September 01, 2014, 04:11:05 AM

Author Topic: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky  (Read 3659 times)

hhelmbold

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« on: January 07, 2013, 03:53:42 PM »
I have taken a series of HDR shots today using my 1D X and 24-105L lens. I have also used a tripod and the camera is set to auto bracketing (5 exposures). In just about every series of shots the very first picture has camera shake and the other 4 exposures are sharp. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem before and if it is possibly the Image Stabalizing motor causing the shake? What is strange is that it is for instance a 3 sec exposure that is shaky but the longer exposures are perfect... This is very confusing!

canon rumors FORUM

Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« on: January 07, 2013, 03:53:42 PM »

nightbreath

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 456
    • View Profile
    • Свадебный фотограф в Днепропетровске
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 05:37:06 PM »
Do you press shutter release button for the first picture to be taken?
Wedding photography. My personal website: http://luxuryphoto.com.ua

brett b

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2013, 05:47:17 PM »
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.

sanj

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1466
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2013, 05:50:54 AM »
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.

Do explain because that is how I take my pictures and want to learn a better way. Thx.

hhelmbold

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2013, 06:20:21 AM »
Do you press shutter release button for the first picture to be taken?

Uhhh.... Isn't the shutter release button supposed to be pressed?  ;D Sorry I know what you mean and I am not using a cable release, but I press the button exactly the same way with all 5 exposures and it is always only the first exposure that shows camera shake. I will experiment a bit more but I do recall I had some issues with sharpness before using the camera on a tripod with IS switched on.

paolotaverna

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2013, 06:35:28 AM »


So indeed,

1- Do not use the IS when on tripod
2- Use shutter release with a delay (2 seconds or 10 seconds )

let us know how it goes
have a good one.

eddiemrg

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2013, 07:49:52 AM »
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.

Do explain because that is how I take my pictures and want to learn a better way. Thx.

these are basics! .......1DX user..............................................
Canon 7D - 50 f/1.8 - 70-200 L f/4 IS USM - Canon 15-85

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2013, 07:49:52 AM »

hhelmbold

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2013, 10:50:20 AM »
How are you triggering the shutter? If you're simply pressing the shutter button, it's likely you are causing the movement.

Do explain because that is how I take my pictures and want to learn a better way. Thx.

these are basics! .......1DX user..............................................

Thank you for your EXTREMELY valuable input! I thought basics mean that you read a question PROPERLY before answering it

hhelmbold

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2013, 10:54:01 AM »


So indeed,

1- Do not use the IS when on tripod
2- Use shutter release with a delay (2 seconds or 10 seconds )

let us know how it goes
have a good one.

It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

It also looks like it is happening more in the f18-f22 range and when the camera is slightly tilted upwards. Looks like the Image Stabalizer kicks in for a second to see if it should stabalise and the vibrations causes the camera shake.

Thanks for the input

Raddy

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2013, 11:09:28 AM »
It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

Ehm, no offense... But again some basics....  ;)
5D Mark III (gripped) | 60D (gripped)
EF 50mm f/1.4 USM | EF 100 f/2.8L IS Macro
EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM | EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM | Speedlite 430EX | Speedlite 600EX-RT

hhelmbold

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2013, 11:22:47 AM »
It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

Ehm, no offense... But again some basics....  ;)

It's the basics that gets overlooked the most ;)

sandymandy

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2013, 01:04:58 PM »
by people with too much money perhaps.

sanj

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1466
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2013, 01:11:18 PM »
It is indeed the Image Stabalizing! I tested some more images today and when the image stabalising is switched off, the first frame is fine, but when it is on, I get camera shake... I know this sounds like exactly the opposite of what should be working, but it seems the IS doesn't like it when the lens is beign held still by a tripod  ;D

Ehm, no offense... But again some basics....  ;)

I am not so sure if it is THAT basic!

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2013, 01:11:18 PM »

Cptn Rigo

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
    • rodrigomarta.com
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2013, 02:25:06 PM »
Pfffff... a lot of useless posts, Nobody knows everything, ok??  ::)

Some tips for hdr or tripod shooting:

- Almost all the lenses induces movement when used on tripod, as a rule of thumb, when you use the tripod, switch the IS Off

- Use a remote shutter, cable or wireless

- If you don't have a remote shutter, use a 2 sec delay shutter

- Its useful to use mirror lockup to eliminate the mirror shaking when taking the picture

Good luck
5D MkIII + 35L, 85L, 135L, 70-300L, 24-70L II

verysimplejason

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1339
    • View Profile
    • My Flickr Account
Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2013, 02:57:10 AM »
For my humble TI1, I use mirror lockup + tripod + remote shutter or 2s timer shutter release to make everything as stable as possible when doing long shutter photography.  I also use my heavier tripod for this.  I don't know if I can teach you much because I'm just a rebel user.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon 1D X - HDR First frame always shaky
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2013, 02:57:10 AM »