September 19, 2014, 04:01:22 PM

Author Topic: 5d3 and FoCal errors  (Read 6366 times)

sturdiva

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
5d3 and FoCal errors
« on: January 03, 2013, 01:58:49 PM »
Apologies if this is the wrong place to post this, but I recently purchased the FoCal software to help with autofocus adjustments and am running into an error (and not getting any responses trying to use their support). I'm hoping someone else on this forum has run into a similar problem and might have a solution (or ideas to try).

When running the MSC test the program is giving me the following error:

    `A failure occured trying to focus. The reported error is: DoPhaseDetectAF: Action timeout'

Exposure on the target is ~1/25 f/2.8 iso 100 and when depressing the shutter button the camera is able to acquire focus quickly without problem.

Sometimes right, Sometimes wrong, but always certain.

canon rumors FORUM

5d3 and FoCal errors
« on: January 03, 2013, 01:58:49 PM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14411
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 02:35:14 PM »
Exposure on the target is ~1/25 f/2.8 iso 100

What lens?  1/25 s sounds like you need more light...
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

fegari

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
    • My 500px
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 02:37:34 PM »
I'm myself quite interested in this post. Have the SAME error with my 5D3 and the only answer I got is pasted below despite having purchased the top version of the software. Haven't got any further feedback after explaining I had already paid attention to those requirements.

Then I stopped trying because on one hand whenever I did I'd loose the camera's AF capability(!) and had to reset to factory values. On the other hand because I had to re-arrange half of my flat (yes, a small one :() to do each test setup... By the way, in my case was with the Canon 70-200 IS F4, the only AF lens I had at the time. Maybe this weekend I'll get the necessary motivation to try again...

Anyway, if it helps you this is what I got a few weeks ago until the emails stopped:

This message means the camera is being asked to focus and after a certain amount of time has not reported that it has achieved focus.  This could be due to a few things:

- not using the correct focus point (you can check this with the Target Setup utility),
- poor flickering lighting (e.g. mains LED or fluorescent lighting),
- unstable camera support (even solid tripods can wobble a little with longer telephoto lenses, but you shouldn't really have an issue at 200mm),
- lens focus issues

The best way to check is to disconnect the camera from the computer while not running any FoCal test, and try to manually focus on the target and see if the camera succeeds.  If there is an issue, you can move the camera a little closer to the target, or slightly shift the focus position a little.

With a 200mm lens you can run the test at anything over around 5m (this document explains testing distance in a little more detail: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11469157/FoCal/Docs/FoCal%20Test%20Distance_1.0.pdf  It may be worth trying close to 5m rather than at 10m.

Strangely, this lens has also caused some problems in the Reikan lab with regards to focusing, but we have a copy with a known focus drive issue which needs to be repaired.


sturdiva

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 03:30:46 PM »
Exposure on the target is ~1/25 f/2.8 iso 100

What lens?  1/25 s sounds like you need more light...

Tried with both the 50 1.8 and the 24-70 2.8

I'll try it again when I get home with more light, see if that makes a difference.
Sometimes right, Sometimes wrong, but always certain.

Invertalon

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2013, 03:47:39 PM »
Disable under the "Test" tab in settings, the focus peak determination. Make sure it is on "None".

Focus peak causes the program to crash every time.



I am getting kind of tired with FoCal to be honest... It never is accurate for me, regardless of what it tells me... My Canon 85 1.8 I bought, it told me +8 seriously, four or five times are various distances. Was "Excellent" fit and EV of +10... Tripod sturdy, measured and squared up and all that.

Real world shooting? Flat out sucked. Considerable backfocus.

Now I just got my Sigma 35 yesterday.... Do the calibration again, multiple times... +9 or +10 each and every time, near MFD, 25x FL, 50x FL and beyond. Always the same. The images look great on the program, so it should be right... No way. Again, considerable back focus in real-world shooting. Set it back to 0 and much improved. Looks like it only needs 0-5 somewhere, so I put it at +3 until I take enough shooting to pick a direction (or none).

Again, with a 70-200 II as well... Right after it came back from calibration from Canon along with my 5D3, it tells me +4T and +8W or something. Well guess what....  Backfocusing. Put back to 0 and everything looked better.


Not sure why this program is acting the way it does for me... But I can't even trust it anymore. I may seriously go back to lens align, at least I was able to do my lenses accurately each and every time. Not sure what is up with it now. Back when I had the 5D2 and the program just came out it worked fantastic. Once they start adding all these features, the new targets, etc... Went downhill fast for me and how well it works.

sturdiva

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2013, 04:44:17 PM »
Just tried again with about as much light as I can get on the target (1/125, f/2.8, iso 100). Same error. I don't think it's a focusing issue, as it doesn't even appear to try to focus (the distance scale on the lens doesn't change at all during the process).
Sometimes right, Sometimes wrong, but always certain.

bigmag13

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2013, 05:07:38 PM »
I had the same problems with my purchase of FoCal. those guys across the pond were the worst with tech response. I just flat out asked for a refund of my money and received it!
5D3,5D2,6D,70-200 2.8Lii, 135L, 24-70Lii, Sigma 15 fisheye, Sigma 35 1.4(A), Zeiss 2/50, 600rt x3 and a st-e3 RT

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2013, 05:07:38 PM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14411
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2013, 05:12:43 PM »
I had the same problems with my purchase of FoCal. those guys across the pond were the worst with tech response. I just flat out asked for a refund of my money and received it!

That's unfortunate. Sounds like they may have grown popular to fast for them to handle.  I was an early user, when I had issues, I had ongoing email exchanges (very fast replies) with Rich, the founder/developer.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Invertalon

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2013, 05:22:56 PM »
Agree'd... Too much too fast. I guess it went from a hobby/interest to all about $$$... Sadly.

Even though they support a ton of cameras now, endless features and "tests", I find the reliability and accuracy have tanked. I have been a user since the beta days with the 5D2 only, and it was VERY accurate. Never had a single problem and saw great results using it. Now, it tends to make my lenses worse. 

Oh well... I am thinking about going back to lens align, honestly. That is how bad the AF calibration feature has gotten for me. Wildly inaccurate regardless of anything I do. And I am testing the best I can seriously do...

I measure center of target and make sure my lens is at exact height... Level tripod, level camera (using in camera level)... Making sure I am square with target. Using (2) 500W halogen lights as recommended. Printed on matte photo paper using a high quality $500 Canon printer... Running the test near MFD, 25x FL, 50x FL and even more... EV is always +10 or more. Tried outdoor shade lighting as well with no artificial lighting...  I don't know what else I could possibly do to get better results. Yet, the MA values it gives me with "excellent" fit continue to just suck. When I first used this program, I would always get great results. Now, I don't trust it at all. Especially fast primes.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14411
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2013, 05:51:43 PM »
I did all of my 1D X calibrations with FoCal, the results were quite good (benchmarked against LensAlign for a couple of lenses, the 24-105L and 85L II, IIRC), and hold up with real world shooting.  But...I did the image capture myself, since there was no 1D X support at that point, and then when there was (when I was calibrating my new 600 II), I tried the Mac beta version for the first time, it didn't work (bug since fixed), so I shot that manually too. I used FoCal's manual mode.  To be honest, the fit calls by FoCal ranged from good down to poor, I suppose because I oversampled (83 shots per test), but visually, it was obvious from the curve what was the correct AFMA. I did have to eliminate a few obvious outliers (camera shake, presumably, from bumping the tripod). 

Given that there's no full auto for the 1D X, it's easier just to shoot the test shots manually (takes me ~10 minutes for the 83 shots, so testing a zoom lens at 4 focal lengths and 2 distances takes less than 1.5 hrs).  I have done some of the other tests tethered (multipoint focus, for example).
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

sturdiva

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2013, 06:18:07 PM »
I did all of my 1D X calibrations with FoCal, the results were quite good (benchmarked against LensAlign for a couple of lenses, the 24-105L and 85L II, IIRC), and hold up with real world shooting.  But...I did the image capture myself, since there was no 1D X support at that point, and then when there was (when I was calibrating my new 600 II), I tried the Mac beta version for the first time, it didn't work (bug since fixed), so I shot that manually too. I used FoCal's manual mode.  To be honest, the fit calls by FoCal ranged from good down to poor, I suppose because I oversampled (83 shots per test), but visually, it was obvious from the curve what was the correct AFMA. I did have to eliminate a few obvious outliers (camera shake, presumably, from bumping the tripod). 

Given that there's no full auto for the 1D X, it's easier just to shoot the test shots manually (takes me ~10 minutes for the 83 shots, so testing a zoom lens at 4 focal lengths and 2 distances takes less than 1.5 hrs).  I have done some of the other tests tethered (multipoint focus, for example).

How do you do the tests manually? Des this require one of the more advanced versions?
Sometimes right, Sometimes wrong, but always certain.

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8670
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2013, 06:36:36 PM »
I recall reading of issues with quick cal in ver 1.7, turn it off until a fix is out.  There is a beta version, if you have pro that is making some changes.  I haven't tried it with my 5D MK III.  They are trying to get the beta version released, but there is lots of testing to be done, even then, some bugs will be found.
 

e-d0uble

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2013, 07:00:05 PM »
I'm not terribly pleased with this software either.  As much as I hate to contribute to a gripe thread, I will.  Each time I try to AFMA my 50mm f/1.2 with focal, the software crashes.  With all of my other lenses the software works just fine, but who knows if they're properly calibrated as I've had wildly varying results with the same lenses.  I submitted a ticket long ago regarding the issue with the 50mm and received no response.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2013, 07:00:05 PM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14411
    • View Profile
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2013, 07:07:12 PM »
How do you do the tests manually? Des this require one of the more advanced versions?

Possibly - I have the Pro version. 
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

scottkinfw

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 758
    • View Profile
    • kasden.smug.com
Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2013, 08:38:06 PM »
I too have had bad results with 5d3- front and back focus, with lots of crappy lost shots.

Thanks for posting.

sek

Disable under the "Test" tab in settings, the focus peak determination. Make sure it is on "None".

Focus peak causes the program to crash every time.



I am getting kind of tired with FoCal to be honest... It never is accurate for me, regardless of what it tells me... My Canon 85 1.8 I bought, it told me +8 seriously, four or five times are various distances. Was "Excellent" fit and EV of +10... Tripod sturdy, measured and squared up and all that.

Real world shooting? Flat out sucked. Considerable backfocus.

Now I just got my Sigma 35 yesterday.... Do the calibration again, multiple times... +9 or +10 each and every time, near MFD, 25x FL, 50x FL and beyond. Always the same. The images look great on the program, so it should be right... No way. Again, considerable back focus in real-world shooting. Set it back to 0 and much improved. Looks like it only needs 0-5 somewhere, so I put it at +3 until I take enough shooting to pick a direction (or none).

Again, with a 70-200 II as well... Right after it came back from calibration from Canon along with my 5D3, it tells me +4T and +8W or something. Well guess what....  Backfocusing. Put back to 0 and everything looked better.


Not sure why this program is acting the way it does for me... But I can't even trust it anymore. I may seriously go back to lens align, at least I was able to do my lenses accurately each and every time. Not sure what is up with it now. Back when I had the 5D2 and the program just came out it worked fantastic. Once they start adding all these features, the new targets, etc... Went downhill fast for me and how well it works.
sek Cameras: 5D III, 5D II, EOS M  Lenses:  24-70 2.8 II IS, 24-105 f4L, 70-200 f4L IS, 70-200 f2.8L IS II, EF 300 f4L IS, EF 400 5.6L, 300 2.8 IS II, Samyang 14 mm 2.8 Flashes: 580 EX II600EX-RT X 2, ST-E3-RT
Plus lots of stuff that just didn't work for me

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d3 and FoCal errors
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2013, 08:38:06 PM »