December 05, 2016, 07:34:58 AM

Author Topic: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???  (Read 28663 times)

David Hull

  • EOS M3
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #30 on: May 24, 2013, 12:35:16 PM »
Do you have Highlight Tone Priority (User Manual page 146) and Auto Lighting Optimizer  (User Manual Page 142) turned "OFF" in the menus?  I didn't bother to read through the replies so perhaps this has been mentioned already but that is the first thing I did when I noticed that my 5D3 had more noise than I expected.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #30 on: May 24, 2013, 12:35:16 PM »

RLPhoto

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3789
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • My Portfolio
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #31 on: May 24, 2013, 12:42:37 PM »
ETTR, and Process noise in LR. Easily making great ISO 12,800 shots.

RLPhoto

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3789
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • My Portfolio
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #32 on: May 24, 2013, 12:44:36 PM »
Better examples:  Photo 1 is the unedited RAW file converted straight to jpg.  I've then included two versions of edited photos.  You can edit it them any way you'd want, I just applied two presets I happened to have to illustrate the point.  This shot is at ISO 5000 and shot about +2/3 at this end of the court.

Wow, That's pretty good and cropped on top of that.

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 2626
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #33 on: May 24, 2013, 12:49:41 PM »
Just a quick example.  I totally overexposed this shot, because it was so damn dark down there and midcourt was so damn bright.  Much easier and cleaner to bring down in post vs. underexposing and lifting:

can you show the unedited shot for reference
also i'm guessing you shot with the 1Dx which will be even better than the 5dmk3

Well, shoot yeah, that's right I did.  I will grab the RAW file anyways, if I've got it, let me look.
That would be great. BTW, how much do you push to the right in your indoor sports shots?

With a 1Dx, on CWA, my meter reading typically reads anywhere from +1/3 to +1 EV.  I keep it in that window, or try to.  I've gone up as high as +1 2/3 and it still came out fine in post-processing, but was pretty bright.  With older cams, I kept changing the ISO to keep it around 2/3, but with the 1Dx this isn't necessary if you have time to post-process because the RAW files are just so nice.
Thanks! I was guessing +1 EV. Was not sure about that. While shooting film on my AE1 I was "told" that EC needed to be -1/3 and that had to be compensated by setting the ISO appropriately - well I did, and magically most prints came out fine.

Little did I comprehend that "print" needs a whole second level of "adjustment"...

Hopefully tomorrow or the day after I will do a non-Einsteinian experiment...

Don't even attempt to ask...

;)


distant.star

  • 1D X Mark II
  • *******
  • Posts: 1818
    • Tracy's Shooting Gallery
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #34 on: May 24, 2013, 01:04:28 PM »
F9 indoors?

My friend who used to photograph weddings once wondered why his flash couldn't keep up at f5.6 when inside.  I have enough troubles at f2.8.
To be honest if your friend was wondering that, then I'm wondering what he was doing shooting weddings in the first place.


Lol....which says a lot about a large amount of the current crop of new wedding photographers....have camera...can click a button in Auto. After all, P is for Professional..right?


Do you think this is really true? It's disheartening for me to think that any professional photographers are shooting this way. Most of the young folks I talk with who are getting into the business have some decent training and really understand theory and their equipment. I can't see any of them working that way.
You're offended? Oh, really! Life IS offense -- get used to it.

PhotographAdventure

  • Canon AE-1
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
  • Snapshot Quality
    • Harrisburg Wedding Photographer
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #35 on: May 24, 2013, 03:42:13 PM »
F9 indoors?

My friend who used to photograph weddings once wondered why his flash couldn't keep up at f5.6 when inside.  I have enough troubles at f2.8.
To be honest if your friend was wondering that, then I'm wondering what he was doing shooting weddings in the first place.


Lol....which says a lot about a large amount of the current crop of new wedding photographers....have camera...can click a button in Auto. After all, P is for Professional..right?


Do you think this is really true? It's disheartening for me to think that any professional photographers are shooting this way. Most of the young folks I talk with who are getting into the business have some decent training and really understand theory and their equipment. I can't see any of them working that way.

But don't bash P mode too bad.  If done correctly, there is a 'Professional' technique to using it.  I saw it on Creative Live.  I forget the photographers name doing the session, but he was definitely a high end wedding photographer using P mode to get an initial exposure, locking it, recomposing, and capturing the photo.  He said it allowed him to dial into the proper exposure quickly to capture those instant moments.  This versus using manual or av mode, which he said slowed him down and he would often miss the moment.

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3111
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #36 on: May 24, 2013, 08:29:45 PM »
Thanks guys.

I do not have the RAW file anymore from the first shot.  They go quickly, sorry. 

@rpt, when I print 8x10's I do have to add exposure in post, it seems no matter how much I ETTR.  So I hear you on the printing part!
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #36 on: May 24, 2013, 08:29:45 PM »

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3111
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #37 on: May 24, 2013, 10:25:09 PM »
This is is at ISO4000, and I've seen others post at this high with no problems like I'm seeing.

ISO 4000 is not a "real" ISO.

The "real" ISO settings are 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, (maybe) 6400.

The "inbetweeners" (320, 640, 1250, 5000, 4000, etc) are all one of the above underexposed and then pulled up.

According to a paper I have, the +1/3's are pulled up and +2/3's are pulled down (from the next real ISO).
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3111
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #38 on: May 24, 2013, 10:25:56 PM »
Better examples:  Photo 1 is the unedited RAW file converted straight to jpg.  I've then included two versions of edited photos.  You can edit it them any way you'd want, I just applied two presets I happened to have to illustrate the point.  This shot is at ISO 5000 and shot about +2/3 at this end of the court.

At ISO 5000 with +2/3, you've introduced more noise due to the drop in IQ as a result of amplification than you have compensated for with overexposure.

Wrong.
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3111
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #39 on: May 24, 2013, 10:37:46 PM »
Better examples:  Photo 1 is the unedited RAW file converted straight to jpg.  I've then included two versions of edited photos.  You can edit it them any way you'd want, I just applied two presets I happened to have to illustrate the point.  This shot is at ISO 5000 and shot about +2/3 at this end of the court.

At ISO 5000 with +2/3, you've introduced more noise due to the drop in IQ as a result of amplification than you have compensated for with overexposure.

Wrong.

What makes you believe that my comment is wrong?

Because you said ISO 5000 is 3200 amplified by 2/3 stops.  Did you, or did you not, imply that?  When in fact, according to my paper, it is not.
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Zeiss 50mm F 0.7
  • ***********
  • Posts: 12373
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #40 on: May 24, 2013, 10:57:33 PM »
Realizing that there is not a whole lot that can be done with a low resolution jpeg, here is my try using lightroom.  I brightened it up 1.5 stops, corrected colors, added NR, and sharpness.
 

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3111
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #41 on: May 24, 2013, 10:57:47 PM »
Thanks.  I understand what you are saying.  I'm not sure, but I read somewhere where the last real ISO on the 1Dx was higher than 3200.  I have to find it though so I don't want to say for sure.  At any rate, my 5000 shots are less noisy than 6400, for sure.  I'm not sure about my 5D3, I haven't used it much that high.

But I do get what you are saying.
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

cayenne

  • 5DSR
  • *******
  • Posts: 1403
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #42 on: May 28, 2013, 07:54:38 PM »

I'm not familiar with ETTR...what is that?

Expose to the right...

Edit: iPad changed my word "Expose" to "Exposé"! Wow! Corrected it...


Ahh..ok.  A new acronym to learn.

So, the advice I'm getting, is to overexpose on darker indoor pics, right?

I'm still VERY much the noob.

I'm trying to learn to only shoot manual. I generally pick an aperture I want, then ISO as low as I can guess I can get it, and then when shooting, I try to adjust shutter speed till the exposure is about right.

When I've been doing video, I'd found that it worked MUCH better if I slightly underexposed, and in Post I've been able to do much more with it.

It seems the advice here so far, is, that I should over expose at higher ISO's indoors...for still images?

Also, I'm wondering if something may be amiss with my lens. I was using my 17-40mm f/4 lens.

I've found many of my images not only seem noisy, but also BAD with focus. I was shooting the other night with it, and I have it set to One Shot, with AF set to the first expansion using the 4 points surrounding the center (cross shaped). Anyway, the other night using it, I noticed on many shots, the focus points didn't seem to illuminate red like they usually do, I wonder if something might be amiss with the lens? I bought it used....

I do use the 'joystick' controller on the back to move the focus around to where I want it....

I'm attaching 3x more..these were more indicative of my shooting with the bright behind my dad, etc.

I know, bad WB, I saw that later.

I'll admit, I was indulging quite a bit in the cocktails...but even so, most of these were only after one drink starting the 2nd one.

Of late, MANY of my shots just seem to look like cr@p like this....
:(

These were shot in RAW, and I've just made jpgs of them at 50% size...these are straight out of the camera.
I can fix a lot in post usually, but I can't seem to make anything useful out of these with the noise and focus problems.

Thanks so far for all the advice, I'm still trying to digest it all.....please keep the suggestions coming.

cayenne

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #42 on: May 28, 2013, 07:54:38 PM »

cayenne

  • 5DSR
  • *******
  • Posts: 1403
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #43 on: May 28, 2013, 08:03:58 PM »
Do you have Highlight Tone Priority (User Manual page 146) and Auto Lighting Optimizer  (User Manual Page 142) turned "OFF" in the menus?  I didn't bother to read through the replies so perhaps this has been mentioned already but that is the first thing I did when I noticed that my 5D3 had more noise than I expected.
No, both of those are turned off.

cayenne

  • 5DSR
  • *******
  • Posts: 1403
Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #44 on: May 28, 2013, 08:06:30 PM »
Is there a way to get the RAW files posted on here for ya'll to play with and maybe give me some pointers on?

C

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Why is my 5D3 so noisy???
« Reply #44 on: May 28, 2013, 08:06:30 PM »