April 18, 2014, 06:56:49 AM

Author Topic: timelapse. how they do this  (Read 4760 times)

rpt

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 2092
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2012, 08:30:07 PM »
Try using StarStax... software just for this.   

http://www.markus-enzweiler.de/software/software.html

That is interesting! Thank you.

I need to adjust the setting for enfuse, but this is what I have so far.  It blends the images, ramping up to whatever the max is ($FILESPAN) then ramps back down at the end.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

FILESPAN=30
NUMBEROFFILES=`ls img_*.jpg | wc -l`
LOOPCOUNT=$(($FILESPAN+$NUMBEROFFILES-1))
for i in $(eval echo {1..$LOOPCOUNT})
do

CUTSTART=$(($i-30))
if [ $CUTSTART -le 1 ]; then CUTSTART=1;fi
CUTEND=$i
if [ $CUTEND -ge $NUMBEROFFILES ]; then CUTEND=$NUMBEROFFILES;fi

enfuse --output=eimg_$i.jpg `ls img_*.jpg | cut -d'
' -f$CUTSTART-$CUTEND`

done

I'll post something more final, which will also resize and make the movie later tonight.

Cool! Thanks.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2012, 08:30:07 PM »

bvukich

  • Spam Assassin
  • Administrator
  • 5D Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 724
    • View Profile
    • My (sparse) ZenFolio Site
Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2012, 09:33:25 PM »
Here's my final script.  Takes you from a directory full of images, to a movie.  I've got it running on 139 images right now, but it will take at least another hour to process (it kills a quad core 2.4Ghz 8GB).  It's just an image set I still had laying around from 2009, and not the greatest, taken on my trusty old XSi.  I'll throw the video on Youtube when it's done and post a link.

For the resizing and video portion of the script, this may be useful: http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=2838.msg59581

If you want help modifying the rest of the script just ask.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

FILESPAN=30
NUMBEROFFILES=`ls img_*.jpg | wc -l`
LOOPCOUNT=$(($FILESPAN+$NUMBEROFFILES-1))

for FILE in img_*.jpg ; do convert $FILE -background black -gravity south -extent 4272x2403 -resize 1920x1080 RE$FILE ; done

for i in $(eval echo {1..$LOOPCOUNT})
do

CUTSTART=$(($i-30))
if [ $CUTSTART -le 1 ]; then CUTSTART=1;fi
CUTEND=$i
if [ $CUTEND -ge $NUMBEROFFILES ]; then CUTEND=$NUMBEROFFILES;fi

enfuse --hard-mask --exposure-weight=0 --saturation-weight=0 --contrast-weight=1 --output=EFimg_`printf "%04d" $i`.jpg `ls REimg_*.jpg | cut -d'
' -f$CUTSTART-$CUTEND`

done

mencoder "mf://EFimg_*.jpg" -mf fps=10 -o TLapse.avi -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mjpeg
« Last Edit: December 03, 2012, 11:00:17 PM by bvukich »

bvukich

  • Spam Assassin
  • Administrator
  • 5D Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 724
    • View Profile
    • My (sparse) ZenFolio Site
Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2012, 12:14:33 AM »
Still processing, but here ya go:

TLapse Small | Large


Quite boring though, if the weather were cooperative this time of year I'd have taken a new series.

bvukich

  • Spam Assassin
  • Administrator
  • 5D Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 724
    • View Profile
    • My (sparse) ZenFolio Site
Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2012, 11:26:42 PM »
Some tweaks (and fixed a mistake).  I have this running on the same series right now, but the increased resolution (4k) and number of files mean it'll probably run all night.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

FILESPAN=60
NUMBEROFFILES=`ls img_*.jpg | wc -l`
LOOPCOUNT=$(($FILESPAN+$NUMBEROFFILES-1))

for FILE in img_*.jpg ; do convert $FILE -background black -gravity south -extent 4272x2403 -resize 4096x2304 RE$FILE ; done

for i in $(eval echo {1..$LOOPCOUNT})
do

CUTSTART=$(($i-$FILESPAN))
if [ $CUTSTART -le 1 ]; then CUTSTART=1;fi
CUTEND=$i
if [ $CUTEND -ge $NUMBEROFFILES ]; then CUTEND=$NUMBEROFFILES;fi

enfuse --hard-mask --exposure-weight=0 --saturation-weight=0 --contrast-weight=1 --output=EFimg_`printf "%04d" $i`.jpg `ls REimg_*.jpg | cut -d'
' -f$CUTSTART-$CUTEND`

done

mencoder "mf://EFimg_*.jpg" -mf fps=30 -o TLapse.avi -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mjpeg
« Last Edit: December 04, 2012, 11:29:34 PM by bvukich »

rambarra

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2012, 08:56:16 AM »
nicely done. thanks


emag

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2012, 09:47:14 AM »
A way for Windows users to maybe do it with, f'rinstance, Lightroom....

Say we're using 130 total images, each one a 1-5 minute exposure.

Stack images 1-5 and process.  Unstack those, stack 2-6 and process.  Unstack those, stack 3-7 and process.  Rinse and repeat to the end.

Run the processed frames through a video editor.

Would be nice to automate this tedious process, though.  There's probably some Windows compatible software out there that can be adapted.

emag

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
On second thought....
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2012, 01:16:47 PM »
.....this could do the trick

http://startrails.de/html/software.html

canon rumors FORUM

On second thought....
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2012, 01:16:47 PM »

bvukich

  • Spam Assassin
  • Administrator
  • 5D Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 724
    • View Profile
    • My (sparse) ZenFolio Site
Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #22 on: December 05, 2012, 08:43:53 PM »
Final version.  Rolling set of 60, and in 4k resolution for more stary goodness...
TLapse Small | Large

canon rumors FORUM

Re: timelapse. how they do this
« Reply #22 on: December 05, 2012, 08:43:53 PM »