September 01, 2014, 07:25:53 AM

Author Topic: Digic 6  (Read 7187 times)

expatinasia

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 901
    • View Profile
Digic 6
« on: March 21, 2013, 04:27:39 AM »
So what is this new Digic all about? Why did Canon opt to put it in the SX280 HS and SX270 HS but not the 100D and 700D?

Do we have any solid info yet on how it compares to the Digic 5+?



1D X + backup + different L lenses etc.

canon rumors FORUM

Digic 6
« on: March 21, 2013, 04:27:39 AM »

steliosk

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
    • stelioskritikakis.com
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 04:48:18 AM »
700D is out

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canon-eos-700d-rebel-t5i

can please somebody tell me whats the major difference from 650D ?

oh yes! creative filters on LIVE shooting.. WOW i'm blown away!!! i think i run into a toy company and not some serious one canon used to be.
Bodies: 5D3 + 600D
Lenses: STM 40, EF 50 1.4, EF 85 1.8, EF 100L, EF 24-105L, EF 70-200 2.8 IS II, Samyang 14mm, Samyang 8mm Fisheye, EF-S 10-22, EF-S 15-85 and my old 350D + 18-55 IS II

simonxu11

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2013, 05:51:03 AM »
700D is out

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canon-eos-700d-rebel-t5i

can please somebody tell me whats the major difference from 650D ?

oh yes! creative filters on LIVE shooting.. WOW i'm blown away!!! i think i run into a toy company and not some serious one canon used to be.
Can't you see the major difference is one called 650D, the other is called 700D.
But based on the specs, it should be called 651D

baervan

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2013, 05:53:18 AM »
700D is out

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canon-eos-700d-rebel-t5i

can please somebody tell me whats the major difference from 650D ?

oh yes! creative filters on LIVE shooting.. WOW i'm blown away!!! i think i run into a toy company and not some serious one canon used to be.
Can't you see the major difference is one called 650D, the other is called 700D.
But based on the specs, it should be called 651D

+1


lol

Alexiz

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2013, 06:33:02 AM »
Why did Canon opt to put it in the SX280 HS and SX270 HS but not the 100D and 700D?
Well, please correct me if I am wrong, but Digic 5 seems to have been also introduced first with the PowerShot line. Then it made its way into the DSLR line. Just appears to be the Canon way of testing and doing things. So Digic 6 will most likely reemerge in 70D in a month or so...

RGomezPhotos

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • Ricardo Gomez Photography
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2013, 05:35:48 PM »
Yes, I'm wondering what the specs are on the new chip too...  I've done a decent search via Google but nothing substancial has turned up.
EOS 5D MKII & 50D, Zeiss 50mm f1.4
www.ricardogomezphotography.com

expatinasia

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 901
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2013, 06:22:13 PM »
Yes, I'm wondering what the specs are on the new chip too...  I've done a decent search via Google but nothing substancial has turned up.

Precisely. You would think that if they are launching a new Digic then there would be a bit more info about it, especially if they plan to move the new Digic up the pipeline to higher end models.
1D X + backup + different L lenses etc.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Digic 6
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2013, 06:22:13 PM »

Don Haines

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3060
  • Posting cat pictures on the internet since 1986
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2013, 06:35:27 PM »
Nice article in wikipedia... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DIGIC

but absolutely no info on the Digic6 other than it exists....

The 1920 video at 60hz on the powershot 280 would imply a jump of at least 2 times over the digic 5....

The best camera is the one in your hands

expatinasia

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 901
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2013, 06:50:43 PM »
Interesting article. Thanks Don.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DIGIC

So if Wikipedia is right and the Digic 5 is
Quote
6 times faster than the DIGIC 4 processor and efficiently manages the increase in scene information and simultaneously reduces the appearance of image noise by up to 75%. According to Canon DIGIC 5 analyses four times more image information to create each pixel, recording more detail and colour from a scene than ever before.

and the Digic5+ is
Quote
said to be 17x the performance of the Digic 4

Makes you wonder why Canon are being so tight lipped about the new Digic 6.

Exciting times for sure. Looking forward to the 7D Mark II announcement, whenever that happens....
1D X + backup + different L lenses etc.

Vikingbob

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2013, 08:40:22 AM »
Just found this interesting video on the net iro Digic 6:

Canon DIGIC 6 Image Processor

Seems like lots of video improvements...

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8476
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2013, 02:37:31 PM »
Canon used a different or a limited version of the Digic 5 processors for P&S cameras, so a Digic 6+ may be coming for DSLR's but is likely not ready.
 
As noted, there is no information about the microprocessor technology inside the custom chip.  Canon doesn't supply it, eventually someone figures it out, but its not published by Canon.
 
They use ARM Processors, but that covers a huge range of possibilities.  I've seen it claimed that they used Apple Designed ARM Processors made by TI in Digic 5.  ARM Processors continue to get more powerful, so its a tradeoff between power usage and performance.  Canon uses more than one digic in their high end cameras, so a big jump in processor power might let them use just one and avoid using more power.  The 1D X uses two Digic 5+ and a Digic 4 for autofocus, for example.  If one could do it, it might save power or break even..
http://www.learn.usa.canon.com/resources/articles/2012/digic_processors.shtml
 
Expect the Digic 6+ to be used in high end DSLR's probably for 4K video as well as much more sophisticated in-camera processing. 
 
 
 

Hannes

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2013, 01:27:45 PM »
The 1D X uses two Digic 5+ and a Digic 4 for autofocus, for example.  If one could do it, it might save power or break even..

Don't forget that the newer smaller manufacturing processes also make the processor much more energy efficient per transistor so even if it doesn't increase the computing power over the above combo it will probably decrease energy consumption. Imagine having a 1DX with a smaller battery and make the grip optional. Then we'll just call it 3D and be done :)

mkabi

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2013, 06:39:57 PM »
Wouldn't it be ultra super cool [please note my sarcasm when I say this] if the 7D Mk II came with dual digic 7 processors.
Canon 7D - EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L, EF - 20mm f/2.8, EF 50mm f/1.4, EF 100mm f/2.0, Custom Cine 50mm & Custom Cine 35mm

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Digic 6
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2013, 06:39:57 PM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8476
    • View Profile
Re: Digic 6
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2013, 06:46:46 PM »
The 1D X uses two Digic 5+ and a Digic 4 for autofocus, for example.  If one could do it, it might save power or break even..

Don't forget that the newer smaller manufacturing processes also make the processor much more energy efficient per transistor so even if it doesn't increase the computing power over the above combo it will probably decrease energy consumption. Imagine having a 1DX with a smaller battery and make the grip optional. Then we'll just call it 3D and be done :)
Except that the new smaller processes were supposedly in the Digic 5.  I think its more about video improvements.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Digic 6
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2013, 06:46:46 PM »