September 03, 2014, 03:48:31 AM

Author Topic: ISO Setting  (Read 3133 times)

mbworldz

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
ISO Setting
« on: July 30, 2013, 05:27:48 PM »
Does anyone use the "A" auto ISO on your 5D Mark III and 1DX ?   Just trying to see what other pro is using. 

canon rumors FORUM

ISO Setting
« on: July 30, 2013, 05:27:48 PM »

RLPhoto

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3374
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2013, 06:16:59 PM »
Rarely.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14047
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2013, 06:34:34 PM »
Often.  With limits.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Ryan708

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
  • Less bickering, more shooting
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2013, 07:37:26 PM »
I use auto a decent amount, and set the limit on a regular basis, but never with flash work, as it "auto" sets to 400. But I also only run a 60D
60D, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4, Tamron 70-300 4-5.6 VC, EF 50mm 1.8II, and a Sigma EF-610 DG superflash

Harry Muff

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • My Flickr:
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2013, 08:08:17 PM »
All the time. Tv set to the minimum and the aperture can do what it wants indoors.


Outdoors in good light, Av with Auto ISO.




I'd rather have a some noise to clean up than miss the shot altogether.
Some cameras… With Canon written on them. Oh, and some lenses… Also with Canon written on them. Oh, and a shiny camera with Fuji written on it too...

Feel free to have a wander round my flickr

AudioGlenn

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 351
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2013, 08:22:40 PM »
All the time. Tv set to the minimum and the aperture can do what it wants indoors.


Outdoors in good light, Av with Auto ISO.




I'd rather have a some noise to clean up than miss the shot altogether.

+1
5D mkIII  |  40 f/2.8 | 8-15 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | 1.4x III TC | 600ex-rt | 430 ex ii | EOS M+22mm f/2 | EF to EF-M adapter

rpt

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2142
  • Could not wait for 7D2 so I got the 5D3
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2013, 09:06:02 PM »
The camera is a pro body that is set to auto ISO but I am not a pro photog :)
That is when I am shooting in M mode and the light is going to vary quickly due to changing angle of the shot and I would not have time to fix the ISO...

canon rumors FORUM

Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2013, 09:06:02 PM »

privatebydesign

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2267
  • Ermintrude says "moo"
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2013, 09:08:55 PM »
Never.

Bit I can understand why others use it.
The best time to plant a tree is twenty-five years ago. The second best time is today.

Click

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2924
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2013, 09:10:09 PM »

CTJohn

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2013, 09:11:29 PM »
EOS 6D * EOS 7D * Powershot S110 * EF 24/105 f/4L * EF 70-300 f/4-5.6L * EF 100 f/2.8L Macro

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8490
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2013, 12:02:43 AM »
Occasionally, when lighting conditions are rapidly changing and I don't want to fool with it. 

JPAZ

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
  • If only I knew what I was doing.....
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2013, 01:32:27 AM »
The 5diii has spoiled me.  I use auto ios most of the time and don't get too concerned because the noise is so low.
5d Mkiii; Eos-M; too many lenses; 430 EXii and a whole lot of stuff

Grumbaki

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2013, 01:48:00 AM »
Never.

Bit I can understand why others use it.

That

canon rumors FORUM

Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2013, 01:48:00 AM »

Rienzphotoz

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3322
  • Peace unto all ye Canon, Nikon & Sony shooters
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2013, 02:18:51 AM »
I use it rarely ... when it is used, it is when the lighting conditions are unpredictable ... to give you an example: while I'm doing bird photography where there are lots of trees/thickets I use Auto ISO, bcoz if the bird I'm shooting, in well lit with direct sunlight, suddenly goes to perch on a thicket or a branch where it isn't getting enough light to capture the image, I may not have the time to change ISO manually.
Canon 5DMK3 70D | Nikon D610 | Sony a7 a6000 | RX100M3 | 16-35/2.8LII | 70-200/2.8LISII | 100/2.8LIS | 100-400LIS | 40/2.8 | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8 | 600EX-RTx2 | ST-E3-RT | 24/3.5 T-S | 10-18/4 OSS 16-50 | 24-70/4OSS | 55/1.8 | 55-210 OSS | 70-200/4 OSS | 28-300VR | HVL-F43M | GoPro Black 3+ & DJI Phantom

Vossie

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2013, 02:54:31 AM »
I use it rarely. Changing iso manually can be done very quickly without even taking your eye from the viewfinder.
5D3, 16-35LII, 24-70 2.8LII, 24-105L, 85LII, 70-200 2.8LII, 100L, 135L, 100-400L, 50 1.4, 40 2.8, Sigma 180 3.5 EX, 1.4x TC III, 600EX, 550EX

canon rumors FORUM

Re: ISO Setting
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2013, 02:54:31 AM »