October 22, 2014, 04:27:58 AM

Author Topic: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)  (Read 1619 times)

randym77

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« on: May 14, 2013, 12:01:21 PM »
Actually, one is missing entirely.  Those tiny white screws on the hoods for Canon telephotos are always loosening on me.  I am now missing one from my 200mm f/2 hood.

Any suggestions for replacing it? Do I need to know the part number, and how do I find it?  Are the screws the same for all Canon telephoto hoods?

canon rumors FORUM

I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« on: May 14, 2013, 12:01:21 PM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
  • *********
  • Posts: 8864
    • View Profile
Re: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 12:26:07 PM »
Call Canon, they have lists of part numbers for things like that.  If they don't, Roger Cicala of Lens Rentals goes thru items like that and can probably help you with a part number.  ( you can rent a 200-400mmL from him to repay him ;) )

RMC33

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 424
    • View Profile
Re: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 01:48:46 PM »
Actually, one is missing entirely.  Those tiny white screws on the hoods for Canon telephotos are always loosening on me.  I am now missing one from my 200mm f/2 hood.

Any suggestions for replacing it? Do I need to know the part number, and how do I find it?  Are the screws the same for all Canon telephoto hoods?

Call canon. when you put them back in use Loctite.

Schruminator

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 90
  • I'm just kidding, seriously.
    • View Profile
    • M Schrum Photography
Re: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 02:06:12 PM »
If you don't have Loc-Tite when you replace it, a dab of clear nail polish on the threads will do the job just fine too.
5D III | 14 2.8 L | 24 1.4 II L | 35 1.4 L | 50 1.2 L | 85 1.2 II L | 24-70 2.8 II L | 70-200 2.8 IS II L | 40 2.8 | 1.4x Mk. II T.C. | M Schrum Photography

timmy_650

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 03:05:25 PM »
Actually, one is missing entirely.  Those tiny white screws on the hoods for Canon telephotos are always loosening on me.  I am now missing one from my 200mm f/2 hood.

Any suggestions for replacing it? Do I need to know the part number, and how do I find it?  Are the screws the same for all Canon telephoto hoods?

Call canon. when you put them back in use Loctite.

Doesn't Normal Loctite eat plastic, so make sure you get the right type of Loctite if you use it.

randym77

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2013, 10:43:34 AM »
I have blue Loc-tite that I use to keep the feet on my tripod and monopod from falling off.  Never thought to use it in these screws, though.  They are so tiny.  Like eyeglass screws. 

Menace

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1372
  • New Zealand
    • View Profile
Re: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2013, 07:26:06 AM »
Just be careful with Loc-tite or similar solution as some contain acetone that can react (badly) to certain plastics including polycabonate.
1Dx | 5D III
85 1.2L II | 100 2.8 | 400 2.8L IS II 
24-70 2.8L II | 70-200 2.8L IS II

canon rumors FORUM

Re: I've got a screw loose (telephoto hood)
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2013, 07:26:06 AM »