November 22, 2017, 07:04:28 PM

Author Topic: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question  (Read 2493 times)

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3152
1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« on: April 14, 2014, 11:41:44 AM »
Excuse my ignorance (not just on this topic, but everything else too). 

I noticed recently that having been shooting in Tv mode with a +2/3 EC, I must have changed some setting where it obeys the EC setting in Manual.  Not full manual obviously, but when using auto ISO.  So for instance if I shoot at 1/500s, +2/3 EC in Tv mode, then switch to M mode and set 1/500s, f/4, auto ISO, the +2/3 EC still remains and it adjusts accordingly.  Previously, when I switched from Av or Tv mode back to M mode, the EC bar was never there and I couldn't do it.  I wonder what I did?  I'll check through my settings more but could it be from the newest firmware version where you CAN do EC in M mode and I just didn't know it?  Thanks.
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

canon rumors FORUM

1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« on: April 14, 2014, 11:41:44 AM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 21774
Re: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2014, 11:44:53 AM »
...could it be from the newest firmware version where you CAN do EC in M mode and I just didn't know it?

Yes, that was one of the features added in the v2 firmware update. 

http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/standard_display/eos_1dx_afae_improve
EOS 1D X, EOS M2, lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Eldar

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3213
    • Flickr
Re: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2014, 11:47:15 AM »
Set your camera to M and ISO to auto. Push the Q-button. You´ll see a field called M. You can adjust your EC there, with the back wheel.
More equipment than skills, but everything is used :)
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/eldarhauge/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eldarhaugephotography

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3152
Re: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2014, 02:28:15 PM »
Thanks guys.  That's awesome.
2 x 1DX
B1G, MAC, GLIAC

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 4544
Re: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2014, 10:53:09 PM »
...could it be from the newest firmware version where you CAN do EC in M mode and I just didn't know it?

Yes, that was one of the features added in the v2 firmware update. 

http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/standard_display/eos_1dx_afae_improve

any reason why they cant add this to the 5Dmk3?
I want this feature so badly :(
APS-H Fanboy

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 21774
Re: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2014, 11:04:07 PM »
any reason why they cant add this to the 5Dmk3?

No technical reason, AFAIK.  Can and will aren't the same, unfortunately.  But they added f/8 AF to the 5DIII, so I'd say there's hope.
EOS 1D X, EOS M2, lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 4544
Re: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2014, 11:08:25 PM »
any reason why they cant add this to the 5Dmk3?

No technical reason, AFAIK.  Can and will aren't the same, unfortunately.  But they added f/8 AF to the 5DIII, so I'd say there's hope.

cool heres hoping.... fingers and toes all crossed
APS-H Fanboy

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 1Dx EC in Manual Mode Question
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2014, 11:08:25 PM »