December 10, 2016, 12:11:27 AM

Author Topic: ISO Setting  (Read 6222 times)


canon rumors FORUM

Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2013, 03:02:17 AM »

adhocphotographer

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 639
    • John Rowell Photography
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2013, 03:03:15 AM »
I generally use it unless i specifically want low noise or am shooting portraits with flash etc...

Personal preference... 
5D MkIII
16-35L IS, 24L II, 70-200L IS II, 500L IS II
-------www.john-rowell.com--------

axeri

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2013, 04:40:15 AM »
Now that I use a 5DMIII it is the first time I use autoISO almost all the time, outdoors my usual setting is Av with autoISO and often 1/3 or 2/3 of positive exposure compensation. In manual mode there is no way to adjust exposure, so I avoid it if I can.

Eldar

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3055
    • Flickr
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2013, 05:42:29 AM »
I find the auto ISO performance of the 1DX to be amongst its most usable features. When I do wildlife, birds and macro shots, I want to have full control over both shutter speed and aperture and therefore primarily use manual mode. Avaliable lighting can shift dramatically and by using any of the program modes (P, Av, Tv), you only control either shutter speed or aperture and not both. With fast moving objects and long lenses, you first need to find whatever you are shooting in the viewer, than try to frame it, then get the focusing right and on top of this adjust ISO settings by controlling shutter and aperture. Puuhhh :-X

On earlier bodies (1DsIII, 5DII etc.) I actually never used it, to secure the lowest possible ISO settings. But many shots were ruined by slow shutter speed (Av mode) or too deep or too shallow DOF (Tv mode). With the high ISO performance on the 1DX, that is much less of a worry and I rather accept occational grainyness, with proper DOF and shutter speed, than the alternative.

/Eldar
Canonite and Zeissoholic ...

Skirball

  • Canon 7D MK II
  • *****
  • Posts: 463
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2013, 10:44:37 AM »
I'll readily use it if I'm shooting Av/Tv and in variable light conditions.  I would use it all the time if they added an exposure compensation function so I could shoot in manual.

For those that use it, is your ISO set to 1/3 or full stops?

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 20045
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2013, 10:47:41 AM »
For those that use it, is your ISO set to 1/3 or full stops?

It doesn't matter, Auto ISO will use 1/3-stop settings.  The full stop option applies only to manually selecting an ISO.  I do have that set to full stops, to make changing ISO faster.
EOS 1D X, EOS M2, lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Skirball

  • Canon 7D MK II
  • *****
  • Posts: 463
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2013, 10:49:55 AM »
For those that use it, is your ISO set to 1/3 or full stops?

It doesn't matter, Auto ISO will use 1/3-stop settings.  The full stop option applies only to manually selecting an ISO.  I do have that set to full stops, to make changing ISO faster.

Interesting, didn't know that.  Thanks.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2013, 10:49:55 AM »