lenses that needed the adjustment... but alas... I sold them rather than send them into Canon to do the adjustment for me.
Upgrade  path.->means the former was sold for the latter.

XS->60D->5d Mkiii:18-55->24-105L:75-300->55-250->70-300->70-200 f4L USM->70-200 f/2.8L USM->70-200 f/2.8L IS Mkii:50 f/1.8->50 f/1.4->100 f/2.8L->85mm f/1.8 USM->135L -> 8mm ->100L

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8457
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2012, 09:07:57 PM »
Mt Spokane,  where can you get the shutter count on FoCal.
I use FoCal Pro, the feature might not be on other versions.
Here it is for my 5D MK III when I first received it.  It had only 23 actuations, most of them FoCal when this was captured.
 

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2012, 09:07:57 PM »

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2142
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2012, 09:35:03 PM »
I've only done 2 lenses so far, my 85mm 1.8 (which comes up with a different number, near zero, each time) and my 50mm 1.4 that won't calibrate at all.

Lighting I think is an issue, but the mac beta says sorta weird things about iso, so who knows . . . not a lot of time on my hands :)
For lighting, I learned the hard way not to use CFL or Fluorescent Tubes :)
They drive FoCal nuts!

dstppy

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 894
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2012, 08:16:09 AM »
I've only done 2 lenses so far, my 85mm 1.8 (which comes up with a different number, near zero, each time) and my 50mm 1.4 that won't calibrate at all.

Lighting I think is an issue, but the mac beta says sorta weird things about iso, so who knows . . . not a lot of time on my hands :)
For lighting, I learned the hard way not to use CFL or Fluorescent Tubes :)
They drive FoCal nuts!

I misread that.  "Do NOT use fluorescent lighting or mains powered LED lighting as these can flicker and cause analysis issues"

Would you believe that 95% of the lighting in my house is LED, CFL or FL-T? If you don't count candella style, it's 99% ;D

Well FARK and FNORD both!
Canon Rumors is presently creating photographer shortages in Middle Earth (all the trolls emigrated here)

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2142
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2012, 10:52:40 AM »
I've only done 2 lenses so far, my 85mm 1.8 (which comes up with a different number, near zero, each time) and my 50mm 1.4 that won't calibrate at all.

Lighting I think is an issue, but the mac beta says sorta weird things about iso, so who knows . . . not a lot of time on my hands :)
For lighting, I learned the hard way not to use CFL or Fluorescent Tubes :)
They drive FoCal nuts!

I misread that.  "Do NOT use fluorescent lighting or mains powered LED lighting as these can flicker and cause analysis issues"

Would you believe that 95% of the lighting in my house is LED, CFL or FL-T? If you don't count candella style, it's 99% ;D

Well FARK and FNORD both!
Yup! You are right. No LED lights powered by AC mains either.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13946
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2012, 10:59:36 AM »
Darn envorinmentalists.  Give me TUNGSTEN!
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2142
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2012, 11:36:52 AM »
Darn envorinmentalists.  Give me TUNGSTEN!
:)

Seriously, after they stop manufacturing them what do we do then? DC LEDs? What is the alternative?

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13946
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2012, 12:32:14 PM »
Flashlights.  LOTS of flashlights.   :P

Actually, a couple of those portable halogen work lights from Home Depot would do nicely, and at less than $20 each, they're cheaper than many LED 'bulbs'.

EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2012, 12:32:14 PM »

dstppy

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 894
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2012, 12:37:39 PM »
Flashlights.  LOTS of flashlights.   :P

Actually, a couple of those portable halogen work lights from Home Depot would do nicely, and at less than $20 each, they're cheaper than many LED 'bulbs'.



AHA, I got one of those!

All my flashlights are LED too :D  I have a problem
Canon Rumors is presently creating photographer shortages in Middle Earth (all the trolls emigrated here)

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13946
    • View Profile
Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2012, 12:52:49 PM »
All my flashlights are LED too :D  I have a problem

Mine, too - but they're battery powered, right?  Direct current means no fluctuations, no flicker.  It's not the bulb that's the problem, per se, it's the alternating current in combination with a bulb that has a fast response time (since incandescent bulbs are basically just heated tungsten, there's no flicker because the hot metal doesn't cool down significantly at 50/60 Hz cycles).  'Halogen' bulbs are incandescent bulbs with hot tungsten, but there's a bit of a halogen gas (bromine, etc.) added into the inert gas in the sealed bulb.

I know, I know...TMI...  :P
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 60D Microfocus Adjustment on FoCal
« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2012, 12:52:49 PM »