December 21, 2014, 09:47:30 AM

Author Topic: Stranege "rendering" 5D3  (Read 1824 times)

Nate

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« on: April 22, 2014, 04:09:37 AM »
Hey,

I was shooting yesterday and I didnt even notice it, just when I opend them in LR. I tought that it was a copy problem, but its the same even on the screen of the camera. If you need I will post the raws also.


Is this something to worry about, or just a minor bug?

Thanks!
5D3, 17-40 mm L, 24-70 mm L, 70-200 2.8 IS II, 50 mm 1.4, 2x 600EX-RT

canon rumors FORUM

Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« on: April 22, 2014, 04:09:37 AM »

procentje20

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 05:29:40 AM »
Looks like a file write error. Before sending your camera in for repairs, test it  with another card.

5DIII | 8-15/4  | 28/1.8 | 50/1.4 | 85 1.8 | 150-600/5-6.3 | 35-80/4-5.6 PZ | Canonet 28

Nate

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 07:26:53 AM »
The rest of the shots are good, and it is working fine now. Than I should not be concerned?
5D3, 17-40 mm L, 24-70 mm L, 70-200 2.8 IS II, 50 mm 1.4, 2x 600EX-RT

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 15227
    • View Profile
Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2014, 07:49:21 AM »
I'd still consider replacing the card.  Many card manufacturers offer a lifetime warranty with free replacement for defective products.   What if the next time it happens, the shot that gets ruined is the once-in-a-lifetime shot of a unicorn flying over your head?  ;)
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Nate

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2014, 09:07:22 AM »
Yep, I will definitely do that! Thank you! :)
5D3, 17-40 mm L, 24-70 mm L, 70-200 2.8 IS II, 50 mm 1.4, 2x 600EX-RT

Mt Spokane Photography

  • EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
  • ***********
  • Posts: 9397
    • View Profile
Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2014, 06:25:37 PM »
At the very least, do a low level format of the card. For a CF card, this must be done in a computer, for a SD card, there is a low level format option in camera.  Any bad memory cells on the card will periodically have a image saved to them, and that's what you will see.
 
I'd just return the card to the manufacturer for replacement.  The bad memory cells may multiply, or a much wanted shot will be the one to get damaged.
 
The card controller tries to write files evenly over the memory bloks in the card, so its a periodic thing.  Depending on how many shots you take, and how large the card is, it might only happen every 6 months, or it might hit you frequently.

dropslash

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • [dropslash|dotcom]
Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2014, 07:14:19 PM »
I used to experience this issue constantly with my 60D, though I've also seen it on the EOS M and SL1. I did a lot of testing to find out what was causing the problem. Typically the RAW files on the card itself were fine and the JPG and JPG preview files were also fine, but the RAWs were rendering with the exact issue posted above in Lightroom. I eventually discovered that it was occurring during file transfer.

I typically transfer by removing the card from my camera and inserting directly to my computer, then copying to a new directory. Transferring the RAW files was using up lots of cycles, so doing any other kind of CPU intensive activity during the transfer was causing data loss, which was affecting the RAW files. Many times I would re-copy from the card and they would be fine.

It's a frustrating issue, but definitely test out your transfer path for issues.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2014, 07:17:28 PM by dropslash »

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2014, 07:14:19 PM »

dgatwood

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 884
  • 300D, 400D, 6D
    • View Profile
Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2014, 09:38:32 PM »
I used to experience this issue constantly with my 60D, though I've also seen it on the EOS M and SL1. I did a lot of testing to find out what was causing the problem. Typically the RAW files on the card itself were fine and the JPG and JPG preview files were also fine, but the RAWs were rendering with the exact issue posted above in Lightroom. I eventually discovered that it was occurring during file transfer.

I used to have lots of problems with one model of brain-damaged flash card reader.  Eventually, Apple worked around its horrible corruption bugs, but by that time, I had been using a FireWire reader for a couple of years.  I find it amazing that any USB peripherals work at all, given how fast and loose the hardware vendors seem to play with the specifications....

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Stranege "rendering" 5D3
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2014, 09:38:32 PM »