December 10, 2016, 01:56:45 PM

Author Topic: Bridge not sharp - why?  (Read 15378 times)

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Zeiss 50mm F 0.7
  • ***********
  • Posts: 12382
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #30 on: March 11, 2013, 12:56:02 PM »
Thanks dunbar...I neglected to mention that I use a cable remote. I pretty much take every precaution I can to keep my camera as still as possible. More to the point, though, was that I was wondering if this kind of non-sharpness was due to motion blur or just not being focused in the right area. To me, it looks like slight motion blur, but I'm not 100% for sure.
It does look like motion blur, I see no evidence of front or rear focus.
I have a cable remote too, sometimes, the cable sometimes transmits a twitch to the camera as I push the button, so a 2 or 5 sec delay helps damp out movement, as does hanging a weight on the under hook of the tripod.  Wind can move the tripod / lens setup as well, it does not take much.  I have a heavy duty tripod and head, but it can occasionally be a issue in wind, or just me and my remote cable release.(That took a while to figure out, since it had slack in the cable, but it still transmits a slight twitch.)

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #30 on: March 11, 2013, 12:56:02 PM »

EOBeav

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
    • My Landscape Photoblog
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #31 on: March 11, 2013, 06:10:03 PM »
Thanks to everybody who weighed in on this. I believe I have found the culprit and it is me. Yes, a higher ISO and/or IS would have eliminated this motion blur.  However, it wouldn't have happened in the first place had I taken the time to make sure everything was solid before I snapped the photo. That's what happens when you get in a hurry; you skip over some of the basics that you've been doing for a long time! All of the Canon 70-200 L's, regardless of aperture or IS, are really sharp, so that's why I was surprised to see this at first. I've used this same set up in creeks with exposure settings of .5 to a full second without any problems before.

In any event, I'll take care to keep everything still next time. Thanks again for the feedback.
In landscape photography, when you shoot is more important than where.

Gear: Canon 5DmkII, 17-40mm f/4 L, 50mm f/1.4, 70-200mm f/4.

applecider

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #32 on: March 11, 2013, 06:26:08 PM »
Took your invitation to look at the larger pixel peeping image and for some reason that file looks pretty sharp.  The bridge is in focus and there is little evidence of blur.  Check it out and see if you see the same.

If someone else confirms this it would put the culprit in the post processing department.. maybe some kind of image depth or resolution downsizing.  Or maybe noise reduction is loosing the detail.
AE-1, T90,EOS Elan 7e, EOS-M, 7D, 5D3, 1dx, ef40 2.8

aprotosimaki

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #33 on: March 11, 2013, 06:35:21 PM »
Thanks to everybody who weighed in on this. I believe I have found the culprit and it is me. Yes, a higher ISO and/or IS would have eliminated this motion blur.  However, it wouldn't have happened in the first place had I taken the time to make sure everything was solid before I snapped the photo. That's what happens when you get in a hurry; you skip over some of the basics that you've been doing for a long time! All of the Canon 70-200 L's, regardless of aperture or IS, are really sharp, so that's why I was surprised to see this at first. I've used this same set up in creeks with exposure settings of .5 to a full second without any problems before.

In any event, I'll take care to keep everything still next time. Thanks again for the feedback.

What was not solid?

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3111
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #34 on: March 11, 2013, 06:50:29 PM »
Took your invitation to look at the larger pixel peeping image and for some reason that file looks pretty sharp.  The bridge is in focus and there is little evidence of blur.  Check it out and see if you see the same.

If someone else confirms this it would put the culprit in the post processing department.. maybe some kind of image depth or resolution downsizing.  Or maybe noise reduction is loosing the detail.

This happens to me ALL THE TIME.  I will post-process and then export to jpeg and the file looks blurry.  I'll then crop just a tad more, let's say off the top, then the file is sharp.  This can also be seen with a blurry file, then you zoom in on it in your viewer and it is again razor sharp.  I'm not an expert in resizing, downsampling, etc. and there has to be a very well known reason for this happening, and I cannot possibly be the only one that is seeing this. 
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Zeiss 50mm F 0.7
  • ***********
  • Posts: 12382
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #35 on: March 11, 2013, 09:40:04 PM »
Took your invitation to look at the larger pixel peeping image and for some reason that file looks pretty sharp.  The bridge is in focus and there is little evidence of blur.  Check it out and see if you see the same.

If someone else confirms this it would put the culprit in the post processing department.. maybe some kind of image depth or resolution downsizing.  Or maybe noise reduction is loosing the detail.

I looked at it as well, and its not up to expectations, it should be much sharper.  If your images are not sharper, something might be wrong.
 

EOBeav

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
    • My Landscape Photoblog
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #36 on: March 11, 2013, 10:13:33 PM »
Took your invitation to look at the larger pixel peeping image and for some reason that file looks pretty sharp.  The bridge is in focus and there is little evidence of blur.  Check it out and see if you see the same.

If someone else confirms this it would put the culprit in the post processing department.. maybe some kind of image depth or resolution downsizing.  Or maybe noise reduction is loosing the detail.

I looked at it as well, and its not up to expectations, it should be much sharper.  If your images are not sharper, something might be wrong.


Agreed, this has nothing to do with image conversion. The full size image I posted was just that...a full size jpg export from LR, unedited. 

Thankfully, I did a little test tonight and the lens is performing just fine. It was my own oversights that caused the blurriness.
In landscape photography, when you shoot is more important than where.

Gear: Canon 5DmkII, 17-40mm f/4 L, 50mm f/1.4, 70-200mm f/4.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #36 on: March 11, 2013, 10:13:33 PM »

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3111
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #37 on: March 11, 2013, 11:03:35 PM »
So what ended up being the problem?
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

EOBeav

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
    • My Landscape Photoblog
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #38 on: March 11, 2013, 11:27:32 PM »
So what ended up being the problem?

A few things come to mind:
  • I was in a hurry and hit the shutter before I let the camera completely stop vibrating after moving it
  • At least one of the legs was in some soft ground, so it wasn't 100% stable
  • I didn't turn off the AF after getting the focal point where I wanted it, shaking the camera that much more

That bridge hasn't moved for 80 years or so, so it had to have been the camera. It was just a perfect storm of events caused from me not minding the store.
In landscape photography, when you shoot is more important than where.

Gear: Canon 5DmkII, 17-40mm f/4 L, 50mm f/1.4, 70-200mm f/4.

J.R.

  • 1D X Mark II
  • *******
  • Posts: 1750
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #39 on: March 11, 2013, 11:35:44 PM »
So what ended up being the problem?

A few things come to mind:
  • I was in a hurry and hit the shutter before I let the camera completely stop vibrating after moving it
  • At least one of the legs was in some soft ground, so it wasn't 100% stable
  • I didn't turn off the AF after getting the focal point where I wanted it, shaking the camera that much more

That bridge hasn't moved for 80 years or so, so it had to have been the camera. It was just a perfect storm of events caused from me not minding the store.

Good ... I was on the verge of suggesting there might have been an earthquake in the area!  :P
1DX II; 600D
17L TSE; 35L II; 40 STM; 50L, 85L II; 100 Macro; 135L; 200L; 300L; 11-24L; 24-70L II; 100-400L II; 18-55;55-250

agierke

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #40 on: March 12, 2013, 12:03:52 AM »
did you confirm that Mirror Lock was on? didnt see that in any of your replies. anyone else having issues like this in the future should understand that this is a likely cuplrit for camera shake at slow shutterspeeds on a tripod.

you also have to be careful of your own movement when making exposures like this. even if you are not physically touching the camera or tripod, walking around the camera position can cause vibration in the ground (depending on the surface you are on) and that can be transferred through the tripod and show up in exposures. this is not as likely outdoors but i have seen it happen on several occasions indoors when i or someone else walked by my rig during a long exposure.
5D3, 5D2, 5DC, s15mm Fish, 24mm TSE, 35mm F1.4L, 50mm F1.2L, 85mm F1.8, 100mm F2.8L, 24-70mm F2.8L, 70-200mm F2.8L, 580EX, 580EX2, 600EXRT

EOBeav

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
    • My Landscape Photoblog
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #41 on: March 12, 2013, 12:39:41 AM »
did you confirm that Mirror Lock was on? didnt see that in any of your replies. anyone else having issues like this in the future should understand that this is a likely cuplrit for camera shake at slow shutterspeeds on a tripod.

you also have to be careful of your own movement when making exposures like this. even if you are not physically touching the camera or tripod, walking around the camera position can cause vibration in the ground (depending on the surface you are on) and that can be transferred through the tripod and show up in exposures. this is not as likely outdoors but i have seen it happen on several occasions indoors when i or someone else walked by my rig during a long exposure.

Didn't use mirror lock. It might be helpful in some situations, but it wouldn't have caused this kind of motion blur.
In landscape photography, when you shoot is more important than where.

Gear: Canon 5DmkII, 17-40mm f/4 L, 50mm f/1.4, 70-200mm f/4.

weixing

  • Canon 7D MK II
  • *****
  • Posts: 539
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #42 on: March 12, 2013, 01:05:10 AM »
did you confirm that Mirror Lock was on? didnt see that in any of your replies. anyone else having issues like this in the future should understand that this is a likely cuplrit for camera shake at slow shutterspeeds on a tripod.

you also have to be careful of your own movement when making exposures like this. even if you are not physically touching the camera or tripod, walking around the camera position can cause vibration in the ground (depending on the surface you are on) and that can be transferred through the tripod and show up in exposures. this is not as likely outdoors but i have seen it happen on several occasions indoors when i or someone else walked by my rig during a long exposure.

Didn't use mirror lock. It might be helpful in some situations, but it wouldn't have caused this kind of motion blur.
   Err... Mirror lock-up is use to prevent this kind of blur... not create it. You should use mirror lock-up or live view when shooting at slow shutter speed.

   Have a nice day.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #42 on: March 12, 2013, 01:05:10 AM »

brett b

  • Rebel T6i
  • ****
  • Posts: 103
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #43 on: March 12, 2013, 01:39:14 AM »
Did you manually focus?

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 20050
Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #44 on: March 12, 2013, 03:52:54 AM »
Didn't use mirror lock. It might be helpful in some situations, but it wouldn't have caused this kind of motion blur.

Actually, a 1/20 s exposure is right in the range of shutter speeds (around 1/60 s to 1/2 s) where mirror slap can result in the camera shake-type blur you're seeing. 
EOS 1D X, EOS M2, lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Bridge not sharp - why?
« Reply #44 on: March 12, 2013, 03:52:54 AM »