October 23, 2014, 04:50:54 AM

Author Topic: Sharpening question for Photoshop experts  (Read 3527 times)

RiceCanon

• Power Shot G7X
    • View Profile
Sharpening question for Photoshop experts
« on: February 22, 2013, 02:58:31 PM »
I'm new to using Photoshop (CS5) and am wondering what seasoned users have found to be their most successful workflow options when it comes to sharpening and producing really crisp images for web display.  I'm assuming a good initial capture in-camera.  Thanks in advance.

canon rumors FORUM

Sharpening question for Photoshop experts
« on: February 22, 2013, 02:58:31 PM »

Mt Spokane Photography

• EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
    • View Profile
Re: Sharpening question for Photoshop experts
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 03:14:32 PM »
Unless you are using RAW, I would not adjust sharpening.  For web sized images, little if any sharpening is needed.

RiceCanon

• Power Shot G7X
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2013, 03:29:24 PM »
I should clarify that I always shoot using RAW for my landscape and wildlife images.

Mt Spokane Photography

• EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2013, 03:35:10 PM »
Are you just posting small low res images, or huge ones where details can be closely examined?
Sharpening for web depends on a persons taste, I use Lightroom to post to my Smugmug account, and just pick standard sharpening for web use in my smugmug export panel.  I have Photoshop, but always export edited images back to lightroom before I upload them.
Try uploading images with different settings and see what you like.

vlad

• PowerShot G1 X II
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2013, 03:40:56 PM »
Some general sharpening advice:

- sharpen after you size down for web
- unsharp mask-style sharpening (which I now do through PS smart sharpening, not the actual unsharp mask filter) with a low radius works well for sharpening the overall image to counteract the lack of in-camera sharpening for RAW