September 01, 2014, 09:44:39 AM

Author Topic: 5D MkIII buffer  (Read 3666 times)

ScubaX

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #30 on: March 08, 2014, 09:00:07 PM »
In the table a maximum burst of 7 (RAW + JPEG) for a pre UDMA 7 cards, that applies to only the CF card - not writing to two cards but writing both files to the same card. Wasn't your issue with writing to two cards with RAW + JPEG? If it can just make 7 with one card, I don't see how it could do it with two cards.

But you now know the answer, a faster card will get you to 7 brackets RAW + JPEG to two cards while running and gunning.

I always wanted a Nikon V, until I saw video from someones Light and Motion system on a dive in the Channel Islands (Southern California) - I was hooked on it immediately. They just needed to ask "MasterCard or Visa?".
5DMK3, BG-E11, RRS L-Plate, 70-200 2.8L IS II, 70-300 4-5.6L IS, 400 5.6L, 16-35 2.8L II, 100 2.8L IS Macro, 24-105 4.0L IS, 50 1.4, Extenders 2x III & 1.4x III,  Manfrotto 055XPROB w/ MH054M0-Q2 BH converted to A-S, full kit of Lee Filters, F-Stop Satori, Loka and Guru. Modded Black Rapid

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #30 on: March 08, 2014, 09:00:07 PM »

mikejkay

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #31 on: March 09, 2014, 09:06:31 AM »
You're right, again!  I have decided to stay with what I've got and limit my bracketing to five shots and stick to backing up JPEGs to the SD card in Slot 2.  This will still be an improvement over the 7D......and, who knows, I might get it right one day and not feel the need to bracket my exposures.

Thanks for the help.
5D MkIII +7D

tron

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1816
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #32 on: March 09, 2014, 10:07:33 AM »
In the table a maximum burst of 7 (RAW + JPEG) for a pre UDMA 7 cards, that applies to only the CF card - not writing to two cards but writing both files to the same card. Wasn't your issue with writing to two cards with RAW + JPEG? If it can just make 7 with one card, I don't see how it could do it with two cards.

But you now know the answer, a faster card will get you to 7 brackets RAW + JPEG to two cards while running and gunning.

I always wanted a Nikon V, until I saw video from someones Light and Motion system on a dive in the Channel Islands (Southern California) - I was hooked on it immediately. They just needed to ask "MasterCard or Visa?".
The size of the files increases with ISO, plus for jpegs it must increase with high noise reduction.
Maybe the numbers Canon states are for ISO 100 with noise reduction to normal.

ScubaX

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #33 on: March 09, 2014, 12:23:25 PM »
My test shots were at ISO 1600 1000/2.8.

I was just looking at Canon USA for something, and noticed Canon says: "Up to 6.0 fps continuous shooting". Did they change the advertised fps at some point? That's different than my experience and the manual. I guess they are being slightly conservative to avoid disappointed customers.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2014, 01:16:00 PM by ScubaX »
5DMK3, BG-E11, RRS L-Plate, 70-200 2.8L IS II, 70-300 4-5.6L IS, 400 5.6L, 16-35 2.8L II, 100 2.8L IS Macro, 24-105 4.0L IS, 50 1.4, Extenders 2x III & 1.4x III,  Manfrotto 055XPROB w/ MH054M0-Q2 BH converted to A-S, full kit of Lee Filters, F-Stop Satori, Loka and Guru. Modded Black Rapid

tron

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1816
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #34 on: March 09, 2014, 01:15:03 PM »
My test shots were at ISO 1600 1000/2.8.
Just as a test. Make an experiment (AEB 7 shots) with ISO 100 and exactly the same setup that failed at the 6th shot to see what happens...

ScubaX

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #35 on: March 09, 2014, 01:17:47 PM »
My test shots were at ISO 1600 1000/2.8.
Just as a test. Make an experiment (AEB 7 shots) with ISO 100 and exactly the same setup that failed at the 6th shot to see what happens...

Me or the other Mike? I didn't have a failure at 6. But I like the idea and will give it a test run.
5DMK3, BG-E11, RRS L-Plate, 70-200 2.8L IS II, 70-300 4-5.6L IS, 400 5.6L, 16-35 2.8L II, 100 2.8L IS Macro, 24-105 4.0L IS, 50 1.4, Extenders 2x III & 1.4x III,  Manfrotto 055XPROB w/ MH054M0-Q2 BH converted to A-S, full kit of Lee Filters, F-Stop Satori, Loka and Guru. Modded Black Rapid

tron

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1816
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #36 on: March 09, 2014, 01:53:57 PM »
My test shots were at ISO 1600 1000/2.8.
Just as a test. Make an experiment (AEB 7 shots) with ISO 100 and exactly the same setup that failed at the 6th shot to see what happens...

Me or the other Mike? I didn't have a failure at 6. But I like the idea and will give it a test run.
OK, sorry! I assumed you were having the problem. I thought I was addressing OP!

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #36 on: March 09, 2014, 01:53:57 PM »

mikejkay

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #37 on: March 09, 2014, 02:50:23 PM »
tron - 'tis I.  High ISO ight be the problem, the camera is still set up for night/indoor shooting.  I will run the test at ISO 100 as you suggest.  Camera is all packed up for an early start off to Spain in the morning so it will be Tuesday probably.
5D MkIII +7D

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5D MkIII buffer
« Reply #37 on: March 09, 2014, 02:50:23 PM »