July 25, 2014, 12:51:47 PM

Author Topic: Accurate Color Capture  (Read 513 times)

eninja

• Rebel SL1
    • View Profile
Accurate Color Capture
« on: March 13, 2014, 09:51:23 PM »
im an engineer working under R&D. im not a rocket scientist. im studying fluorescence of material. Fluorescence is, in my term, when you illuminate a given sample single wavelength of light, the sample absorbs this light energy and in return it glows or gives of light with color.

Now I am using a DSLR camera to capture the fluorescence of a given material, to record it. I don't know how to construct my questions. Many factors: Different Camera, different settings, will produce different color output as seen by naked eye, also depends on the screen, screen settings. white balance?? and etc.

With all of this factors, how can I narrow down, or make these variables constant as much as possible such that i can compare color output, any given time.

What are the factors that affects the color being output by the camera. Also does HSB, (Hue, Saturation, Brigthness) plays important role in this topic?

Thanks.

canon rumors FORUM

Accurate Color Capture
« on: March 13, 2014, 09:51:23 PM »

neuroanatomist

• CR GEEK
    • View Profile
Re: Accurate Color Capture
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2014, 10:44:07 PM »
The best way to ensure accurate color representation is to use something like a ColorChecker Passport to generate a camera profile, shoot RAW, and apply that profile. 

Having said that, you may get imperfect results with fluorescence, because of the way a restricted set of wavelengths interacts with the color filter array (CFA, aka Bayer mask) on the sensor.  That would be most problematic if the fluorescence emission spectrum of your material is narrow.