November 28, 2014, 11:07:20 AM

Author Topic: Canon 50mm f1.2L lens focus shift  (Read 1319 times)

Hjalmarg1

• Canon 70D
  • Photo Hobbyist
    • View Profile
Canon 50mm f1.2L lens focus shift
« on: January 06, 2014, 06:30:04 AM »
Hi,
anyone have experience focus shift and/or back/front focus with the Canon 50mm f1.2L lens? I am still learning to shoot with this and I think I have steady hands, however, sometimes (using single focus point) I experience front focus. I already applied AF microadjustment to -1 and looks to have improve but still difficult to nail.
Any though?
Body: 5DIII. Prime Lenses: 15mm f2.8, 100mm f2.8L IS, 35mm f2 IS, Extender EF 2X III.
Zoom Lenses: 16-35mm f4L IS, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS II. Others: Flash 580EX II, 270EX II & MR-14EX II

canon rumors FORUM

Canon 50mm f1.2L lens focus shift
« on: January 06, 2014, 06:30:04 AM »

neuroanatomist

• CR GEEK
    • View Profile
Re: Canon 50mm f1.2L lens focus shift
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2014, 06:46:40 AM »
I'll paste my previous comments from another thread:

The 50mm f/1.2L is something of a special case.  That lens suffers from a particularly bad focus shift (many lenses have some focus shift, especially, fast primes, but usually not enough to notice).  Focus shift is when the focal plane of the lens changes when you change the aperture of the lens.  All lenses focus with the aperture wide open, then stop down the aperture to your chosen setting as the shot is taken.  In the case of the 50mm f/1.2L, if you select an aperture narrower than f/1.2, down to about f/4, focus shift means that the lens will actually focus on a point that's behind your chosen focal plane.  At f/4 or a little narrower, the DoF is deep enough to mask the effect, because by then your chosen focal plane is within the DoF.  At very close subject distances, the DoF is shallower, and the effect of focus shift is exaggerated (you may need f/5.6 or even f/8 to get a deep enough DoF to mask the shift).