April 21, 2014, 10:50:49 AM

Author Topic: Is it possible?  (Read 1695 times)

CounterPS

  • PowerShot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Is it possible?
« on: August 28, 2013, 03:22:33 PM »
So I recently came across a CMOS sensor lot for sale and began to wonder if it was possible to swap a APS-C for an Full Frame sensor on a 7D body. If anyone knows if this is possible, and if any software changes are needed that would be awesome.

canon rumors FORUM

Is it possible?
« on: August 28, 2013, 03:22:33 PM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • *******
  • Posts: 12795
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2013, 03:26:53 PM »
The mirror is too small, the VF is too small, etc.  So...no.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

bycostello

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
    • London Weddings
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2013, 03:32:01 PM »
i think it'd be a case of round peg square hole sort of thing....

ajfotofilmagem

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 685
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2013, 04:10:26 PM »
To accomplish such a thing there are only two options: 1 Using a magic beam to "stretch" the camera, mirror, viewfinder, etc.. :o 2 Use scissors to "cut" the full frame sensor to fit the space on the camera. ;D

kennephoto

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2013, 04:34:55 PM »
Buy a broken full frame camera, or put it in a old film camera!
Canon 5d Mark II Canon 1D classic EOSM 20-35 2.8L 50 1.2L 135 2.0L 80-200 2.8L 40 Pancake and a bunch of old film cameras

RomainF

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2013, 05:17:54 PM »
Buy a broken full frame camera, or put it in a old film camera!

Yeah, if anyone could make a film-sensor, to use our old beast cameras...
Imagine getting back your 1964 Nikon F or your Canon EOS 3 with the insane eye-controled-af...
Leica & Canon
35 1.4 for both ; ultra-wide & teles for the Canon

paul13walnut5

  • Guest
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2013, 05:27:53 PM »
Its got to be worth a shot.  You could get round the mirror box size by having the cmos mounted further back so there is more space for the light to project onto full frame.  A reversed close up filter in the space inbetween would take care of back focus.  Sounds like a winner.  I can lend you a craft knife and some gloy gum if you like.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2013, 05:27:53 PM »

Nishi Drew

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2013, 05:31:08 AM »
How much for the sensor/lot? Coupled with the going price for a used 7D today... yep, it's very possible, sell the 7D and save from not buying the sensor and get a used 5DII  8)

Or get a 5Dc, or forget Canon and get a used D700, so many FF options for the cheap theses days~

BUT, I am curious, if it is at all possible to stick an FF sensor into your camera, I am very sure beyond the multitude of hardware limitations, the firmware would need a major tweak though

sandymandy

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2013, 06:29:14 AM »
i think it'd be a case of round peg square hole sort of thing....

round hole, square peg isnt it? :P

dickgrafixstop

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2013, 07:32:16 AM »
Yes.  As my old granny used to say, "given enough time and money, any fool can do anything!"

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Is it possible?
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2013, 07:32:16 AM »