October 30, 2014, 10:05:17 AM

Author Topic: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings  (Read 9712 times)

GMCPhotographics

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 728
    • View Profile
    • GMCPhotographics
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2012, 04:29:17 AM »
Could you guys post a link to FoCal. Im going to tweak my 500.
Florescent tubes usually have a frequency, where they flash on and off every 100th second. Because this is faster than the refresh cycle of the human eye, we are not aware of it. But it's more than enough to throw a camera's meter and AF system.

Here's another food for thought, why test a lens indoors at all? Tungsten light generally has a focus shift. The slower the wavelength of light is, the wider the point of focus. Only daylight should be used to calibrate a lens / camera's AF system.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2012, 04:29:17 AM »

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2223
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2012, 07:56:12 AM »
Only daylight should be used to calibrate a lens / camera's AF system.
This is certainly food for thought. I will recaliberate on the weekend again!

Thanks for the tip.

East Wind Photography

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 714
  • EWP
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2012, 08:17:21 AM »
If I get an opportunity I will test with tungsten as well a Solux halogen and see if there is any difference.  Solux halogens are used in Art Galleries and are "tuned" to reproduce daylight and reduced UV.

Could you guys post a link to FoCal. Im going to tweak my 500.
Florescent tubes usually have a frequency, where they flash on and off every 100th second. Because this is faster than the refresh cycle of the human eye, we are not aware of it. But it's more than enough to throw a camera's meter and AF system.

Here's another food for thought, why test a lens indoors at all? Tungsten light generally has a focus shift. The slower the wavelength of light is, the wider the point of focus. Only daylight should be used to calibrate a lens / camera's AF system.

East Wind Photography

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 714
  • EWP
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #18 on: November 28, 2012, 08:35:50 AM »
A couple of issues to consider when calibrating outside.  Wind and light variability due to clouds.  Focal can tolerate slight variability in light but not a good cloud drifting by.  Wind is something that can affect the camera and the target and affect results considerably.

Performing the test indoors helps control those variabilities but as pointed out light focuses differently at different wavelengths.  Daylight is certainly better notwithstanding the other forces of nature.

Only daylight should be used to calibrate a lens / camera's AF system.
This is certainly food for thought. I will recaliberate on the weekend again!

Thanks for the tip.

nikkito

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 371
  • Argentine freelance photographer
    • View Profile
    • Facebook photo page
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2012, 08:53:42 AM »
i've calibrated my 85 ƒ1.2 and the difference is impressive! before i had to shoot a lot of pictures to get one in focus. Not anymore.

Thank you Reikan!


(yeah, i know... it sounds like a cheap ad. haha  ;D)
www.nicolaszonvi.com - www.facebook.com/zonviphoto

1D X, 5D Mk III, 5D Mk II, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 85 f1.2, 40 f2.8, 50 f1.4, Sigma 10-20 and many other toy cameras.

Pieces Of E

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 139
  • Canon owners and operators
    • View Profile
    • Pieces Of E, LLC
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2012, 10:15:09 AM »
Yup, the camera is tethered to the computer for FoCal. It's fully automated for Canon as far as I can tell; for my Nikon I have to manually set the AFMA for each shot and tell the software to take the photo... much more inconvenient.


In order to use the FoCal software, the camera HAS to be tethered to a computer? Then how are people like Neuro calibrating a 600mm lens at lengths up to 98 feet? Is this a USB cable? Please advise, thank you.
EOS 7D, BG-E7, EF 300L IS f4, EF 100L IS f2.8 macro, EF 24-105L IS f4 , EF 1.4 extender MKIII, EF-S 10-22 f3.5-5.6, 70-200L IS f2.8 II, EOS-M, 22 f2 STM, EF-S 18-135 IS STM, EF 85 f1.8

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2223
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2012, 10:19:32 AM »
light variability due to clouds
This is exactly why I took it indoors and did it at night. Total control of the light intensity! Back to the drawing board for me now. And I will have to cajole the wind and cloud gods :)

It is not very gusty to shake the camera. The target is another matter...

So be it!

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2012, 10:19:32 AM »

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2223
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2012, 10:24:50 AM »
Yup, the camera is tethered to the computer for FoCal. It's fully automated for Canon as far as I can tell; for my Nikon I have to manually set the AFMA for each shot and tell the software to take the photo... much more inconvenient.
Same here for the 5D3. You have to be careful not to displace the camera.

Quote
In order to use the FoCal software, the camera HAS to be tethered to a computer? Then how are people like Neuro calibrating a 600mm lens at lengths up to 98 feet? Is this a USB cable? Please advise, thank you.
The target is at 98'. One does not need to be near the target. Just near the camera and the computer. And yes, it is tethered by the USB cable that comes with it - at least that is the case with my 5D3. Dont know about Nikon but I cant believe it will be any different.


neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14787
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2012, 10:42:21 AM »
In order to use the FoCal software, the camera HAS to be tethered to a computer? Then how are people like Neuro calibrating a 600mm lens at lengths up to 98 feet? Is this a USB cable? Please advise, thank you.

To run in full auto or MSC mode, it must be tethered.  In my case, I actually just took all the shots of the target manually, then loaded them into FoCal for their manual analysis.  I loved the fully automated analysis with the 5DII and 7D, but with the 1D X since I have to stand at the camera anyway to manually change the settings, it's not a real time saver to run in MSC mode.  Taking the 83 shots per run takes me about 10 minutes (I shoot 2 shots each at even number AFMA value from |20| to |12| and 3 shots each at all values from +10 to -10; that also allows me to manually defocus in both directions, so AF is done from both the MFD and ∞).  Yes, I oversample relative to what the MSC mode would do, but it's no slower and I get nice curve fits.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Pieces Of E

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 139
  • Canon owners and operators
    • View Profile
    • Pieces Of E, LLC
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2012, 10:46:13 AM »
Thanks rpt, I had realized my question didn't make sense after I wrote it. I wasn't thinking clearly about the setup. I guess my mind was on the 400 million+ dollar powerball lottery being picked tonight.  :)  Just the target has to be said feet away, camera and computer can be close and tethered. sorry
« Last Edit: November 28, 2012, 10:50:11 AM by Pieces Of E »
EOS 7D, BG-E7, EF 300L IS f4, EF 100L IS f2.8 macro, EF 24-105L IS f4 , EF 1.4 extender MKIII, EF-S 10-22 f3.5-5.6, 70-200L IS f2.8 II, EOS-M, 22 f2 STM, EF-S 18-135 IS STM, EF 85 f1.8

Pieces Of E

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 139
  • Canon owners and operators
    • View Profile
    • Pieces Of E, LLC
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #25 on: November 28, 2012, 10:48:24 AM »
As you all can also see, I don't know how to put previous quotes into boxes on my replys.  :-[
EOS 7D, BG-E7, EF 300L IS f4, EF 100L IS f2.8 macro, EF 24-105L IS f4 , EF 1.4 extender MKIII, EF-S 10-22 f3.5-5.6, 70-200L IS f2.8 II, EOS-M, 22 f2 STM, EF-S 18-135 IS STM, EF 85 f1.8

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2223
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #26 on: November 28, 2012, 10:51:30 AM »
Thanks rpt, I had realized my question didn't make sense after I wrote it. I wasn't thinking clearly about the setup. I guess my mind was on the 400 million+ dollar powerball lottery being picked tonight.  :)  Just the target has to be said feet away, camera and computer can be close and tethered. sorry
:)
Well, if you win I expect a share of $1.00 from that lottery for my hard work...

Pieces Of E

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 139
  • Canon owners and operators
    • View Profile
    • Pieces Of E, LLC
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #27 on: November 28, 2012, 11:10:28 AM »
I won't forget ya. Imagine the freedom to buy all the camera gear you want and having the free time to shoot the world. Damn.  8)
EOS 7D, BG-E7, EF 300L IS f4, EF 100L IS f2.8 macro, EF 24-105L IS f4 , EF 1.4 extender MKIII, EF-S 10-22 f3.5-5.6, 70-200L IS f2.8 II, EOS-M, 22 f2 STM, EF-S 18-135 IS STM, EF 85 f1.8

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #27 on: November 28, 2012, 11:10:28 AM »

East Wind Photography

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 714
  • EWP
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #28 on: November 28, 2012, 12:34:17 PM »
I just picked up an Induro 414 so that might help with the stability issues.  My existing tripod is way undersized for a 600 and my Vblock setup for smaller tests wont accomodate the 600.  Obviously the higher the focal length the more susceptible the tests are to vibration and angular motion.  I was seeing significant vibration during shots even when using mirror lockup or quite mode.  I also need to make sure the shutter speed is as high as I can get it.

Have you tried running tests at higher ISO or should we stick with using 100 for all tests?  I can see with the 2XIII the tests will require a couple of suns worth of light.

I test all lenses at both 25x and 50x the focal length, and I use the standard FoCal target.  So, for a 600mm lens that's 49 ft (15 m) and 98 ft (30 m).  Since I'm using a multiple of the focal length, the target size in the image is the same with any lens (e.g. 24mm at 3.9' is the same FoV as 600mm at 98'). 

I suspect your problem is either having too much vibration and/or not having enough light.  How stable is your setup and what was the EV reported for the test?

When I first started using FoCal, I ran tests on the main floor of my house (hardwood floors), and I had several failed tests.  I moved the setup to the basement (concrete slab) and had none.  Also, I use lots of light - I point three 150 W-equivalent gooseneck lamps at the target from a distance of 12-14", and my reported EVs are in the 11-12 range when I test indoors.  For my 600/4 II, I ran the test outdoors in direct sunlight, and still had the 3 150 W-equivalent lamps pointed at the target, so my EVs were in the 15-16 range.  That gave me shutter speeds of 1/1250 s with the f/5.6 combo with the 1.4xIII.  I still haven't done the 600 II with the 2xIII testing - I need to find a vacant football field for that...

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14787
    • View Profile
Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2012, 12:49:42 PM »
I just picked up an Induro 414 so that might help with the stability issues...

Have you tried running tests at higher ISO or should we stick with using 100 for all tests?  I can see with the 2XIII the tests will require a couple of suns worth of light.

I've got a rock-solid tripod and gimbal head.

I've shot some at ISO 200, it works fine.  But I did my outdoor testing in direct sunlight and added 450 W-equivalent of halogen lighting, so even at f/5.6 my EVs were in the ~15 range.  That was giving me a shutter speed of 1/1250 s at 840mm with the 1.4xIII.  I haven't done the 2xIII yet, but assuming I have 15 EV of light for that, I'd probably use ISO 200 to keep the shutter above 1/1000 s.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 600mm F/4L IS AFMA settings
« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2012, 12:49:42 PM »