Gear Talk > Lighting

Canon Speedlite 90EX (EOS-M) - master capable on all EOS bodies?

(1/5) > >>

AvTvM:
just found this post on German foto community http://www.fotocommunity.de/forum/d-slr-fortgeschritten/drahtloses-blitzen-mit-speedlite-fuer-alle-eos-359176 which claims the small external Canon speedlite 90EX which was released alongside the EOS-M seems to work as a wireless master flash [line of sight, optical] on all Canon EOS DSLRs. Mastering capabilities almost equal to the 580EX.
3 groups and best of all HSS mastering on top.

I cannot verify, sicne this speedlite is not available yet were I live and furthermore I have a 7D with pop-up master flash built in. Although that one will NOT do HSS mastering.

If confirmed, this would be a really interesting and cheap option for owners of EOS bodies without pop-up flash, namely 5D/2/3 and 1D/s/X.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-6825B002-Speedlite-90EX-Flash/dp/B008NF8998/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352565396&sr=8-1&keywords=canon+90ex

AvTvM:
just checked the Canon website and it confirms the 90EX works as master-flash.

http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/speedlite_flash_lineup/speedlite_90ex#Features
For a number of advanced lighting setups, the Speedlite 90EX can be used as a master transmitter to control multiple flash units - wirelessly! Through 4 channel optical light pulse transmission, the Speedlite 90EX can control up to three groups of slave-enabled flashes, controlling power from 8:1 to 1:8 in 1/2 stop increments. It can transmit up to approximately 16.4 ft. indoors, up to 23 ft. outdoors.

wickidwombat:
i just tested in on a 5Dmk2 for you with 580ex2 as a slave and it works just have to do all the flash control from the in camera menus,
Not as good as the odins but it does work

AvTvM:
@wickidwombat: thanks.