August 20, 2014, 11:06:44 PM

Author Topic: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac  (Read 12619 times)

iKenndac

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2013, 08:49:24 AM »
Is it normal/expected/possible that cameras leave the factory with some actuations on them already? Quality assurance testing, maybe? What's your experience?

Yup. I'd actually be worried if my camera arrived without anyone bothering to see if it works! You can't buy a new car with 0 miles on the clock for similar reasons.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2013, 08:49:24 AM »

viggen61

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2013, 12:26:18 PM »
I checked my 7D with this app last night. Over 60k activations! That's 20k a year so far...

The total reported by the app and the serial of the last photo taken on mine (e.g. the "-XXXX") differ about 25. Or maybe 1,025... Anyway, not enough that I worried about it, and many can be attributed to the few videos I've taken with it, which do NOT show up in the shutter count reported by the App (apparently Canon can actually access the number of "mirror activations", but not this app.).
Canon 7D

wockawocka

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
    • Wedding Photography
Re: I can see it on my 1DX already...
« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2013, 05:55:24 PM »
The system status display on the 4th "tool" menu clearly displays the release cycles...
Unfortunately, I already have ~142000  :o

The 4th 'tool' menu of which app?

The in camera menu system of the 1DX. Under system status. Mine is 122000 cycles.
1DX, 5D3 and Hasselblad H Series owner.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13845
    • View Profile
Re: I can see it on my 1DX already...
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2013, 06:17:41 PM »
The system status display on the 4th "tool" menu clearly displays the release cycles...
Unfortunately, I already have ~142000  :o

The 4th 'tool' menu of which app?
The in camera menu system of the 1DX. Under system status. Mine is 122000 cycles.

Of course. Silly me...  Thanks!
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

alexturton

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • I shoot what i find interesting; nothing else
    • View Profile
    • My flickr
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2013, 06:24:17 PM »
wish I had this for my old 7d out of sheer curiosity. think it would have been over 300k.

my 5d3 @ 11k :)
Bodies: 5d mk iii, 60d
Primes: 24L 1.4, Sigma 35 1.4, 40 pancake, 50L 1.2, 85L 1.2 ii, 8mm fisheye, lensbaby, 100L macro.
Zooms: 16-35 2.8 ii, 24-70 2.8 ii, 70-200 2.8 is ii, 120-400

paul13walnut5

  • Guest
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2013, 07:18:27 PM »
13.5k on my 3 year old 7
6k on my 18 month old t3i
M wouldn't give away it's secrets.

Video count would probably add a good few k to the 7 and the t3i.

All it really tells me is that I need to shoot more time lapse.

eml58

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1418
  • 1Dx
    • View Profile
Re: I can see it on my 1DX already...
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2013, 07:53:18 PM »
The system status display on the 4th "tool" menu clearly displays the release cycles...
Unfortunately, I already have ~142000  :o

The 4th 'tool' menu of which app?
The in camera menu system of the 1DX. Under system status. Mine is 122000 cycles.

Of course. Silly me...  Thanks!

Didn't realise this existed, Thanks Guys.

My 1Dx Bodies show 120,000 & 160,000 (Damn that 12fps) hope the 1Dxs comes out soon.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing

canon rumors FORUM

Re: I can see it on my 1DX already...
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2013, 07:53:18 PM »

JohnUSA

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2013, 09:56:34 PM »
Worked for my 5D3. For video actuations we need to use Magic Lantern.

Harry Muff

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • My Flickr:
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2013, 11:03:12 PM »



Bought it. Cheers for the heads up.
Some cameras… With Canon written on them. Oh, and some lenses… Also with Canon written on them. Oh, and a shiny camera with Fuji written on it too...

Feel free to have a wander round my flickr

pwp

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1486
    • View Profile
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #24 on: October 24, 2013, 05:32:34 AM »
Bought it today...sheesh the 5D3 is over 100k already. The app doesn't recognize the 1D4.
I emailed support and got a prompt reply saying 1D4 will be added in the next update, very soon she promised.

But do I really want to know?

-pw

clicstudio

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 199
  • {+}
    • View Profile
    • clic::studio photography
Re: I can see it on my 1DX already...
« Reply #25 on: October 25, 2013, 09:28:10 AM »
The system status display on the 4th "tool" menu clearly displays the release cycles...
Unfortunately, I already have ~142000  :o

The 4th 'tool' menu of which app?
on camera tool menu.
Canon 1D X, Canon 24-70 F2.8L II,  Canon SpeedLite 600 EX-RT, 5x Paul C. Buff Einstein Flashes with Pocket Wizard PowerMC2's, Pocket Wizard Mini-TT1, Pocket Wizard AC3.

clicstudio

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 199
  • {+}
    • View Profile
    • clic::studio photography
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2013, 09:30:10 AM »
What a neat little app ... connected the camera to my Mac, turned it on, opened the app this is the screen I got ... short, sweet and darned simple
I guess you don't use your 5D3 much...
Canon 1D X, Canon 24-70 F2.8L II,  Canon SpeedLite 600 EX-RT, 5x Paul C. Buff Einstein Flashes with Pocket Wizard PowerMC2's, Pocket Wizard Mini-TT1, Pocket Wizard AC3.

Click

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2816
    • View Profile
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2013, 09:39:14 AM »



Bought it. Cheers for the heads up.

+1

Thanks for posting.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2013, 09:39:14 AM »

RomainF

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #28 on: October 25, 2013, 12:44:06 PM »
Works perfectly.
Really easier than the old way of processing, by paying 1.80 each time you wanna know your shutter count.

141 000 for my 5D2.

Thanks for the sharing.
Leica & Canon
35 1.4 for both ; ultra-wide & teles for the Canon

Rienzphotoz

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3322
  • Peace unto all ye Canon, Nikon & Sony shooters
    • View Profile
Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #29 on: October 25, 2013, 04:53:26 PM »
What a neat little app ... connected the camera to my Mac, turned it on, opened the app this is the screen I got ... short, sweet and darned simple
I guess you don't use your 5D3 much...
I'm not a professional photographer, its a hobby ... plus I have 2 other cameras that I use ... on an average I make 50 images a day and 5D MK III accounts for around 21 of those ... I consider it not too bad for a hobbyist. :)
Canon 5DMK3 70D | Nikon D610 | Sony a7 a6000 | RX100M3 | 16-35/2.8LII | 70-200/2.8LISII | 100/2.8LIS | 100-400LIS | 40/2.8 | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8 | 600EX-RTx2 | ST-E3-RT | 24/3.5 T-S | 10-18/4 OSS 16-50 | 24-70/4OSS | 55/1.8 | 55-210 OSS | 70-200/4 OSS | 28-300VR | HVL-F43M | GoPro Black 3+ & DJI Phantom

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Canon Shutter Actuation App for Mac
« Reply #29 on: October 25, 2013, 04:53:26 PM »