September 23, 2014, 08:32:40 AM

Author Topic: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit  (Read 13247 times)

squarebox

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« on: November 09, 2012, 11:59:11 AM »
Very weird issue here, but when I connect my 5Dmk3 to my desktop (windows 8 64-bit) it detects that a 5Dmk3 has been connected and I can copy pictures down and it tells me how much battery and card space is left.  However, when I launch EOS Utility (2.12) or FoCal (1.6), neither software registers that the camera is connected to the machine.  Here's where it gets weirder, everything works fine on a laptop with win7 and on another laptop with the same build of windows 8.  I'm using the same usb cables and whatnot. 

So I gave Canon customer support a call (amazing support btw), but they were at a loss for words as to why it wasn't showing up.  Was just wondering if anyone here might have a possible solution or something I could try.
5Dmk3 - 16-35L - 24-105L - 70-200L F2.8 mk2 - 35L - 50mm 1.4 - 100L - 600xt-rt

canon rumors FORUM

EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« on: November 09, 2012, 11:59:11 AM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8691
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 12:12:30 PM »
Is it a new computer, or did you upgrade?  Sometimes upgrades cause issues like this, but it should be working on a new installation.

squarebox

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 09:00:25 PM »
Old computer fresh install.  Same deal as the laptop using the same disk
5Dmk3 - 16-35L - 24-105L - 70-200L F2.8 mk2 - 35L - 50mm 1.4 - 100L - 600xt-rt

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8691
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2012, 09:06:10 PM »
Old computer fresh install.  Same deal as the laptop using the same disk
I haven't yet upgraded to Windows 8, I've been planning to buy or build a new PC.  Its tough to build my own for the price of a Dell XPS with i7 3rd generation.

chicken

  • Guest
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2012, 10:01:02 PM »
I would not be surprised if its because something in Windows 8 is grabbing access to the camera first.  I ran into this issue on FoCal on Win7 when I had DSLR Remote Pro opened and it grabbed the camera first.  Only one program can be accessing the camera at any given time.  I am not a windows 8 user but I suspect there is some way of having Windows no opening access to the device itself.  This is different than the CF card showing up as a drive letter.

cliffwang

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2012, 02:50:39 AM »
Seeing files on 5D3 and control 5D3 are two different things.  Accessing 5D3 file is via mass storage driver, which is a Windows building driver.  Controlling 5D3 must go through Canon driver.  If you have problem to use EOS Utility, that means the Canon driver doesn't work on your system.  You have better check if there is any driver problem from device manager.  If there is a problem, you need to reinstall the driver.  If there is no problem, you have better contact with Canon for newer driver.  You also can try the compatibility mode for your EOS Utility.  Don't complain to FoCal because FoCal works via EOS Utility. 
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 03:38:40 AM by cliffwang »
Canon 5D3 | Samyang 14mm F/2.8 | Sigma 50mm F/1.4 | Tamron 24-70mm F/2.8 VC | Canon 70-200mm F/2.8 IS MK2 | Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro L | Canon Closed-up 500D | 430EX | Kenko 2x Teleplus Pro 300 | Manfrotto Tripod

PeterJ

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2012, 03:53:20 AM »
Try a different USB port for a start if you haven't already, I know it won't be the hardware because your copy but sometimes the drivers seem to get bound differently between ports. In the past (not sure if it applies to Win8) if I've had problems with USB devices not being recognised or doing odd things I've removed and re-installed all the USB controllers as described here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310575

canon rumors FORUM

Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2012, 03:53:20 AM »

cocopop05

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2012, 04:47:12 AM »
I can confirm I am having the same issue. 

I am using a HP Z800 workstation (Just in case it matters - Dual Xeon's - X5570, 12GB ECC RAM, Quadro 5000, Intel 320 series SSD, Intel USB2.0).  My Z800 was running Win 7 Pro 64-bit with no issues.  I deleted the partition on my C Drive on my Z800, then formatted it, then clean installed Win 8 Pro 64-Bit.

The 5D Mark III is detected fine in Windows, no errors and listed correctly. 

I have tried setting the program as 'run as an administrator'. I have also tried running in all the Compatibility modes.  I have 9 USB ports on the Z800, I have tried all of them.  I have also tried running off a powered USB Hub.  None of these things helped, the issue is still there.

I believe this is likely to be an issue with the Canon software and we will need to wait for an update or new version from Canon.

Happy to be proved wrong of course :)
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 04:54:39 AM by cocopop05 »

squarebox

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2012, 06:12:26 AM »
I have done a clean install of the old version and newest version.  I have uninstalled FOcal as well to see if it was interfering with the EOS utility, but no dice.

I have tried all the USB ports on my machine as well.
5Dmk3 - 16-35L - 24-105L - 70-200L F2.8 mk2 - 35L - 50mm 1.4 - 100L - 600xt-rt

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2180
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2012, 09:51:18 AM »
I have done a clean install of the old version and newest version.  I have uninstalled FOcal as well to see if it was interfering with the EOS utility, but no dice.

I have tried all the USB ports on my machine as well.
Does the EOS utility detect any other camera?

squarebox

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2012, 03:59:51 AM »
Yes it detected my kiss x4.
5Dmk3 - 16-35L - 24-105L - 70-200L F2.8 mk2 - 35L - 50mm 1.4 - 100L - 600xt-rt

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2180
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2012, 06:49:13 AM »
Yes it detected my kiss x4.
Shoot! Have you checked driver versions between the Win8 machine which recognises your 5D3 and this one? May be uninstall the driver and reinstall? Something must be conflicting with it. I guess you probably already checked to see if there was a conflict showing up on the driver... Sorry cant think of anything else.  :)

squarebox

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 236
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2012, 07:18:58 AM »
Yes it detected my kiss x4.
Shoot! Have you checked driver versions between the Win8 machine which recognises your 5D3 and this one? May be uninstall the driver and reinstall? Something must be conflicting with it. I guess you probably already checked to see if there was a conflict showing up on the driver... Sorry cant think of anything else.  :)

Yup on driver conflicts.  It's a real mystery to the canon folks as well.
5Dmk3 - 16-35L - 24-105L - 70-200L F2.8 mk2 - 35L - 50mm 1.4 - 100L - 600xt-rt

canon rumors FORUM

Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2012, 07:18:58 AM »

weixing

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2012, 08:54:21 AM »
I can confirm I am having the same issue. 

I am using a HP Z800 workstation (Just in case it matters - Dual Xeon's - X5570, 12GB ECC RAM, Quadro 5000, Intel 320 series SSD, Intel USB2.0).  My Z800 was running Win 7 Pro 64-bit with no issues.  I deleted the partition on my C Drive on my Z800, then formatted it, then clean installed Win 8 Pro 64-Bit.

The 5D Mark III is detected fine in Windows, no errors and listed correctly. 

I have tried setting the program as 'run as an administrator'. I have also tried running in all the Compatibility modes.  I have 9 USB ports on the Z800, I have tried all of them.  I have also tried running off a powered USB Hub.  None of these things helped, the issue is still there.

I believe this is likely to be an issue with the Canon software and we will need to wait for an update or new version from Canon.

Happy to be proved wrong of course :)
Hi.
   Since it's work on Windows 7 64-bits, but doesn't in Windows 8 64-bits, I think it's a Windows 8 issue. If I were you, I won't be the first to use any new OS... most OS always have issue during initial released.

   By the way, I run the Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant on my Computer and I was surprise to see that it's mark "Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Professional " as not compatible. If "Microsoft Visual Studio 2010" is not compatible with Windows 8, I wonder how the software it's develop will be able to compatible with Windows 8??

   Have a nice day.

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2180
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2012, 09:49:20 AM »
Hi.
   Since it's work on Windows 7 64-bits, but doesn't in Windows 8 64-bits, I think it's a Windows 8 issue. If I were you, I won't be the first to use any new OS... most OS always have issue during initial released.

   By the way, I run the Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant on my Computer and I was surprise to see that it's mark "Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Professional " as not compatible. If "Microsoft Visual Studio 2010" is not compatible with Windows 8, I wonder how the software it's develop will be able to compatible with Windows 8??

   Have a nice day.
We have been thru all this on another thread. Some folks have been brave and have had no issues. I am still on Win XP and don't intend to move for some time...

canon rumors FORUM

Re: EOS Utility/FoCal not recognizing 5D3 in Win8 64-bit
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2012, 09:49:20 AM »