April 20, 2014, 02:59:13 PM

Author Topic: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?  (Read 22451 times)

RLPhoto

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 3120
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2013, 09:04:17 AM »
Since when was there IQ issues with canon cameras? I haven't heard of them.
24LII - 50L - 135L
---------------------------------
www.RamonLperez.com

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2013, 09:04:17 AM »

ashmadux

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 128
  • Art Director, Visual Artist, Freelance Photography
    • View Profile
    • Edward Ofori Photography
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2013, 09:05:58 AM »

The 6D is their flagship connectivity (Wifi/ GPS) camera


LOL what does this mean

the 6D can also be:

  • flagship single cross point camera
  • flagship cut feature camera
  • flagship landscape only camera
  • flagship tight as hell AF point spread, useless for portraits camera :(

Jussayin'
Be the best you, screw everything else.

ashmadux

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 128
  • Art Director, Visual Artist, Freelance Photography
    • View Profile
    • Edward Ofori Photography
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2013, 09:07:47 AM »
Since when was there IQ issues with canon cameras? I haven't heard of them.

7d cough cough, 7d....7d!

cough, cough
Be the best you, screw everything else.

RLPhoto

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 3120
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2013, 09:10:55 AM »
Since when was there IQ issues with canon cameras? I haven't heard of them.

7d cough cough, 7d....7d!

cough, cough

I had one. I didn't have issues, did you? You sound a bit sick.
24LII - 50L - 135L
---------------------------------
www.RamonLperez.com

And-Rew

  • Guest
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2013, 09:13:02 AM »
surely - a 'flagship camera' is the model almost every one aspires to own?

Having tried the 1DsIII - i was glad i opted for 2x 5D2. Twice the kit for the bucks (and the 5D2 did not lose much to the 1DsIII except maybe build quality and robustness). In fact that very argument is the reason the 1DsIII died an early death for most wedding and landscape photographers!

The same would apply to the 1DX - having tried, i make no apologies in saying i would love to own one - soooo many benefits over a 5D3, but the simple fact is, were i to get out today with £5k for a new body, i would come home with 2x 5D3's & a battery grip for one of the bodies.

What i find really interesting is how ALL manufacturers seem to be creating blurred lines between 'flagship model' and what most people consider more than acceptable - Nikon D4 and Nikon D800? Which would you call the 'flagship model'?

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • *******
  • Posts: 12789
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #20 on: March 31, 2013, 09:27:32 AM »
it´s just that the COMPETITION often seems to offer more for the same or less money.
that´s when i complain.  ;)

Does the competition also seem to offer better lenses for the same or less money?  Do they give you free software to process their RAW images? You need to compare system cost, not just camera cost.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

shutterwideshut

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • IR and Long Exposure junkie
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2013, 09:33:09 AM »
 
Since when was there IQ issues with canon cameras? I haven't heard of them.

7d cough cough, 7d....7d!

cough, cough

 :o :o :o

I didn't have issues with my 7D.  :P
My Flickr
5D3 ı 7D ı 50D(IR) ı 20D(IR) ı TS-E24 f/3.5L II ı 17-40 f/4L ı 24-70 f/2.8L II ı 70-200 f/4L IS ı 100 f/2.8L  Macro IS ı 40 f/2.8 ı 50 f/1.4 ı 85 f/1.8 ı 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 ı Lensbaby Composer Pro ı Rokinon 8mm ı 600EX-RT/ST-E3-RT

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2013, 09:33:09 AM »

bdunbar79

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 2430
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2013, 10:07:45 AM »
This post is what I would call "a pointless exercise in futility"...

Easy Grumpy. Smile, it's Easter :)

Clearly, clearly, clearly, and well documented, the 1DX has the best sensor Canon offers.  It doesn't have the highest resolution, but it has the best performing sensor.

I think what is confusing is that a casual observer could not pick out the best Canon on stats alone.  I mean, if I were at the local electronics mega dealer and a 5D3 were sitting there boasting more mega pixels and a lower price and hyping its low lights capability and the only sacrifice was clicks per second ...... why would I spend double that?  I mean I know from reading here and other places the image quality is outstanding on a 1DX.  You can see that by what is posted.  But on paper it seems like the 1DX loses to the 5D3 except for an extra processor to get the FPS up.

So you think a "casual observer" would assume the camera at 3499 is superior to the camera at 6799?  Wow.

pdirestajr

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
    • flickr
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2013, 10:34:47 AM »

The 6D is their flagship connectivity (Wifi/ GPS) camera


LOL what does this mean

the 6D can also be:

  • flagship single cross point camera
  • flagship cut feature camera
  • flagship landscape only camera
  • flagship tight as hell AF point spread, useless for portraits camera :(

Jussayin'

Was being sarcastic. The 700D is their flagship Rebel.

My point was the cameras are all for different markets.

I'm sure if you offered the SL1 and the 1DX to a teenaged girl, without showing price, they'd all take the smaller one. To them, it's a "better" camera.
7D | 5DII | EOS-3 | Nikon F3 | Mamiya 645 Pro-TL

TrumpetPower!

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 951
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #24 on: March 31, 2013, 10:58:14 AM »
It's a megapickle troll. Nothing to see here, move along.

b&

traveller

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 630
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2013, 11:08:27 AM »
For all of its advantages, the 1D X is a replacement for the 1D IV and not the 1Ds MkIII, which is why the "flagship" question keeps being asked and why the "high megapixel 1D-series" rumours keep doing the rounds.  If you are a 1Ds MkIII owner, then you probably value image quality at low ISOs and build quality.  The 1D X is not an advance over the 1Ds MkIII in this respect, so their money either stays in their wallets or gets spent on non-Canon equipment.  For this reason, I expect that a new "flagship" high resolution 1D-series camera will come along as soon as Canon has the sensor ready, to compliment the "flagship" action camera (i.e. the 1D X). 

Zlatko

  • Guest
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #26 on: March 31, 2013, 11:32:50 AM »
***Is the 1DX really the Flagship Stills Camera?***
Yes.

keithcooper

  • PowerShot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2013, 12:04:25 PM »
From Canon's POV, it's the 1D X - from many users POV it's the 1D X

From my own POV, the 1DX just isn't better than my 1Ds3 in meaningful ways (fps, whizzy AF and ISO are not important). Very much a personal view based on my commercial work and requirements.

I suspect that the next 1 series body will be one for me - if nothing else because my 1Ds3 dates from 2007 ;-)

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2013, 12:04:25 PM »

Meh

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 679
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2013, 12:30:40 PM »
Flagship. You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.  ::)

 ;D

Bruce Photography

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • Landscapes, 5D/5D2/5D3,7D,60D,EOS-M,D800/E,D7100
    • View Profile
Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2013, 12:56:51 PM »
"The 1dx needs twice the pixel count to be considered a flagship"

Lol, that would mean I have to do some SERIOUS compromise in shutter speed because my current choice of speeds would have been at extreme ISO noise, and I would actually have needed a higher speed to freeze the same action with 36 mp as I can with 18. And that would lead to very noisy motion blurred pictures that I now, with 18mp, get very clean and super sharp.

I am trying to understand your point.  Are you saying that you have to shoot a 36mp full frame camera at a higher shutter speed, with the same lens, than if you were shooting an 18mp full frame camera with the same lens and same subject that was moving?  To me, shutter speed is shutter speed and number of pixels has nothing to do with it.  Now it does have something to do with buffer sizes and the number of frames that can be shot in a burst before expending the capacity of the buffer.  Reference the D7100 and raw format where you can't ever get 6 frames per second (their rating) because you run out of buffer space before 1 second.  I don't think they increased their buffer size after making the D7000.  Is this your point?

My Canon flagship is to take the current 1DX, license like Nikon the Sony sensor with Canon tweaks (36mp), evolve into much higher capacity buffers and new series 6 processors (maybe three?) and give birth to the 1DXs.  My guess 6-8 frames a second and continuous use at that frame rate up to the size of the cards using the fastest card technology.  USB 3.0 of course.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2013, 01:07:32 PM by Bruce Photography »

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Does Canon really have a Flagship Stills Camera?
« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2013, 12:56:51 PM »