September 16, 2014, 09:37:42 AM

Author Topic: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D  (Read 6039 times)

VitorMachado

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« on: May 01, 2013, 06:21:33 PM »
I bought a Yongnuo YN560-II and it doesn't seem to want to accept my camera (6D). I have a pair of RF-603 triggers, which are also Yongnuos. I have one under my flash hot shoe and on on top of my camera's hot shoe. The triggers both light up and confirm connection, I can even fire my shutter using the trigger off camera. The flash is on, but won't fire. Is this a problem on my side or the camera not being compatible?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2013, 08:37:55 AM by VitorMachado »
6D | 60D | 24 f/1.4L II | 50 f/1.2L | 40 f/2.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/vitormachadophotography/

canon rumors FORUM

3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« on: May 01, 2013, 06:21:33 PM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8628
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 08:38:23 PM »
One of the issues with third party flashes is they may need firmware upgrades when Canon releases a new model.  Make sure you have the latest firmware in your flash.  Otherwise, you may have to wait for a while.

Erikerodri

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
  • "All We Lose, We Learn from you"
    • View Profile
    • Flickr
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 11:18:23 PM »
Hello, I have a 6D and I have had no issues with my flash. I have the yongnuo 565exII and it works just fine on the camera and off the camera (with triggers). The only I have with mine is shooting above 180 because it does not have high speed sync. What settings are you using?
Bodies: 6D (Gripped), T3i (Gripped), sl1
Lenses: Tamron 24-70 2.8, canon 50 1.8, canon 85 1.8, Sigma 70-200 2.8 OS,
Misc: Yn-622c triggers, Yonguo 565ex, Bower Ringflash, Bower TTL Flash

VitorMachado

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 07:09:53 AM »
Hello, I have a 6D and I have had no issues with my flash. I have the yongnuo 565exII and it works just fine on the camera and off the camera (with triggers). The only I have with mine is shooting above 180 because it does not have high speed sync. What settings are you using?

I must be doing something wrong then.. My flash isn't being fired at all. The red light indicating pilot isn't turning green letting me know its ready. I was shooting the flash at 1/1 + a very low shutter speed. I'm triggering the flash using the YN-603's. These are working perfectly and I can see they are connected to each other. I can even fire the camera's shutter using the trigger while its under my flash's hot shoe. Is there something I'm missing?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2013, 07:13:24 AM by VitorMachado »
6D | 60D | 24 f/1.4L II | 50 f/1.2L | 40 f/2.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/vitormachadophotography/

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14359
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2013, 08:05:47 AM »
My flash isn't being fired at all. The red light indicating pilot isn't turning green letting me know its ready.

I thought green was charging and red was ready?  What happens when you press the pilot button - does the flash even fire?  Could be a bad hotshoe on a trigger, too. 
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

VitorMachado

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2013, 08:36:39 AM »
My flash isn't being fired at all. The red light indicating pilot isn't turning green letting me know its ready.

I thought green was charging and red was ready?  What happens when you press the pilot button - does the flash even fire?  Could be a bad hotshoe on a trigger, too.

Well, even if I'm mistaken (which I probably am) it's still not firing, even when the pilot light is red. There is no test function on the actual flash itself, I have to click the test button on the trigger connected to the flash.
6D | 60D | 24 f/1.4L II | 50 f/1.2L | 40 f/2.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/vitormachadophotography/

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14359
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2013, 09:02:28 AM »
Apologies in advance, but the abbreviation RTFM comes to mind...

The pilot light is also a button. The test button. When it's glowing red, press it. What happens?  If the flash doesn't fire, your flash is broken/defective.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2013, 09:02:28 AM »

VitorMachado

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2013, 09:15:35 AM »
Apologies in advance, but the abbreviation RTFM comes to mind...

The pilot light is also a button. The test button. When it's glowing red, press it. What happens?  If the flash doesn't fire, your flash is broken/defective.

LOL ::) Will do..
6D | 60D | 24 f/1.4L II | 50 f/1.2L | 40 f/2.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/vitormachadophotography/

Canon-F1

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2013, 09:49:40 AM »
the 560 has just a middle pin connector. there is not much needed to be compatible.
sure not a firmware flash. this is a manual flash unit.

the flash should work with the 6D.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2013, 09:57:36 AM by Canon-F1 »
6D, 5D MK2, 7D, 550D... a lot of Glass.

Thyg0d

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2013, 09:59:17 AM »
if it's anything like my 5DIII remember you can't use Live View when using a flash..
It doesn't trigger the flash when using Live view..

My 560's work fine with both on 5D3 and 5D2 and with triggers...

As said before, there are no firmware's on Yongnuo flashes that can be upgraded..
They're as stupid as a flash gets.. :D
Great flashes/strobes though..

paul13walnut5

  • Guest
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2013, 10:11:41 AM »
I have energiser batteries. Calumet batteries. Sigma lenses. A tokina lens.

I have a canon flash.

Whenever the question comes up in forums I always say 'buy a canon flash'.

This is why.

Not very helpful, but true.

The money spent on cheapies is wasted as the third party guns have no resale value, and you'll end up buying the canons anyway.  There is such a thing as a false economy.  Tripods.  Flashguns.  Don't scrimp.

VitorMachado

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2013, 10:18:08 AM »
if it's anything like my 5DIII remember you can't use Live View when using a flash..
It doesn't trigger the flash when using Live view..

My 560's work fine with both on 5D3 and 5D2 and with triggers...

As said before, there are no firmware's on Yongnuo flashes that can be upgraded..
They're as stupid as a flash gets.. :D
Great flashes/strobes though..

I think you might've just answered my question.. I was in LiveView. Didn't think of that while I was troubleshooting. I will switch it off and try it once I'm home, then report back here. Thanks! 8)
6D | 60D | 24 f/1.4L II | 50 f/1.2L | 40 f/2.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/vitormachadophotography/

Canon-F1

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2013, 10:28:36 AM »
This is why.

Not very helpful, but true.

The money spent on cheapies is wasted as the third party guns have no resale value, and you'll end up buying the canons anyway.

no you don´t.... if you know what you buy.

first this is a manual flash.
why should one pay for ETTL and stuff if all he needs is a manual flash?

second this is a cheap flash that works just fine and is more powerfull then the 430 EX II.
and even if it breaks after 4 years... well i can buy 4 YN-560 II for the money of one 430 EX II.

« Last Edit: May 02, 2013, 10:30:35 AM by Canon-F1 »
6D, 5D MK2, 7D, 550D... a lot of Glass.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2013, 10:28:36 AM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14359
    • View Profile
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2013, 10:29:35 AM »
You can certainly use flash in Live View, you just need to set Live View Silent Shooting to Disable. It's another if those RTFM things, I guess...   ::)
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

paul13walnut5

  • Guest
Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2013, 10:56:15 AM »

no you don´t.... if you know what you buy.

first this is a manual flash.
why should one pay for ETTL and stuff if all he needs is a manual flash?

second this is a cheap flash that works just fine and is more powerfull then the 430 EX II.
and even if it breaks after 4 years... well i can buy 4 YN-560 II for the money of one 430 EX II.

Because manual flash doesn't play nice with E-TTL pre-flash metering etc. Which can trigger the main flash on the pre-flash even if the guns are set up manually.

Buy 4 yn-560 II's.  Fill your boots for all care friend.  You pays your money, you makes your choice.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 3rd party flashes not working with 6D
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2013, 10:56:15 AM »