June 22, 2018, 09:41:32 AM

Author Topic: 6D or 5Dm3?  (Read 11819 times)

Hjalmarg1

• EOS 5DS R
  • Photo Hobbyist
Re: 6D or 5Dm3?
« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2014, 02:56:12 AM »
Hi Everyone :D

Here is my question.
What do i purchase, the 6D or the 5DM3?

I've been using a 7D for the last 2 years and am now ready to go full frame. One of the reasons for this is because i shoot gigs and want to benefit from a lot less noise at high iso's.

My main concerns though are the price difference and the difference in auto focus.

I understand that the 6D is cheaper and has a great centre focus point which is great for low light. My main issue with that though is i dont like to focus and then recompose.

On the 7D with 19 foucs points (all cross-type) i always shoot with one focus point moving around the screen.

If im shooting in portait i usually stick the top point on the performers face. (far right in landscape)

Or sometimes if i want to get the full band in, i would again use one of the side focus points in landscape.

So i know that the 6D doesn't have cross type points on the outside, so would they work well enough in low light?
All anyone seems to talk about and test is the centre point.

I really dont want to upgrade model to then realise i've downgraded in features.

My other question is

I have spent the last 5 years using a Canon ef-s 10-22mm so going full-frame means I lose the ultra wide.
Now I might sound like a complete Biff here but how is this compared to my 24-70mm on a fullframe?
Is the 24mm end as wide as say 15mm on a crop using my 10-22?

Crop factor does confuse me

Anyway thanks for taking a look and if you can understand this waffle, please let me know what you think.

Thanks for looking

Matt