December 18, 2014, 04:55:48 PM

Author Topic: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii  (Read 3182 times)

GoodVendettaPhotography

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« on: March 30, 2013, 12:26:16 AM »
This is an upsetting thing for me, considering what I love the most is doing startrails. I took my camera out tonight, slapped on the 17mm ts-e and tried to do a 20 minute exposure. Once I was done, the red processing light remained on for a good five minutes...I turned the camera off and a screen popped up saying, "recording image to disk"...I let this screen run for 10mins before taking my battery out and killing the cycle.

Has anyone run into this problem?

Do I have a defective mark iii?

I have yet to do any firmware updates..

My first thought was my memory card is not fast enough, but it's sandisk extreme cf 60mb/s. I tried an "extreme pro" 90mb/s and I ran into the same issue.

Any help would be wonder as this is really bumming me out :(

Ps: 30 sec exposures take about 45secs to record and pop up as a preview....

Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 12:32:46 AM by GoodVendettaPhotography »
5D Mark III | 7D | 17mm TS-E f/4 L | 24-70mm f/2.8 L II | 70-200mm f/2.8 L II IS | 50mm f/1.2 L | 100mm f/2.8 Macro | 135mm f/2 L | ST-E3 | 600 ex (x3) | 2x TC III

canon rumors FORUM

Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« on: March 30, 2013, 12:26:16 AM »

davidson

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2013, 02:23:15 AM »
you may have long exposure noise reduction turned on. It's just a guess on my part though, I may be wrong

Atonegro

  • Canon AE-1
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • It's not the gear, it's the eye.
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2013, 04:01:08 AM »
you may have long exposure noise reduction turned on. It's just a guess on my part though, I may be wrong

+1
DCS 3c, D2000, 1DS, 1DS2, 1DS3, D800e, D810 and now waiting for the 1DS-X.....or a Nikon D4X...

English is not my native language, I learned  it only a few years ago. If you don't like my spelling, I will be happy to write it in Dutch for you.

AUGS

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2013, 04:23:08 AM »
you may have long exposure noise reduction turned on. It's just a guess on my part though, I may be wrong

+1.  Go to page 144 of your manual (Camera3 tab if the camera is available) and check your setting.  Effectively, long exposure noise reduction "doubles" your image capture time, and sounds like what you are experiencing. You may have just interrupted the process.
Hope this solves your problem.

wayno

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2013, 04:31:07 AM »
Yes that was my thought too - however someone experienced in star trails I'm guessing should/would be aware of this? Personally I never use it. Hope that's the solution for you.

Mr Bean

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 421
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2013, 05:22:03 AM »
As what others have said about NR.....

My first attempt at star trails with the 5D3 was 3hrs. No problems with the camera, except the image was way too noisy. The "proper" way to do star trails, so I discovered, was to do a heap of 2min exposures, convert to TIF, then use a program called "startrails.exe" (from a German bloke) which "stacks" the images, and effectively "joins the short trails, into one image, for this type of result (I think this was just over an hour, from the back step of the house, as a test)........


Suggestion: Shoot RAW, not JPEG, as you are dealing with a lot of black with some faint points of light. I found that the effect of JPEG could result in blotchy "blacks".
5D mk3 with grip, 300 f4 L, 100 IS Macro L, 50 f1.4, 50 f1.8, 40 f2.8 pancake, 35 f2, 1.4x TC III, Zeiss 15mm f2.8, 24 f1.4 L
580EX II, MT-24EX Macro Flash
EF 12mm and 25mm II Extension tubes

sandymandy

  • Canon 7D MK II
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2013, 07:02:14 AM »
If you have noise reduction turned on your camera will take TWO shots with the same exposure. So 20 mins*2 = 40 minutes. The second photo is used to calculate the noise reduction.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2013, 07:02:14 AM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 15193
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2013, 09:55:39 AM »
Do I have a defective mark iii?

I have yet to do any firmware updates..

You have a wetware problem.  ;)
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

GoodVendettaPhotography

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2013, 10:26:30 AM »
JESUS, guys! Thank you! It was because my noise reduction was turned on! Thank you! I'm glad it was a simple fix!
5D Mark III | 7D | 17mm TS-E f/4 L | 24-70mm f/2.8 L II | 70-200mm f/2.8 L II IS | 50mm f/1.2 L | 100mm f/2.8 Macro | 135mm f/2 L | ST-E3 | 600 ex (x3) | 2x TC III

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Long exposures won't record to 5d mark iii
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2013, 10:26:30 AM »