November 25, 2014, 07:36:54 PM

Author Topic: When and how to use DLO in DPP  (Read 2419 times)

jebrady03

• Canon 70D
    • View Profile
When and how to use DLO in DPP
« on: April 26, 2013, 12:39:26 PM »
I asked this on another forum and I'm not sure why - it's a general photography forum.  I figure I'm more likely to get responses from a CANON forum about CANON software!  lol  duh...  Anyway...

I've been using DPP as a processor and RAW converter for several years now and decided to start tinkering with the DLO functionality.  My problem is, I don't know WHEN to use it or HOW to use it (properly).

When - if a picture looks really nice and I'm happy with it, can it be even better by applying DLO corrections?  In other words, is this something I should do for every image or just certain images?  And what "certain images" would qualify?

How - when I open up the DLO tool, I have a slider that goes from 1-100.  It's much like sharpening and NR in that it can DEFINITELY be overdone - but because I don't know WHEN it should be done, I'm having a hard time discerning how I should do it - in other words, what's an appropriate amount (1-100) and does that amount change with circumstances?

I've looked in DPP's help topics and there was nothing there to help with my questions above.  I've tried to do a search online and on these forums and I'm either searching inefficiently or the info isn't readily available (I'm guessing the former) so I was hoping that someone with experience using DLO well could chime in with some recommendations and/or some links.

Thanks!

canon rumors FORUM

When and how to use DLO in DPP
« on: April 26, 2013, 12:39:26 PM »

jebrady03

• Canon 70D
    • View Profile
Re: When and how to use DLO in DPP
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2013, 10:00:17 AM »
nothing huh?   :'(

DominoDude

• Canon 7D MK II
  • 3 out of 2 voices in my head says I have DID.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2013, 10:30:24 AM »