November 23, 2014, 04:19:06 PM

Author Topic: 5D sensor problem?  (Read 1966 times)

vinhdn

  • SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
5D sensor problem?
« on: August 21, 2013, 10:39:05 AM »
Hi guys,

I bought a 5D classic two years ago. Everything of the camera was great to me. I really love it. However, yesterday, I tried to take a photo with no light, and the photo completely broke my heart. I set the ISO at 50 and speed was just 1/500. The format is Raw, I just used Picasa to convert to jpg. The photo looks like this:


I was taken a back. Immediately, I took another photo of my room. It seems to be that there was nothing wrong with the second photo (I guess that):



I already re-update the firware, but the problem is still. Who knows what happened to my camera?

canon rumors FORUM

5D sensor problem?
« on: August 21, 2013, 10:39:05 AM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
  • *********
  • Posts: 9143
    • View Profile
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2013, 06:34:05 PM »
A photo with no light?  What you are probably seeing is a attempt to pull a non existent image up many stops so that you see garbage.  You can do this by putting a cap on your lens.
 
ISO 50 and 1/500 sec requires a lot of light, outdoor type light.
 
Don't set your software to auto exposure adjustment, its trying to do the impossible.

BozillaNZ

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 07:25:37 AM »
It's the RAW processing software getting confused and tries to auto-exposure adjust a black frame.

As a result, that's completely normal. What you see is the electronic noise when you push completely black sensor data 5-6 stops. This image is supposed to be COMPLETELY BLACK.

If you don't see, or don't want to see this patterned colorful glory, go buy a D800. (me ducks...)
Look ma, me cameraz can push shadow 10 stoops w/o noizes, OMGWTFBBQChickenwingHaxorz!!!11
www.flickr.com/photos/bozillanz/

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • **********
  • Posts: 14929
    • View Profile
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2013, 08:28:56 AM »
If you don't see, or don't want to see this patterned colorful glory, go buy a D800. (me ducks...)

Where's Mikael when you need him?  ::)
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

adhocphotographer

  • Canon 7D MK II
  • *****
  • Posts: 556
    • View Profile
    • An ad hoc photographer
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2013, 08:41:51 AM »
:P All the above posts apply and explain...  :) No problem with the camera, but maybe the user! Luckily for you, it is cheaper to fix than there being a problem with the camera! :)
5D MkIII & 100D
17-40L, 24L II, 24-105L, 70-200L, 500L II
-------www.adhocphotographer.com--------

vinhdn

  • SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2013, 09:25:34 AM »
Thanks guys a lot. I have checked what you said. That's right! Picasa seems to increase exposure automatically. However, I have checked the image with Image Fastone and Photoshop. The image that is supposed to be completely black is not completely black at all. Here is the 100% crop of the image:



This photo is at 1/500s with no light at 400 iso. I still get this phenomenon at any Iso speed!

Is it because of the old camera?

Thanks in advance!

Invertalon

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2013, 09:40:00 AM »
There is no problem. Even the modern 5D3 will do the same if you take a picture of the back of the lens cap and push it 10 stops in post.

If it looks fine with normal pictures, it is fine.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2013, 09:40:00 AM »

duydaniel

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2013, 10:09:00 AM »
Try it on a 1DX and you will get the same.
This explains why aliens don't talk to us  ::)

MK5GTI

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2013, 10:19:26 AM »


I already re-update the firware, but the problem is still. Who knows what happened to my camera?

to the OP, is there a newer firware available for the 5Dc? I thought Canon never had an update?


awinphoto

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2010
    • View Profile
    • AW Photography
Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2013, 10:25:43 AM »
Damn those 5d's and taking photos with lens caps on in total darkness...  The 5d 3 has that friggen light leak issue, the 5d2 just cant focus, and now this?  What has Canon done to cripple our dark photo image capabilities?!? 
Canon 5d III, Canon 24-105L, Canon 17-40L, Canon 70-200 F4L, Canon 100L 2.8, Canon 85 1.8, 430EX 2's and a lot of bumps along the road to get to where I am.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5D sensor problem?
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2013, 10:25:43 AM »