October 23, 2014, 05:36:38 PM

Author Topic: Help!! 17 TS-E vs 16-35 II vs 17-40 vs 14II vs. Tokina 16-28 2.8 for Landscapes  (Read 3361 times)

PixelReaper

• PowerShot G1 X II
    • View Profile
Hi everyone!

So I am leaving in 24 hours! to go to Washington and Portland OR. I shoot with the 5d mark II.  I went nuts and bought the 17 TS-E, the 17-40 and 16-35 II and I am trying to decide which ones to keep and take along with me on the trip.

I am not experienced with TS-E but understand the main concepts and like how sharp they appear to be in the corners vs the zooms. I shoot with a Tripod and don't mind the lack of AF (but would prefer to have it!)

I like that the 16-35 is f/2.8 but I don't know if the image quality is enough to justify the price. and obviously the 17-40 is the budget friendly choice and can use my 77mm screw on filters (BW 10 stop ND and CPL)

I also ordered the Tokina 16-28 2.8 on sale for $750, but I have not tested it yet.  The reviews I read seem to agree that it is at least as sharp as the 16-35II but is heavier and can not take filters.

I do not have have the 14II but have shot with the Rokinon 14 and know that the canon 14II is better all around and has auto focus to boot.  My only concern with the 14 is that the ultra wide perspective can get old.  Plus with the TS-E I can stich together shoot for really wide FOV.

So, with all that said, I turn to the opinions and expertise of the CR community for help.  Just keep in mind I only have 24 hours to decide!!!

Thanks in advance for your responses.
5D Mark II, 24-105mm f/4 L, 35mm f/1.4 L, 70-200 f/2.8 II

canon rumors FORUM

neuroanatomist

• CR GEEK
    • View Profile
A TS-E lens is great for landscapes and for tall buildings and trees.  I found 17mm too wide ofr my tastes, got the 24mm instead.  Depending on budget, the combo of UWA zoom for versatility plus a TS-E is great.  When I go on city walks, I often bring the 16-35 II and the TS-E 24 II (and a tripod, of course).