September 16, 2014, 01:35:21 PM

Author Topic: Light Meter & SpeedLites  (Read 6852 times)

MagnumJoe

• PowerShot G1 X II
  • 5D MK III
    • View Profile
Light Meter & SpeedLites
« on: April 07, 2013, 09:10:33 PM »
Hello All,
 I live on the emerald coast, between Panama City Beach and Destin, Florida. As a hobbyist photographer, I went out to shoot two young ladies today against a 1 o'clock sun sky with a canon 6d, a canon 430ex II, Yongnuo YN568EX, beauty dish, reflectors, umbrellas and soon on. Needless to say, I didn't have enough power. Just learning, it took me a good 30 minutes to figure it all out.  In this environment would a light meter had help me out?  I'm learning, and I'm not sure how well a bright day, speed lites and a light meter would work together.  The meter I'm wondering about is the Sekonic L-358 Flash Master Light Meter.
Cameras:  5D MK III, 6D,   Lenses: Canon EF 70-200mm MK II f/2.8| Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 | Canon EF 50mm f/1.4, Tamron 24-70 VC

canon rumors FORUM

Light Meter & SpeedLites
« on: April 07, 2013, 09:10:33 PM »

RLPhoto

• Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Re: Light Meter & SpeedLites
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2013, 09:20:06 PM »
HSS could kill the ambient light or more speedlite. Shooting mid-day is begging for a Studio strobe for raw output.

bycostello

• 1D Mark IV
    • View Profile
    • London Weddings
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2013, 09:23:58 PM »
midday sun your problem...  try going out in morning or evening instead...

MagnumJoe

• PowerShot G1 X II
  • 5D MK III
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2013, 09:32:23 PM »
midday sun your problem...  try going out in morning or evening instead...

Thanks bycostello, I know those are the best time, but I watched one of those BHPhotos workshop videos last night called "Getting The Most Out Of Canon Speedlites", by Syl Arena.  I just need more experience. :)