September 01, 2014, 04:44:30 AM

Author Topic: Problem with the Canonrumors Website  (Read 4917 times)

RendrLab

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« on: January 16, 2013, 05:17:50 PM »
Any time I attempt to close the Canonrumors website while it is loading still, I get bombarded with 20+ new windows of the Canonrumors website loading. I have attempted to replicate this problem on a number of websites, and so far Canonrumors is the only site that does it.
I have no virus or spyware on my PC, so that is not the problem. Also, it only happens on my work PC currently (windows 7 x64). I have Windows 8 on my home office PC and never had this occur on it.
Whatever the case may be, it is very annoying, especially if I am not fast with the mouse-click to close all the Windows that open as they will continue to replicate. Any ideas anyone?

canon rumors FORUM

Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« on: January 16, 2013, 05:17:50 PM »

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4416
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2013, 05:37:45 PM »
I have no virus or spyware on my PC, so that is not the problem.

How would you know :-> ... anyway, never came across that problem myself and you're giving too few pieces of information (browser type, version, installed addons and so on)

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8476
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2013, 05:46:09 PM »
I have seen that happen with other web sites, (not CR).   It ruened out to be a problem with other software I had just installed.  I removed the software and the problem went away.

BrettS

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2013, 06:16:58 PM »
Windows 7 x64, IE 9.0.8112.16421 no such problem (ever).

Drizzt321

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1668
    • View Profile
    • Aaron Baff Photography
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2013, 06:45:20 PM »
Never happens to me. Latest stable Firefox on both OS X and Win7 64-bit.
5D mark 2, 5D mark 3, EF 17-40mm f/4L,  EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 135mm f/2L, EF 85mm f/1.8
Film Cameras: Mamiya RB67, RB-50, RB-180-C, RB-90-C, RB-50, Perkeo I folder, Mamiya Six Folder (Pre-WWII model)
http://www.aaronbaff.com

insanitybeard

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2013, 04:06:18 AM »
I can confirm the same issue on occasion, which has occurred when I have gone to close the browser window whilst the CR page is displaying- basically a new tab opens and multiple tabs then load with the CR homepage! Like the OP says, you have to be quick to close them all before getting swamped. It's happenned a few times. My (work) PC is running windows Vista and the browser is just the bog standard internet explorer.
7D / EF-S 10-22 / 17-40L / 70-200 f4L IS / EF-S 60 macro

albron00

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2013, 05:05:35 AM »
Never had those kind of issues...

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2013, 05:05:35 AM »

MarcPool

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2013, 07:41:03 AM »
Doesn't happen on my W7x64 in IE9, Chrome, Safari and Firefox. Are you running plugins in your browser or one of those eccelerators?

RC

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2013, 08:12:20 AM »
What browser are you using?  Try using a different browser.   

dstppy

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 895
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2013, 08:23:25 AM »
The JS rendering engine is the most proprietary and slowest of all of the browsers.  I work with automation software and it is, by far, the most particular and problematic (over anything built on WebKit like Chrome and Safari or Firefox).

"The box said requires windows xp or better, so I installed Linux"

Aside from malware (again, what did you do to determine you have none), genearlly this is something breaking JavaScript, or rather, rendering it incorrectly (unpactched IE or 3rd party software [like ad blockers, antivirus etc])

Google search comes ahead with things like internet explorer opens many tabs -- most of the responses say 'malware'
Canon Rumors is presently creating photographer shortages in Middle Earth (all the trolls emigrated here)

J.R.

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1469
  • A Speedlight Junkie!
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2013, 08:37:01 AM »
I have no virus or spyware on my PC, so that is not the problem.

How would you know :-> ... anyway, never came across that problem myself and you're giving too few pieces of information (browser type, version, installed addons and so on)

+1.

Personally, I've have never experienced this. This has to be a user specific issue given the comments above.
Light is language!

shutterwideshut

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • IR and Long Exposure junkie
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2013, 08:53:30 AM »
I have no virus or spyware on my PC, so that is not the problem.

Seems you're not having any virus in your PC but worm instead...  :o
My Flickr
5D3 ı 7D ı 50D(IR) ı 20D(IR) ı TS-E24 f/3.5L II ı 17-40 f/4L ı 24-70 f/2.8L II ı 70-200 f/4L IS ı 100 f/2.8L  Macro IS ı 40 f/2.8 ı 50 f/1.4 ı 85 f/1.8 ı 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 ı Lensbaby Composer Pro ı Rokinon 8mm ı 600EX-RT/ST-E3-RT

Drizzt321

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1668
    • View Profile
    • Aaron Baff Photography
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2013, 11:16:00 AM »
The JS rendering engine is the most proprietary and slowest of all of the browsers.  I work with automation software and it is, by far, the most particular and problematic (over anything built on WebKit like Chrome and Safari or Firefox).

"The box said requires windows xp or better, so I installed Linux"

Aside from malware (again, what did you do to determine you have none), genearlly this is something breaking JavaScript, or rather, rendering it incorrectly (unpactched IE or 3rd party software [like ad blockers, antivirus etc])

Google search comes ahead with things like internet explorer opens many tabs -- most of the responses say 'malware'

Erm...you do know that Firefox is built on the Gecko rendering with it's own JS engine, currently called IonMonkey in FF18. Chrome has Google's V8 JS engine, and Safari has the Nitro JS engine.

And proprietary is a relative term. Especially with Google's V8 engine, which is at the core of NodeJS. That and all of the Mozilla engines are F/OSS and can be re-used, modified, updated, etc with various minimal restrictions elsewhere, or even if your own browser. Hardly proprietary.

I'll grant you that Javascript is a pain in the a** in a lot of circumstances, especially with it comes to edge cases and browser compatibility. I will say that IE6-8 are the worst of the lot, with IE9 and IE10 (haven't worked with either, but read quite a bit) are significantly better at adhering to standards and fixing bugs.
5D mark 2, 5D mark 3, EF 17-40mm f/4L,  EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 135mm f/2L, EF 85mm f/1.8
Film Cameras: Mamiya RB67, RB-50, RB-180-C, RB-90-C, RB-50, Perkeo I folder, Mamiya Six Folder (Pre-WWII model)
http://www.aaronbaff.com

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2013, 11:16:00 AM »

RendrLab

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2013, 12:11:17 PM »
No, there is no Spyware, Virus or Worm and I do know that for a fact as I have more than enough experience with computer security to know the difference. If it was a Virus, Spyware, or Worm, I hardly think someone would care enough to only attack me on the Canonrumors website and only when I close the tab while it is loading.
Also, my work PC is basically 4 days old as all internal Hard Drives/SSDs were just replaced and the PC was not on the LAN or the internet until 30 minutes before I originally posted this problem. The only software that was installed after the OS installation was a few apps from the Creative Suite Master Collection, MS Office, and antivirus/security software.
I was able to replicate the problem with nothing installed other than the OS prior to the hard drive/SSD replacement. I am using IE9 for those that care and the only add-ons presently running are the PDF Converters for Acrobat.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14018
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2013, 12:13:02 PM »
Also, it only happens on my work PC currently (windows 7 x64).

Does not occur for me, tried with IE8 on a Win7 x64 laptop and a Win7 x64 virtual machine (VMWare) on a Mac.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Problem with the Canonrumors Website
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2013, 12:13:02 PM »