December 19, 2014, 04:39:24 AM

Author Topic: Help: Amateur upgrade from a t2i to....  (Read 1687 times)

whitedjp

• SX60 HS
    • View Profile
Help: Amateur upgrade from a t2i to....
« on: February 23, 2014, 07:26:49 PM »
Hi all,

This is my first post on a forum ever haha. I am a hobbyist photographer in university who until recently has been shooting as a volunteer for the school newspaper. I have been thinking about a serious upgrade for my t2i for 2 years now (i have been shooting for 3 years) and have been saving accordingly. I currently own the 18-55 EFS, the canon 24-105L and a sigma 50mm 1.4. I have been trying to shoot 8-10 hours of sports a week in order to practice and mentally justify an upgrade. Generally I have been using the school's equipment (canon 7d and 70-200 marki) but have experience using the 5d3, d800e, nikon d4, and the canon 1dx for our championship events.

What sparked my decision to upgrade is the fact that i have been offered numerous opportunities to become a paid photographer for our newspaper and shoot paid events for clubs on the side. I also have hopes to travel after completing my degree, in which i hope to be able to photograph the trip using the gear that i acquire in my last years at university. Because of this, I believe that i can't keep using the school's equipment and i should get my own.

Therefore i need my camera to have quick autofocus for fast moving subjects and a high frame rate for capturing the action. I also regularly shoot portraits for friends but not for money. I am fortunate enough to say that money isn't as big of an issue, i am looking to spend around 5000$ and with the opportunity to get a paid position, i can say that the money earned there will mostly be also funnelled into camera gear as well. Even if i wasnt shooting for money, I would still be out shooting sports just as much :P