July 28, 2014, 07:40:42 AM

Author Topic: 35mm film body  (Read 2947 times)

bleephotography

• Rebel T5i
    • View Profile
Re: 35mm film body
« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2013, 04:48:21 AM »
Thank you all for great tips, I'm aware that film body is mainly only about autofocus (if it have some, right?  ;) ) and build quality and rest is up to film, so it looks like EOS 3 is ideal for me. I checked some reviews, and I can't wait to try it with my 24-70 II   ::)
1V looks great too, but I don't feel like spending so much money on film body, which I want (right now) only as an experiment.

Can you also please recommend some films? I would also appreciate some sample photos and maybe some good and bad experiences, thanks

Well, I'm new to film so take this with a grain of salt...but it largely depends on your ISO needs and whether you want to shoot in color or B&W; it also depends on whether you plan on printing and/or scanning the film.

If you are looking for color and would prefer a smoother image or you're shooting with ample light, the Fujifilm Velvia 100 comes highly recommended pretty much everywhere. Now if you're looking for B&W and prefer a little texture/grain, I've heard only great things about Ilford HP5 Plus 400 and it costs only $5/roll.

Also, check out this thread (especially Sw1tchFX's post), which I found doing a quick google search:
http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/film-discussion-q/292614-35mm-color-b-w-film-recommendations.html

Keep in mind that some film are more forgiving when pushed than others, so that may be another factor to look into. I'm sure someone here with more experience will be able to chime in...
« Last Edit: July 01, 2013, 05:18:11 AM by bleephotography »
70D  |  40 STM  |  18-135 STM  |  55-250 STM  |  320EX  |  PCB Einstein

canon rumors FORUM

« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2013, 04:48:21 AM »

gferdinandsen

• EOS M2
  • was mich nicht umbringt, macht mich stärker
    • View Profile
    • Home