April 19, 2014, 10:21:37 PM

Author Topic: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw  (Read 623 times)

Tabor Warren Photography

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« on: October 21, 2013, 08:24:42 PM »
Here's something *new*, for me at least.

Working with .CR2s in Camera Raw 6.7, Adobe PS CS5. I can pull an image into Camera Raw, however, the framework of tools, tabs, etc. shows, but there is no image in the box.

Now for the weird part; if I take the luminance to 0 everything returns to normal.
If it has any luminance at all, the image will not show up.
If I make the image show by taking the luminance to 0, then try to adjust anything, the image just sits there frozen, but the tabs can be moved around to no avail.

I'm stumped. I've used this program nearly every day for several years and this happens out of the blue.

Any help or ideas are appreciated.

Thank you all!
-Tabor
« Last Edit: October 21, 2013, 09:18:12 PM by Tabor Warren Photography »
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

canon rumors FORUM

Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« on: October 21, 2013, 08:24:42 PM »

Jim Saunders

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2013, 08:41:46 PM »
There was another thread earlier in a similar vein, different versions but the same basic problem.  Maybe Adobe (or someone else) updated something and shouldn't have.

Jim
I'd probably do better to invest more time and less money.

Tabor Warren Photography

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2013, 08:52:00 PM »
Hey Jim,

Thank you for your quick reply. Could it be possible the big guys want to "bug" me into the cloud? I hope not.

I looked through many many pages on the tech support forum here on CR, but to no avail, do you happen to remember any direct quotes or anything I could use to track down the aforementioned post?

Thank you again!
-Tabor
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

Valvebounce

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2013, 08:54:31 PM »
Hi Tabor.
If you are running on windows try a system restore to an earlier date, say a week or just before you noticed the problem, sometimes an automatic windows update can cause strange behaviour, also possible an automatic update to your software. Even a completely unrelated piece of software being installed can change files used by PS.

Cheers Graham.
7D Gripped, 40D Gripped*, *20D, 300D Saved a holiday now retired, *E-FS 17-85, E-FS 18-55 Kit lenses, Cosina 100-300, Sigma 150-500, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4 C, *50mm f1.8, 550EX some filters remotes tripod heads etc!
Still can't use most of it to its full potential! ;)  *=Purchased Used

Tabor Warren Photography

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2013, 08:59:27 PM »
Hi Graham,

That's not a bad idea. I'm not sure why that has not occurred to me yet. I'll give it a go-go!

Wish me luck! (These always make me nervous)  :D
-Tabor
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

Valvebounce

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2013, 09:03:36 PM »
Hi Tabor,
I would wish you luck but you don't want any of mine, I just had the turbo fail on my Landrover, I fixed (replaced) that then the window lift mechanism went crunch on the way home!
Cheers Graham.
7D Gripped, 40D Gripped*, *20D, 300D Saved a holiday now retired, *E-FS 17-85, E-FS 18-55 Kit lenses, Cosina 100-300, Sigma 150-500, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4 C, *50mm f1.8, 550EX some filters remotes tripod heads etc!
Still can't use most of it to its full potential! ;)  *=Purchased Used

Tabor Warren Photography

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2013, 09:07:05 PM »
AND I just lost my debit card... in Wal Mart.

I'll take anyone's luck at this point. lol
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2013, 09:07:05 PM »

Tabor Warren Photography

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2013, 09:17:33 PM »
Resolved! YAY!!!

I fixed so many things, I have no idea what did it, however, I know that I enabled, "use software rendering" under the "advanced" tab under "preferences" in addition to changing almost every thing I could find under preferences. I then shut down Bridge/PS, Ctrl+Alt+Delete to end the Bridge.exe etc. processes, restarted everything and Sha-Bam! It works again.

Thank you all once more,
-Tabor
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

Mt Spokane Photography

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 7711
    • View Profile
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2013, 09:30:12 PM »
And I got a letter from Adobe today saying that credit card info was decrypted and taken, which they first denied.  A invitation to signup for free CC monitoring.  I seem to get a loot of those invitations.

Tabor Warren Photography

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • I want to go shoot something with a Canon...
    • View Profile
    • Tabor Warren Photography
Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2013, 09:39:29 PM »
Spokane,

I've actually ready many accounts of the same thing you just described. The only letter I got was from Adobe saying, "dear loyal customer, use this coupon code to upgrade to the cloud!". To which I said, "no" to the mail.

I hope everyone's cards are safe, that would certainly be a big ole rain 'cloud'.

-Tabor
Bodies: 5D mk III x2, 5D mk. II, 7D, & 60D
Lenses: 17-40mm f/4L, 24mm f/1.4L, 35mm f/1.4L, 70-200mm f/2.8L ISII, 85 f/1.2L II, & 100mm f/2.8L
Flashes: 600EX-RT & 430 EX II | To see my work head on over to http://photosbytabor.com

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Adobe PS, Image Will Not Show in Raw
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2013, 09:39:29 PM »