August 02, 2014, 04:19:12 AM

Author Topic: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing  (Read 6689 times)

Frage

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« on: January 13, 2013, 10:52:22 AM »
Hello,

I would like to know your thoughts on this topic.
How difficult could be to work with a 6D and a fast lens if you have to recompose (focal plane distance changes) and want to achieve a shallow DOF ?

canon rumors FORUM

6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« on: January 13, 2013, 10:52:22 AM »

robbymack

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 410
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 10:58:04 AM »
No more difficult than any other camera using the same technique.


Frage

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2013, 11:16:31 AM »

nightbreath

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 456
    • View Profile
    • Свадебный фотограф в Днепропетровске
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2013, 11:25:33 AM »
There are 3 options I know to avoid focus error while recomposing:
1. Focusing on a subject that is located at the same distance as your subject.
2. Moving yourself forward / backward after recomposing to compensate focus shift.
3. Using AF microadjustment (this one is tricky).
;)
Wedding photography. My personal website: http://luxuryphoto.com.ua

Frage

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2013, 11:27:22 AM »
No more difficult than any other camera using the same technique.
I am not sure about it. Maybe with some cameras you can lock the focus and let the AF system track this spot for you while you recompose. But as I said, I am not sure about it.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13626
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2013, 11:35:38 AM »
I am not sure about it. Maybe with some cameras you can lock the focus and let the AF system track this spot for you while you recompose. But as I said, I am not sure about it.

Yes, I suppose you could use AI Servi to 'track' to an outer AF point.  But that's not focus-recompose, and if you're going to do that, why not just select the outer AF point directly?
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2013, 11:35:38 AM »

Frage

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2013, 11:51:43 AM »
I am not sure about it. Maybe with some cameras you can lock the focus and let the AF system track this spot for you while you recompose. But as I said, I am not sure about it.

Yes, I suppose you could use AI Servi to 'track' to an outer AF point.  But that's not focus-recompose, and if you're going to do that, why not just select the outer AF point directly?

Sorry, my english ist quite poor. Maybe I don´t want to say "focus-recompose" but just recomposition. Sometimes you want to recompose to lock the focus and the measured light.
Well, sometimes you just have not the time to do that in single steps. You just may not get the shot.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13626
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2013, 12:10:29 PM »
You can lock exposure separately from focus.  The bottom line is that if you lock focus then move the camera when shooting with a very thin DoF, you'll get backfocus. 
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Frage

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2013, 12:26:56 PM »
I see... I just foud out what you can not do with the 6D. I was just interested in this cam, but I think not anymore.

robbymack

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 410
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2013, 12:36:16 PM »
I see... I just foud out what you can not do with the 6D. I was just interested in this cam, but I think not anymore.

I wouldn't call it a deal breaker just something you have to be mindful of. It also something that can't be overcome with good technique or simply realizing the limitations of what you and cant do. Is it fool proof?  No, but then again nothing really is.

Frage

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2013, 12:56:46 PM »
I see... I just foud out what you can not do with the 6D. I was just interested in this cam, but I think not anymore.

I wouldn't call it a deal breaker just something you have to be mindful of. It also something that can't be overcome with good technique or simply realizing the limitations of what you and cant do. Is it fool proof?  No, but then again nothing really is.

Well by the nowdays tech a decent 3d tracking is something that I personally would expect in a ~2000 € body.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13626
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2013, 01:18:42 PM »
The 6D has AI Servo tracking - but when you use the word 'recompose' that implies you're not using it.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2013, 01:18:42 PM »

nightbreath

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 456
    • View Profile
    • Свадебный фотограф в Днепропетровске
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2013, 01:22:25 PM »
There's also Live View focusing that might work for you ;)
Wedding photography. My personal website: http://luxuryphoto.com.ua

robbymack

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 410
    • View Profile
Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2013, 01:44:56 PM »
I see... I just foud out what you can not do with the 6D. I was just interested in this cam, but I think not anymore.

I wouldn't call it a deal breaker just something you have to be mindful of. It also something that can't be overcome with good technique or simply realizing the limitations of what you and cant do. Is it fool proof?  No, but then again nothing really is.

Well by the nowdays tech a decent 3d tracking is something that I personally would expect in a ~2000 € body.

I don't think we are talking about the same thing.  Focus and recompose to me (and to pretty much everyone) means you lock focus on the subject then recompose the frame (by moving the camera) then click the shutter.  This does shift the focal plane and if you are using a razor thin dof you'll end up with some back focus most likely. 3d tracking?  I have no idea what you are talking about unless you are simply talking about servo mode in which case I don't think you'll be using focus/recompose. What exactly do you want the camera to be able to do for you?

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 6D AF and Focal Plane issues by recomposing
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2013, 01:44:56 PM »