September 20, 2014, 12:30:53 AM

Author Topic: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.  (Read 6443 times)

Tabor Warren Photography

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 157
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« on: November 18, 2012, 11:41:10 AM »
Well, I think the title says it all. The auto iso on my 5Dii is stuck on 400, however, this is only on manual mode and thus my custom settings as well.

Has anyone had this experience or know of a fix, or should I send it in to Canon?

Thank you all greatly,
-Tabor
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT x2 & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

canon rumors FORUM

5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« on: November 18, 2012, 11:41:10 AM »

AudioGlenn

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 351
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2012, 12:29:48 PM »
this is a known issue with the mark 2 that was never fixed by Canon (as far as I know).  A lot of people complain about this in the mark 2.  I think it was fixed in the mark 3
5D mkIII  |  40 f/2.8 | 8-15 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 1.4x III TC | 600ex-rt | 430 ex ii | EOS M+22mm f/2 | EF to EF-M adapter

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14425
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2012, 12:33:40 PM »
It's not a bug, it's a feature. Or so they say...

Your camera is functioning normally, it's just that for some reason, Canon decided that with a flash attached or in M mode, Auto ISO should be locked at ISO 400. You can set the ISO manually to whatever you want. If your C# settings are based on M mode, the same limitation applies.

Not that it helps, but for the 7D and subsequent cameras, Auto ISO works in M mode, so you set aperture and shutter speed, and the camera sets the ISO to achieve the metered exposure.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Dylan777

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4034
    • View Profile
    • http://dylannguyen.smugmug.com
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2012, 01:01:42 PM »

You won't see this in 5D III or newer cameras. AF system + fixed Auto ISO in M mode are two main reasons I switched from 5D II to 5D III.
Body: 1DX -- 5D III
Zoom: 24-70L II -- 70-200L f2.8 IS II
Prime: 40mm -- 85L II -- 135L -- 400L f2.8 IS II

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8682
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2012, 01:15:15 PM »
Read page 58 of your manual.

Ew

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2012, 01:31:15 PM »

You won't see this in 5D III or newer cameras. AF system + fixed Auto ISO in M mode are two main reasons I switched from 5D II to 5D III.
+1

I was always flipping between av &  tv _-wishing auto iso. Would work it's wonders.    This was a major point with the 5D3 for me.
5D3 | 600D | EOSm | Samyang 8mm 3.8T | Samyang 14 2.8 | 17-40 | 28 1.8 | Sig 35 1.4 | 40 | 50 1.4 | 100 2.0 | 135 L | 70-200 4L IS + x1.4mk2 | Nippon Kogaku 50 1.4 (1965) | Nikkor 43-86 (mid 1970s) | M: 22

R1-7D

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2012, 01:59:39 PM »
Doesn't Magic Lantern correct this issue?

I am thinking about installing it. The benefits it adds make the 5DII a far more economical choice than the 5DIII.
Cameras: 1DX, Canon M. Lenses: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II, Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II,  Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro, Canon EF 2X III, Tokina SD 16-28mm f/2.8 FX, Canon M 18-55mm IS, Canon M 22mm. Flashes MT-24 580EXII

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2012, 01:59:39 PM »

AudioGlenn

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 351
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2012, 02:08:46 PM »
It's not a bug, it's a feature. Or so they say...

Your camera is functioning normally, it's just that for some reason, Canon decided that with a flash attached or in M mode, Auto ISO should be locked at ISO 400. You can set the ISO manually to whatever you want. If your C# settings are based on M mode, the same limitation applies.

Not that it helps, but for the 7D and subsequent cameras, Auto ISO works in M mode, so you set aperture and shutter speed, and the camera sets the ISO to achieve the metered exposure.

I'd consider it a bug... Why wouldn't they give us the OPTION to set ISO automatically in Manual?  Granted, it's manual mode, but why make it available on other cameras then if it wasn't a feature some people might find useful.
5D mkIII  |  40 f/2.8 | 8-15 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 1.4x III TC | 600ex-rt | 430 ex ii | EOS M+22mm f/2 | EF to EF-M adapter

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4540
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2012, 02:21:11 PM »
I'd consider it a bug... Why wouldn't they give us the OPTION to set ISO automatically in Manual?  Granted, it's manual mode, but why make it available on other cameras then if it wasn't a feature some people might find useful.

I'd consider it a "non-feature", Canon just didn't add it then and is not in the habit of massively backporting features (the 7d firmware was an exception and it contained a working auto-iso like on the 60d).

There should be some things left that make you wish for the newest and more expensive camera, isn't it :-> ... and indeed comparing the firmware features of 5d2->5d3 makes me rather go for the 6d because I guess I'd be annoyed if things that I even use on the 60d aren't available on the 5d2.

Doesn't Magic Lantern correct this issue?  I am thinking about installing it. The benefits it adds make the 5DII a far more economical choice than the 5DIII.

I don't think so, but you should try it anyway because ml is one of the few great features "Canon" has over Nikon :-o ... and ml on the 5d2 is 100% stable by now and you can uninstall it any time you want.

Tabor Warren Photography

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 157
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2012, 02:25:44 PM »
Man that stinks,

Thank you all for your imput. I knew you all would know something about what I was referring to. It's not enough to push me over to the 5Diii just yet, but man I wish there was a firmware update for this. Well, I better keep shooting to afford an upgrade!

Thank you all again,
-Tabor
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT x2 & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14425
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2012, 02:43:39 PM »
I'd consider it a bug... Why wouldn't they give us the OPTION to set ISO automatically in Manual?  Granted, it's manual mode, but why make it available on other cameras then if it wasn't a feature some people might find useful.

A bug is something unintentional, this was intentional on Canon's part.  The 5DIII can't set a minimum shutter speed of 1/1000 s, nor a maximum aperture - the 1D X can do both. Bugs? No - feature choices by Canon.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

AudioGlenn

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 351
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2012, 12:58:39 PM »
I'd consider it a bug... Why wouldn't they give us the OPTION to set ISO automatically in Manual?  Granted, it's manual mode, but why make it available on other cameras then if it wasn't a feature some people might find useful.

A bug is something unintentional, this was intentional on Canon's part.  The 5DIII can't set a minimum shutter speed of 1/1000 s, nor a maximum aperture - the 1D X can do both. Bugs? No - feature choices by Canon.

I stand corrected.  It's still an annoyance though.  It's one of the reasons I wanted the mk3 over the mk2.  That, the AF, the features avail on my 600ex-rt, and some of the video improvements
5D mkIII  |  40 f/2.8 | 8-15 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 1.4x III TC | 600ex-rt | 430 ex ii | EOS M+22mm f/2 | EF to EF-M adapter

candyman

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1253
  • The best critic sits in front of the camera
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2012, 01:53:12 PM »
Read page 58 of your manual.

Mine - dutch manual - page 125

In modes P /TV / AV / M the ISO speed is automatically set between 100 and 25800

But, the true auto iso speed is determined by user setting on [minimum]  and [maximum] at [auto iso range]
So set the [auto iso range] for minimum at 100 and maximum [whatever until 25800]
5DIII w/grip  |  6D  |  16-35L IS  |  24-70VC  |  24-105L  |  70-200 f/2.8L IS II  |  70-300L  |  35 f/2 IS  |  50A  |  135L

www.thornmillimages.com

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2012, 01:53:12 PM »

Eli

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
    • http://500px.com/elindaire
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2012, 02:22:28 PM »
Read page 58 of your manual.

Mine - dutch manual - page 125

In modes P /TV / AV / M the ISO speed is automatically set between 100 and 25800

But, the true auto iso speed is determined by user setting on [minimum]  and [maximum] at [auto iso range]
So set the [auto iso range] for minimum at 100 and maximum [whatever until 25800]

You're talking about the Mark III, I assume? It's different to the Mark II.

candyman

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1253
  • The best critic sits in front of the camera
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2012, 02:29:38 PM »
Read page 58 of your manual.

Mine - dutch manual - page 125

In modes P /TV / AV / M the ISO speed is automatically set between 100 and 25800

But, the true auto iso speed is determined by user setting on [minimum]  and [maximum] at [auto iso range]
So set the [auto iso range] for minimum at 100 and maximum [whatever until 25800]

You're talking about the Mark III, I assume? It's different to the Mark II.


Oh, yes. Sorry. long day. didn't see the last i
5DIII w/grip  |  6D  |  16-35L IS  |  24-70VC  |  24-105L  |  70-200 f/2.8L IS II  |  70-300L  |  35 f/2 IS  |  50A  |  135L

www.thornmillimages.com

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5Dii auto iso stuck on 400.
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2012, 02:29:38 PM »