July 29, 2014, 07:30:38 PM

Author Topic: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5  (Read 6492 times)

Malte_P

  • Guest
Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« on: June 12, 2013, 04:58:10 AM »
Quote
Warning Warning Warning

One thing I don't like is a very dangerous Publish-related bug that remains in the final 5.0, that can cause you to delete your master images without even realizing it!

The problem is that the selection shown in a Publish Grid may not be the actual set of selected images, and so when you intend to perform operations (update metadata, delete images, export, etc.) on what you see as the selected images, it might not happen... a completely different set of images may be affected (updated, deleted, exported).


http://regex.info/blog/2013-06-10/2268


i found LR 5 very buggy.

jpg export bug, healing brush very sluggish, error messages when doing a reset (on mac), now this nasty bug. and there are a lot more. :(

seems like adobe has fired the QE department and replaced it with people who do PR for the cloud.   ::)
« Last Edit: June 12, 2013, 05:01:31 AM by Malte_P »

canon rumors FORUM

Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« on: June 12, 2013, 04:58:10 AM »

Click

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2604
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2013, 06:38:54 AM »

...seems like adobe has fired the QE department and replaced it with people who do PR for the cloud.   ::)

 ;D ;)


Rienzphotoz

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3321
  • Peace unto all ye Canon, Nikon & Sony shooters
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2013, 06:48:07 AM »
I just double checked all my images ... everything seems to be in order ... have not found anything to be buggy yet.
Canon 5DMK3 70D | Nikon D610 | Sony a7 a6000 | RX100M3 | 16-35/2.8LII | 70-200/2.8LISII | 100/2.8LIS | 100-400LIS | 40/2.8 | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8 | 600EX-RTx2 | ST-E3-RT | 24/3.5 T-S | 10-18/4 OSS 16-50 | 24-70/4OSS | 55/1.8 | 55-210 OSS | 70-200/4 OSS | 28-300VR | HVL-F43M | GoPro Black 3+ & DJI Phantom

shutterwideshut

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • IR and Long Exposure junkie
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2013, 06:54:33 AM »
I just double checked all my images ... everything seems to be in order ... have not found anything to be buggy yet.

+1. So am I. Everything seems okay for now.  ???
My Flickr
5D3 ı 7D ı 50D(IR) ı 20D(IR) ı TS-E24 f/3.5L II ı 17-40 f/4L ı 24-70 f/2.8L II ı 70-200 f/4L IS ı 100 f/2.8L  Macro IS ı 40 f/2.8 ı 50 f/1.4 ı 85 f/1.8 ı 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 ı Lensbaby Composer Pro ı Rokinon 8mm ı 600EX-RT/ST-E3-RT

yellowkamper

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2013, 08:15:23 AM »
Mine is working fine with no problems on a Mac

Click

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2604
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2013, 08:32:00 AM »
No problem so far.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2013, 08:32:00 AM »

bchernicoff

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
    • View Profile
    • My Photos
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2013, 08:57:41 AM »
Mine is running well on Mac. Seems faster. I was unsure about upgrading due to the lack of new features, but a speed difference is probably worth it given how much time I spend in there.
6D, Fuji X-E1
Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC, Canon 50mm f/1.2L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 400mm f/2.8L II, 100mm L IS Macro, Sigma 85mm, & 35mm f/1.4's, Rokinon 14mm f/2.8, Canon 2x Extender II, Kenko 1.4x, 430 EX II, Elinchroms

bornshooter

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 702
  • Love L series glass
    • View Profile
    • my flickr
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2013, 09:11:50 AM »
healing brush is painfully slow on a retina mbp,it's unusable.

Rienzphotoz

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3321
  • Peace unto all ye Canon, Nikon & Sony shooters
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2013, 03:57:09 AM »
healing brush is painfully slow on a retina mbp,it's unusable.
Strange, (if I'm not wrong) your MBP is a newer model thine mine, I use a 13 inch MBP (Mid 2012), 2.9 GHz, 16 GB DDR) and the healing brush, in LR5, is not at all slow.
Canon 5DMK3 70D | Nikon D610 | Sony a7 a6000 | RX100M3 | 16-35/2.8LII | 70-200/2.8LISII | 100/2.8LIS | 100-400LIS | 40/2.8 | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8 | 600EX-RTx2 | ST-E3-RT | 24/3.5 T-S | 10-18/4 OSS 16-50 | 24-70/4OSS | 55/1.8 | 55-210 OSS | 70-200/4 OSS | 28-300VR | HVL-F43M | GoPro Black 3+ & DJI Phantom

bycostello

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
    • London Weddings
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2013, 04:13:06 AM »
the upgrade and new features way out weigh any bugs....  which they will fix shortly i'm sure...

Maxaperture

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • My two penneth worth
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2013, 04:51:01 AM »
Morning all, the healing brush can be sluggish if you're using 3rd party pointer drivers. i.e. if you're using a Wacom tablet (as I and many others do) or if you're using manufacture specific mouse drivers.
Now you've installed LR5, try re-installing the pointer drivers to overwrite any buggy LR drivers.
Also:
Have the RAW cahe set to 20Gb, it seems excessive, but it makes a huge difference to LR performance.
Turn off auto-write for XMP too, this will make editing response much faster. Unless you're constantly opening the same RAW files in other app's, the XMP sidecar file isn't needed, any edit changes made to a file, are in the catalogue anyway.
Here's a very relevant link to Adobe's tips on performance boost, unless your machine is old tat, ignore the system requirements bit.
http://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/kb/optimize-performance-lightroom.html
5DIII  -  500mm f/4 IS  -  70-200mkII -  Tammy 24-70 2.8 VC  -  Siggy 150mm 2.8 OS macro and the stunning 2x MkIII TC

ColinMulcahy

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2013, 05:03:48 AM »
Hi,

I've been heavy at work with LR 5 since it was officially released the other day.

I have noticed that it's speedier and generally more productive. The sluggishness seems to be gone.

1). However, quite frequently when using adjustments I cannot reselect an existing pin to edit it. Therefore I have to restart the program numerous times during a work session to reset it.

2). Be careful updating, deleting and writing metadata etc. I have noticed that what I thought I had selected  and carried out actions on can be completely different images. I have deleted masters in error because of this. Luckily I can just drag back from trash.

3). In Develop mode the sort order of images can change from capture order to user order when deleting files from stacks and the orphaned files end up being reorder to the right. This is what leads to deleting the wrong files.

4). Coincidentally I also had to repair my HD permissions after installing LR 5 as I could not move files to trash within the program.

Other than those few issues that I have to deal with I'm happy to plough ahead.... :-)

Colin


canon rumors FORUM

Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2013, 05:03:48 AM »

hamada

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2013, 05:55:10 AM »
have not found anything to be buggy yet.


well beside that this means nothing... some of the bugs are random.
here is a list of known issues:


Quote
Known Issues
 ■Fullscreen Mode does not show the next image in your selection. This occurs only when you have selected a series of images before entering Fullscreen mode.
 ■Video playback is not currently supported in Fullscreen mode.
 ■There is no error message informing that offline photos and videos are not exported to slideshows.
 ■The slide after a video clip is often not shown.  This only occurs when using the Manual Slideshow feature.
 ■Custom slideshow templates will default to 480×270 on export. This only impacts custom slideshow templates created in previous versions of Lightroom.
 ■The slideshow appears as a black screen occasionally.  This only occurs when a video file is chosen as the first slide.
 ■Star ratings cannot be applied while previewing or viewing a Slideshow.
 ■Deleting a book in the Book Module may occasionally cause another book to disappear.
 ■XMP metadata changes are not automatically written to file when the original file is offline.
 ■Canon cameras are not detected when using Tethered Capture in Windows 8.  This only occurs on Windows 8.
 ■Offline photos go missing from Lightroom when moving folder of images to a different volume.
 ■GPS metadata on videos created on an Apple iPhone is not imported.
 ■Basic metadata is not imported with video files.  This only occurs when imported directly from the camera.   As a workaround, please copy the files from camera to your harddrive and then import into Lightroom.
 ■When utilizing the “Merge to HDR” feature with Photoshop, the resulting HDR image contains metadata from the last selected photo.
 ■Photos adjusted using Process Version 2003 incorrectly display a “Post Crop Vignette: Paint Overlay” History step. Selecting a subsequent History State can reset existing settings that follow that state in the History panel. This reset cannot be undone, effectively deleting any settings that have been applied after the selected History State. This only occurs with images adjusted in PV2003.
 ■Images exported at less than 1/3 of their original size may not retain Output Sharpening and Noise Reduction settings.


http://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/


and that is only what they KNEW was broken in LR5.
no matter what you noticed in the 10 minutes you used LR ;) .. there are many bugs.

video for example is pretty useless. it´s completely asynchron for most of my videos.

the videos are perfectly fine but when i want to view them in LR they start fine and get more and more asynchron the longer they play. even freeware apps do this better.

the preview speed is improved. something i never had problems with but it behaved very stange and inconsistent for some.
but now many complain about very sluggish local adjustment tools.
give one.. take one...  ::)

printing seems to have issues with some printer who work fine in LR 4.4.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2013, 06:05:28 AM by hamada »

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4356
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2013, 06:01:05 AM »
■Images exported at less than 1/3 of their original size may not retain Output Sharpening and Noise Reduction settings.

Doh - but Adobe always update the old LR version a couple of times (like LR 4.7) because they are aware the also consumer-oriented LR isn't rock stable in the .0 versions and when they introduce something completely new like a new process ... so if you need safety always keep using the old version until the .1 update.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Serious Bug in Lightroom 5
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2013, 06:01:05 AM »