September 18, 2014, 12:07:05 PM

Author Topic: 5DIII memory cards  (Read 3569 times)

mfp

  • Guest
5DIII memory cards
« on: January 23, 2013, 08:59:58 PM »
Both cards are in the body.  I'm shooting to the CF card.  I turn off the camera extract the CF card and download to my computer.  I put the card back in the body, turn the camera back on and start shooting again.  I take out the CF card again after turning the camera off and download the pics but the card is empty.  The pics are now on the SD card.  What am I doing wrong?

canon rumors FORUM

5DIII memory cards
« on: January 23, 2013, 08:59:58 PM »

jp121

  • Canon AE-1
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 09:14:35 PM »
What are your settings under [Record func+card/folder sel] ?

See Guide book p116 "Recording Method with Two Cards Inserted"
5DM3 | 50 f/1.2L | 100 f/2.8L MACRO IS | 16-35 f/2.8L II | 24-105 f/4 IS | 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 70-300 f/4-5.6L IS | 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS

J.R.

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1478
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2013, 09:22:10 PM »
You are doing nothing wrong. The camera would have switched to SD card once the CF was taken out. You need to check change it manually.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 09:29:00 PM by J.R. »
5D3, 6D
16-35L, 24-70L II, 70-200L II, 100-400L, 50L, 85L II, 135L, 24TSE, 40, 100 macro, 600RT x 4
I have more photo gear than I need. The blame lies squarely with Canonrumors

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2178
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2013, 09:25:01 PM »
I never take the card out. I only shoot to the CF. The SD is in with the ML code. I never have images going over to the SD...

On my 300D I would take the card out. However I once bent a pin while putting it in. So ever since, the card would only come out when it is full and I need to shoot more. My default card on the 5D3 is 64GB and on the 300D is 2 GB so that has not happened so far...

TrumpetPower!

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 951
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2013, 09:56:47 PM »
If you have auto card switch enabled, it'll switch as soon as you close the door. So, either turn off auto switch or don't close the door until after you've already put the card back.

And, yes. It'll do the switch even if the camera is off when you take the card out, but only if you close the door with an empty slot.

b&

East Wind Photography

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 695
  • EWP
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2013, 10:43:14 PM »
I reported this bug to Canon when the 5DIII first came out.  Power off should be power off.  Anyway this was apparently fixed on the 1DX a short time later so might work it's way in with a firmware upgrade sometime in the near future.

Someone reported that if you leave the door open while you download the pics that it will stay on the CF when it's replaced.  I haven't tried it as I've just decided that I didn't want to wear out or risk damaging the CF pins by taking the card in and out so I just download via USB.  It's slower but gives me time to go mix up a drink before I sit down to post process.  It all works out.

Anyway this is a known issue and everyone should report it to Canon so they can get some support to fix it.  Rather annoying it is.

Here's the direct link to report an issue by email.  They do listen as I got a nice reply back from them.

http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/eos_slr_camera_systems/eos_digital_slr_cameras/eos_5d_mark_iii/form_display/support_by_kb_email

mfp

  • Guest
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2013, 10:55:42 PM »
Thanks to both TrumpetPower! and East Wind Photography for your replies.  I hade it set on Standard and am having the problem.  I just tried leaving the door open with the card removed then replaced the card and that seems to cure the problem.  It's irritating to have to do that so it's definitely a bug but at least I know how to avoid it in the future.  Thanks again to both of you for the advice!

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2013, 10:55:42 PM »

dslrdummy

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2013, 11:57:49 PM »
I never take the card out. I only shoot to the CF. The SD is in with the ML code. I never have images going over to the SD...

On my 300D I would take the card out. However I once bent a pin while putting it in. So ever since, the card would only come out when it is full and I need to shoot more. My default card on the 5D3 is 64GB and on the 300D is 2 GB so that has not happened so far...
Yeah, did it with my 5Dc. Bent the pin and it shorted and cost me three months and $350 to fix it. Won't be doing the same with the 5D3. Saving for a 64GB CF Extreme Pro so I never have to change the card.
5Diii, 24-105, 50 1.8ii, 70-200 2.8ii, 300 2.8ii, 1.4xiii, 2xiii, 580EXii, Sony RX100, Fuji X100s + WCL & TCL

Razor2012

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2013, 09:45:20 AM »
I never take the card out. I only shoot to the CF. The SD is in with the ML code. I never have images going over to the SD...

On my 300D I would take the card out. However I once bent a pin while putting it in. So ever since, the card would only come out when it is full and I need to shoot more. My default card on the 5D3 is 64GB and on the 300D is 2 GB so that has not happened so far...
Yeah, did it with my 5Dc. Bent the pin and it shorted and cost me three months and $350 to fix it. Won't be doing the same with the 5D3. Saving for a 64GB CF Extreme Pro so I never have to change the card.

The Sandisk 64GB Extreme Pro is an awesome card, luv it.  Really fast @90MB/s.
5D MKIII w grip, 70-200 2.8L IS II, 24-70 2.8L II, 16-35 2.8L II, 100 2.8L IS macro, 600EX-RT

acoll123

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 169
  • /
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2013, 10:46:47 AM »
I added "Record func+card/folder sel" to my favorites menu on my 5DIII and 1DIV so I can switch to CF card quickly and easily. Yes, the 1DIV does the same thing.

Andy

FatDaddyJones

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
  • Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum videtur
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2013, 10:50:01 AM »
I just bought a Lexar 800x 64Gb CF card from Adorama and put it in my 5D Mark III. I haven't taken it out. I've been transferring via USB, then formatting the card in camera before I shoot again.  Twice now, I've gotten corrupted files, and once a shot that I really wanted just disappeared as I was scrolling though the photos on the camera. This is the first Lexar CF I've ever bought. I've only shot with Sandisk up until now. I think I like Sandisk better.
5D Mark III, 7D, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4, EF 70-300mm IS USM, EF-S 17-55mm IS USM, Redrock shoulder rig, matte box & follow focus, Rode Videomic, Zoom R16, Sure PG42, DSTE Pro BG-E11, Excella Neo D400 Studio Strobes, Excella Stardust 50, 580 EX II, lots of other fun stu

acoll123

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 169
  • /
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2013, 11:06:19 AM »
I just bought a Lexar 800x 64Gb CF card from Adorama and put it in my 5D Mark III. I haven't taken it out. I've been transferring via USB, then formatting the card in camera before I shoot again.  Twice now, I've gotten corrupted files, and once a shot that I really wanted just disappeared as I was scrolling though the photos on the camera. This is the first Lexar CF I've ever bought. I've only shot with Sandisk up until now. I think I like Sandisk better.
I just returned two 32 gb Lexar cards to B&H. Got error 80 that locked up my cameras (5DIII and 1DIV) while shooting basketball. There is apparently a known problem with 32 gb Lexar cards and canon cameras. Glad to hear your 64 gb cards are working. I am going to stick with Sandisk from now on.

Andy

FatDaddyJones

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
  • Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum videtur
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2013, 11:12:57 AM »
Glad to hear your 64 gb cards are working.

Not working well.
5D Mark III, 7D, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4, EF 70-300mm IS USM, EF-S 17-55mm IS USM, Redrock shoulder rig, matte box & follow focus, Rode Videomic, Zoom R16, Sure PG42, DSTE Pro BG-E11, Excella Neo D400 Studio Strobes, Excella Stardust 50, 580 EX II, lots of other fun stu

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5DIII memory cards
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2013, 11:12:57 AM »