August 23, 2014, 11:42:19 AM

Author Topic: Whats wrong with my XTi  (Read 2013 times)

chilakamarthi

• Power Shot G16
    • View Profile
Whats wrong with my XTi
« on: September 12, 2013, 05:30:37 PM »
I bought this Camera in late 2007 used condition. I just used with auto mode all the years till last year. Last year I started learning on my own and it is gr8 experience to come out of auto mode.

In the process I observed that I could update it to latest firmware and I did it.

Off late I observed a problem with my camera. When camera power is off and if I take out the memory card and leave camera as is, after some time, I see display turns on and couple of times, it drained out complete battery.

Anyone experienced this issue? Any suggestion?

Thanks

6D, 24-105 f4, 70-200 f4, 50mm 1.8mm

neuroanatomist

• CR GEEK
    • View Profile
Re: Whats wrong with my XTi
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 06:31:59 PM »
After you ran the firmware update, did you pull the battery then replace it after a few seconds?
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses

chilakamarthi

• Power Shot G16
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 07:39:58 PM »
I exactly dont remember. If it is given in steps, I might have done it.

Can I update firmware again and try?

Between, after updating the firmware, I took 1000 + images. No other issues observed...
« Last Edit: September 12, 2013, 07:41:40 PM by chilakamarthi »

Mt Spokane Photography

• Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 07:53:58 PM »
Obviously, you have removed the battery now,  the other thing to try is to go into the menus and reset the camera.
While you can re-install the firmware, its via a trick, and probably not something I'd recommend to the average user.

If this is the original battery, consider that it might just be failing, so try a new battery or at least a different one that is not 6 years old.  A battery is lucky to last more than 4-5 years.