October 22, 2014, 10:08:13 PM

Author Topic: Canon 6D flash sync  (Read 8731 times)

nicku

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Canon 6D flash sync
« on: January 27, 2013, 04:40:17 AM »
I know 6D has external flash sync of 1/180s....

Canon cameras have only 1/160s or 1/200s not 1/180s My question is:

If i shoot with 6D at 1/200 in studio i will get that black line on the bottom of the frame like the one i get from 7D shooting at 1/250 ( 7D has a flash sync of 1/200) ?????

canon rumors FORUM

Canon 6D flash sync
« on: January 27, 2013, 04:40:17 AM »

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4816
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 09:46:34 AM »
If i shoot with 6D at 1/200 in studio i will get that black line on the bottom of the frame like the one i get from 7D shooting at 1/250 ( 7D has a flash sync of 1/200) ?????

The 7d has a x-sync of 1/250s (like my 60d): http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_7d#Specifications ...

... as for the 6d 1/180s x-sync I wouldn't be so sure, it sounds more like a firmware crippling to me and the 6d might very well go up to 1/200s as the shortest time when the first shutter is down and the second shutter is still up.

If anyone doubts this: The 6d can also shoot with 1/8000 shutter, the Magic Lantern devs discovered this, it's just that the Canon firmware has a "5d3 protection lock" that keeps resetting it to 1/4000 :-o

Marine03

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2013, 10:47:14 PM »
If i shoot with 6D at 1/200 in studio i will get that black line on the bottom of the frame like the one i get from 7D shooting at 1/250 ( 7D has a flash sync of 1/200) ?????

The 7d has a x-sync of 1/250s (like my 60d): http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_7d#Specifications ...

... as for the 6d 1/180s x-sync I wouldn't be so sure, it sounds more like a firmware crippling to me and the 6d might very well go up to 1/200s as the shortest time when the first shutter is down and the second shutter is still up.

If anyone doubts this: The 6d can also shoot with 1/8000 shutter, the Magic Lantern devs discovered this, it's just that the Canon firmware has a "5d3 protection lock" that keeps resetting it to 1/4000 :-o

Does this mean that magic lanterns software will allow the use of 1/8000 because that's a big deal
6D, 450D(collecting dust), Nifty Fifty, 565EX Flash

oscaroo

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
    • Facebook page.
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2013, 11:28:05 PM »
I've a 6d.
With the 430exII mounted the shutter speed will literally go to 1/180s.
Without a 430exII mounted it won't allow a shutters speed of 1/180th.

If i shoot with my ebay radio trigger on the hotshoe I have to shoot at 160th. I do get a black stripe if I move it to 200th.

If it is a software cripple maybe they always waste some time at the start of the exposure to let it get a black line near the end. *shrug.
Why does everyone put a listing of all their camera stuff here?

agierke

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2013, 12:54:32 AM »
i have seen the black stripe appear at 1/200th of a sec on the 5D mrk 2 when its supposed to be rated for a 1/200th sync. that is in studio with strobes, not speedlights.

i would say you have to stick to 1/160th or below in some circumstances unless you acquire radio slaves that can circumvent the flash sync and have strobes with a slow enough flash duration.
5D3, 5D2, 5DC, s15mm Fish, 24mm TSE, 35mm F1.4L, 50mm F1.2L, 85mm F1.8, 100mm F2.8L, 24-70mm F2.8L, 70-200mm F2.8L, 580EX, 580EX2, 600EXRT

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4816
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2013, 01:09:11 AM »
Does this mean that magic lanterns software will allow the use of 1/8000 because that's a big deal

I wouldn't count on it, Canon obviously has an interest to prevent it, and even if ml manages it then it might wear down the shutter faster because it isn't designed for it. I really don't know if the x-sync and shutter speed limits are due to firmware crippling or based on cheaper hardware than the 5d3/5d2.

The_Arsonist

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • Casey Roberts Photography
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2013, 01:48:45 AM »
If i shoot with 6D at 1/200 in studio i will get that black line on the bottom of the frame like the one i get from 7D shooting at 1/250 ( 7D has a flash sync of 1/200) ?????

The 7d has a x-sync of 1/250s (like my 60d): http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_7d#Specifications ...

... as for the 6d 1/180s x-sync I wouldn't be so sure, it sounds more like a firmware crippling to me and the 6d might very well go up to 1/200s as the shortest time when the first shutter is down and the second shutter is still up.

If anyone doubts this: The 6d can also shoot with 1/8000 shutter, the Magic Lantern devs discovered this, it's just that the Canon firmware has a "5d3 protection lock" that keeps resetting it to 1/4000 :-o

That would be a digital shutter, aka turning the sensor on and off, like on the original 1D, wouldn't it? The old Nikon d50 is the same
Fuji X100s
50D with Katzeye-------FL 55 1.2 (EdMika)--------Sigma 70-200 2.8 OS-------Rokinon 8mm Fisheye

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2013, 01:48:45 AM »

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4816
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2013, 02:09:02 AM »
That would be a digital shutter, aka turning the sensor on and off, like on the original 1D, wouldn't it? The old Nikon d50 is the same

Interesting, I didn't know about the 1d method - why don't they do that anymore to gain higher x-sync?

As for the 6d & 1/8000, I have no idea how it's implemented, just picked it up while reading through the ml 6d dev thread - you have to look or ask over there.

nicku

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2013, 02:13:35 AM »
I've a 6d.
With the 430exII mounted the shutter speed will literally go to 1/180s.
Without a 430exII mounted it won't allow a shutters speed of 1/180th.

If i shoot with my ebay radio trigger on the hotshoe I have to shoot at 160th. I do get a black stripe if I move it to 200th.

If it is a software cripple maybe they always waste some time at the start of the exposure to let it get a black line near the end. *shrug.

Thanks for answer right on the subject. So.... Canon 6D is not the camera that i need.

The_Arsonist

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • Casey Roberts Photography
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2013, 06:46:33 PM »
That would be a digital shutter, aka turning the sensor on and off, like on the original 1D, wouldn't it? The old Nikon d50 is the same

Interesting, I didn't know about the 1d method - why don't they do that anymore to gain higher x-sync?

As for the 6d & 1/8000, I have no idea how it's implemented, just picked it up while reading through the ml 6d dev thread - you have to look or ask over there.

Sorry, the Nikon d70 and d40 do this, as well as the original 1D. The actual shutter still can only physically hit the sync speed (1/250 or whatever) but then the electronic shutter takes over at higher speeds. No idea why this is not a standard feature on all DSLRs. Maybe only CCD sensors can do this?

Read about the Magic Chip Cameras on Strobist
http://strobist.blogspot.com/2011/12/q-controlling-sun-when-using-flash.html
Fuji X100s
50D with Katzeye-------FL 55 1.2 (EdMika)--------Sigma 70-200 2.8 OS-------Rokinon 8mm Fisheye

TWI by Dustin Abbott

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1628
    • View Profile
    • dustinabbott.net
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2013, 07:41:48 PM »
I have the Yongnuo Y-622C E-TTL triggers, and I have no problem with syncing even at 1/250th.  No black at the bottom of the frame.  I am no more limited than I was with either 60D or 5DII. I should note, however, that the flashs that I just tested (580EXII) automatically go into High Speed sync mode at 1/200th or more.  For my purposes that has not been an issue, although I read that flash output is somewhat reduced in that mode.  I am typically dialing down flash output anyway as I prefer a softer look.  I don't think that my workflow is at all changed by the sync speed.

The same flash mounted on the camera does limit shutter speed to 1/180th unless HSS is enabled.
6D x 2 | EOS-M w/22mm f/2 + 18-55 STM + EF Adapter| Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 | Tamron 24-70 f/2.8 VC | 35mm f/2 IS | 40mm f/2.8 | 100L | 135L | 70-300L -----OLD SCHOOL----- SMC Takumar 28mm f/3.5, Super Takumar 35mm f/3.5, SMC Takumar 55mm f/1.8, Helios 44-2 and 44-4, Super Takumar 150mm f/4

RLPhoto

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3507
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2013, 07:47:40 PM »
6D sync speed sucks but so does the mk3. I wish they had the 1dx shutter for 1/250th. :/

TWI by Dustin Abbott

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1628
    • View Profile
    • dustinabbott.net
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2013, 08:32:28 PM »
P.S.  I have been really pleased with the Yonguo units so far.  They just work.  They come out of sleep mode quickly and I have gotten consistent exposures with them.  The range seems very good - far more than what I will probably test the limits of.
6D x 2 | EOS-M w/22mm f/2 + 18-55 STM + EF Adapter| Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 | Tamron 24-70 f/2.8 VC | 35mm f/2 IS | 40mm f/2.8 | 100L | 135L | 70-300L -----OLD SCHOOL----- SMC Takumar 28mm f/3.5, Super Takumar 35mm f/3.5, SMC Takumar 55mm f/1.8, Helios 44-2 and 44-4, Super Takumar 150mm f/4

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2013, 08:32:28 PM »

Britman

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2013, 06:20:35 PM »
I have the Yongnuo Y-622C E-TTL triggers, and I have no problem with syncing even at 1/250th.  No black at the bottom of the frame.  I am no more limited than I was with either 60D or 5DII. I should note, however, that the flashs that I just tested (580EXII) automatically go into High Speed sync mode at 1/200th or more.  For my purposes that has not been an issue, although I read that flash output is somewhat reduced in that mode.  I am typically dialing down flash output anyway as I prefer a softer look.  I don't think that my workflow is at all changed by the sync speed.

The same flash mounted on the camera does limit shutter speed to 1/180th unless HSS is enabled.

Just thinking out load here.
But surely the power wouldn't drop that much if only changing the shutter from 1/180th to 1/200th. The major drop in power only really drops when you go 1/500th +

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon 6D flash sync
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2013, 06:20:35 PM »