April 20, 2014, 06:54:29 AM

Author Topic: How to AFMA precisely without Lenscal?  (Read 2746 times)

amazin

• PowerShot G16
    • View Profile
How to AFMA precisely without Lenscal?
« on: December 08, 2012, 04:54:20 AM »
Hi,

i'm a new owner of both Canon EOS 5d Mark III & Canon Ef 24-70mm 2.8L II.

I've never done AFMA before. Is there any simple yet very precise way to do it without having to invest in things like Lenscal?

Would a Canon repair center do it (and at what cost since both items are under warranty)?

Thanks anyone for your advices.

canon rumors FORUM

How to AFMA precisely without Lenscal?
« on: December 08, 2012, 04:54:20 AM »

serendipidy

• 1D X
    • View Profile
Re: How to AFMA precisely without Lenscal?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2012, 05:51:42 AM »
I was in the same boat with my 7D (which was almost 2 years old) and my 100-400mmL lens (which I had owned for about 8 months). As a noob hobbyist, I didn't know how to do AFMA. After reading about bad copies, etc., I got concerned and called the Canon service center in Honolulu. I told them I thought it was missing focus and wasn't sharp. They said bring both in and they would send them to Los Angeles for calibration and also would throw in a free complimentary camera cleaning (even though the camera wasn't under warranty). I didn't even have to pay for mailing. Got it back in about a week or so. They said they fixed the AF. I was really impressed with their service! Give them a call and see what they can do for you.

Also, if you want to try AFMA yourself, a lot of smart photogs on this site seem to highly recommend a AFMA software program called Reikan FoCal Pro. They are in the UK. Here is their website if you want to check them out.
http://www.reikan.co.uk/focalweb/

Have you shot many photos with your new camera and lens? If the results look OK to you, you may not even need to do AFMA. IMHO, you have 2 top of the line purchases. I am saving for a 5DIII.