September 18, 2014, 02:16:40 AM

Author Topic: Setup Question 600ex-rt  (Read 1892 times)

oliman200

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Setup Question 600ex-rt
« on: September 06, 2013, 06:40:17 PM »
Hi,

I Just got my new Canon 600ex-rt. I have a Canon 7d, a flash 430ex II, and a pair of yongnuo yn-662c wireless flash trigger transceiver.

Basically what I want to do is put one of my transeiver on my camera, to fire my 630ex and I want my 430ex II to fire as a slave.

I'm able to do it, when my flash is on my camera, but I can't do it when my 630ex-rt is mount to my yn-622c.

Is there a non-compatibility with those two? What should I do ?

Sorry for my bad english, I speak french.

Olivier  :)

canon rumors FORUM

Setup Question 600ex-rt
« on: September 06, 2013, 06:40:17 PM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14390
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 06:50:15 PM »
Do you require radio triggering?  The 600 can trigger the 430 optically.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

oliman200

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2013, 07:20:31 PM »
Yes I try to put my 600ex-rt as a master with optical trigger, but my yn-622c keep changing my setting when I'm about to take a picture.

duydaniel

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2013, 07:27:42 PM »
I found optical triggering disastrous outdoor from a third party flash.
Not sure how better is the Canon but if you are in some serious business, don't gamble with this

oliman200

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2013, 11:24:47 AM »
What should do if i want to use both of my flashes outside with my 7d ?

Daniel Flather

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 855
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2013, 12:17:49 PM »
What should do if i want to use both of my flashes outside with my 7d ?

With the 600 on the 7D you can fire/trigger the 430.  If you can afford another 600, also buy the new ST-E3-RT transmitter.  Sell the 430.  I have three 600s and the ST-E3-RT, and it's rock solid relaiblily inside and out.

I have no experience with your third party flash units.
| 5D3 | 8-15L | 24L II | 35L | 50L | 85L II | 100/2.8 | 200/2L | EOS M | 22 STM |

oliman200

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2013, 11:59:16 AM »
Ok, thank you, I don't much money for now. I'm not doing it professionnaly. I only have some contracts and I was wondering if I could do something with the hardware I have.

But in the future I'll think about getting another 600 and a st-e3-rt

Thank you :)

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2013, 11:59:16 AM »

RAKAMRAK

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2013, 03:11:12 PM »
Hi,

I Just got my new Canon 600ex-rt. I have a Canon 7d, a flash 430ex II, and a pair of yongnuo yn-662c wireless flash trigger transceiver.

Basically what I want to do is put one of my transeiver on my camera, to fire my 630ex and I want my 430ex II to fire as a slave.

I'm able to do it, when my flash is on my camera, but I can't do it when my 630ex-rt is mount to my yn-622c.

Is there a non-compatibility with those two? What should I do ?

Sorry for my bad english, I speak french.

Olivier  :)

Let me see if I understood correctly, are you putting the 430 on the second YN622c and still it is not working?
Need to learn a lot more.
My Flickr Page

oliman200

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2013, 07:21:08 PM »
No I only got two 622c so one on my 600ex and one on my canon 7d

RAKAMRAK

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2013, 07:49:39 PM »
Ok, I do not have those flashes of yours so I myself cannot give any solution to your problem. But see if this document has anything useful for you

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B77OmmGIg0gMVFpqNkpBYXBHajA/edit?pli=1
Need to learn a lot more.
My Flickr Page

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Setup Question 600ex-rt
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2013, 07:49:39 PM »